Gamescom 2020 | First Look at the Con

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

image.png
Source: Gamescom


It was definitely interesting having an online Gamescom this year around. Usually, it's nice to see people having their time on the stage. (Ubisoft, Just Dance. The weirdest show ever)

In any case, in the past few days, there have been various announcements (with more to come in the future) important for the gaming scene. This post will definitely be long as hell if I include all, so I decided to divide it into a few parts. In this part, I wanted to just write my thoughts about the up and coming games this year, next year and maybe even the distant future.

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands

For me, the biggest announcement in these past few days, at least for me, was World of Warcraft: Shadowlands - It has been just over two years since Battle For Azeroth was released, unfortunately, even though I was a huge World of Warcraft fan for more than 10 years, BFA was a huge disappointment. From what I have seen, other than the story which is confusing it itself, Shadowlands has nothing to offer. It seems to me that Blizzard has lost their touch. Since Legion, the game repeated itself. A certain object to level up with a certain faction, rinse and repeat. Same thing in Shadowlands. But even then, for those who are wondering, the expansion pack releases on October 27, 2020.

LEGO Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga

Hands down... AMAZING. This was one of the very few trailers I had fun watching. Even though I despise the last few films that released over the past couple of years, LEGO Star Wars games always had a special place in my heart and this game is probably not going to be any different, being able to play through basically all the movies with improved graphics and gameplay features will be so much fun!

Alas, due to Coronavirus affecting basically every industry, the game has been delayed to Spring 2021, I am assuming it will be released just after the release of PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X.

Age of Empires III: Definitive Edition

Unexpected, unexpected, unexpected. As a huge RTS (Real-Time Strategy) fan, even though I saw the last two games having their "definitive editions" I have honestly never expected seeing AoE III being remastered. Throughout the years, I've probably played this game more than anything else. Even if I delete it, I find myself downloading it every now and then and playing the campaign all the way from the beginning.

Sitting through the trailer, it left me thrilled and definitely succeded in generating hype, at least for me. The game looks absolutely gorgeous with the brand new graphics and remastered cutscenes. New civilizations on top of enhanced soundtracks and sounds, that's amazing! There will probably be even better multiplayer and game features. (Lots of bug fixing and maybe several QoL (Quality of Life) additions that players requested for years.)

A definite BUY if you like the genre.

For now, this will be all! As more trailers and news are out later today or tomorrow, I'll definitely write several follow-up posts with more games and thoughts!


Thank you for reading through the post.

I am a witness! If you like what I am doing please vote me as a witness.
Use hive.blog's voting page by clicking here.
Use Peakd's voting page by clicking here.
Use Hivesigner by clicking here.

Sort:  

Congratulations @deathwing! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!