My first impression on : Diablo IV. BETA

in Hive Gaminglast year (edited)

Screenshot058.jpg
Diablo 4's main menu screen. I timed it well so you won't see the queue time. *snicker.


Diablo 4, the 5th installment on the Diablo Franchise by Blizzard... because you know, Diablo Immortal on mobile goes in between Diablo 3 and Diablo 4.

Story-wise all of them are canon, my only indication of how much time between Diablo 3 and Diablo 4 is Lorath's looking old but can still hunt with his halberd. carrying it with one hand and a deer over his shoulder while wearing only a cape over simple clothing in a weather that is depicted as harsh winter. So my guess about 35-45 years have passed, maybe.


Trailers!

The Official Announcement/Opening Cinematic. Diablo Official Youtube

The Official Release Trailer Cinematic. Diablo Official Youtube
Inarius: "Lilith... I have returned to hell for you."
oh my.~

The Official In-Game Trailer Cinematic. Diablo Official Youtube
(Druid as the selected character.)


So what do I think of the game

You start the game by creating a character and class you want to play.
Screenshot019.jpg
You can choose among the cheerful barbarians, the pale necromancers, the fashionable sorcerer/sorceress, the stabbity stab stab rogues, and my favorite the thicc thicc druids.
Screenshot001.jpg
Once selected you get to choose a body type and not a gender type. I see blizzard avoiding issues~ *snicker.
and After that you can edit some minor details such as hair, facial hair.
Screenshot004.jpg
A few cutscenes here and a few npc dialogues there and were in a dungeon fighting skeletons. The game is absolutely beautiful and the sound effects and music are simply superb.

From what I am seeings the game uses Ragdoll Physics on everything. I noticed this when my character attacks while chasing, reaction when getting hit and when he's going down the stairs.
It's ok.
Screenshot002.jpg
Cute Werebear.
Screenshot005.jpg
Oh man. I like this trope. Bikini Armor. the less you wear, the higher the armor rating.
At the time I thought it was very funny because your characting is shivering in the cold snow and now you wear an armor that covers only the neck.
Screenshot007.jpg
This is the skill assignment screen. unlocked skills are shown here and assigned to the locked hotkeys below. The good news is you can have multiple skills from a category unlike diablo 3 at launch.
Screenshot008.jpg
The boss fight of the first dungeon. First time I saw he appeared suddenly by dropping from the ceiling, or at least that what I assumed what happened. you see my computer stuttered when he appeared. the game uses load assets on demand.
Screenshot009.jpg
after the deed was done I went back, half naked in a blizzard. heh.
Screenshot011.jpg
and we had a party.
Screenshot013.jpg
heh.



Moving On, let's talk about game systems.
Screenshot017.jpg
Wold Tiers or difficulties. you see in Diablo 3, Diablo Immortal and Diablo 4, the enemies scale with your character's level and that includes gears as well. the only way to increase the challenge is by increasing the difficulty which also increases the quality of dropped items and gold amounts.
Screenshot024.jpg
The Skill tree is nice. you don't unlock skills as you level up, instead, you level up and get 1 skill point which you can allocate to skills. you can allocate it to active skills and passive skills that you want. and more importantly I saw gear that increases the level of a specific skills, feels like diablo 2 all over again and I love it.
Screenshot023.jpg
as said before, you can assign skills on the hotkey tab, you can assign multiple skills of the same category.
Screenshot035.jpg
Map looks huge, so many places to explore. except the the gold icon on the middle and on the dry steppes are act 2 and act 3. So it might not be as big as what we first imagine.
Screenshot061.jpg
Then there's region progress. I assume 1 act = 1 region.
Screenshot101.jpg
They have mounts.
Screenshot055.jpg
The game is an MMO. always online. and have Chat and emotes.
Screenshot036.jpg
Game has Text to Speech Setting.
Screenshot038.jpg
Game has Colorblind features and Gamepad support.

This is really great.


Describing my Character.
Screenshot091.jpg
Now this is fun. My Character is a thicc male Druid accompanied by two wolves, a creeping vine and three ravens that divebombs at his enemies every few seconds. His Attacks are composed of whacking enemies with a staff imbued with lightning that chains to nearby enemies, nearby enemies(and critters) are also struck by lightning bolts from time to time, He can use the power of the earth to protect himself in a layer of rock, and finally, He can also conjure four phallic pillars of rock to crush his enemies.
Screenshot070.jpg
I also like this ability that allows my character to conjure and shoot a boulder from his palm and take all the enemies within the line together with the boulder. Earth bending.


Screenshot Galore.
Screenshot053.jpg
Screenshot063.jpg
Screenshot092.jpg
Screenshot105.jpg
Screenshot095.jpg
Screenshot087.jpg
Screenshot123.jpg



Closing Remarks.

as I said earlier the game is using load assets on demand, because whenever you see something new it loads and the game stutters, but that assumption was not completely correct, because as I play along the stutters seems to disappear like what other players experienced. But I had a hunch on what's actually happening and uninstalling it proves it. The game is actually compiling shader data which are stored in the main drive.

I also did not know you get a pet cosmetic reaching level 20. sad, I was only level 19.😖

I really like it but I won't be prepurchasing it.

Did you play Diablo 4 beta? How was it?

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1640721931539484678 twitter metadata:MTU2MTc1Mjk3Mjg0NDg2MzQ4OHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNTYxNzUyOTcyODQ0ODYzNDg4L3N0YXR1cy8xNjQwNzIxOTMxNTM5NDg0Njc4fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @incublus, @jijisaurart ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Uyyyy I'd probably pick up a necromancer or a sorcerer if I were to play Diablo IV! But then again, 'di ko siya nasundan nung batang paslit pa lang ako hahaha. Is it worth playing the older versions kung story lang yung habol?


Loading...

Maraming salamat at nahanap kita, hehehe

Uy bakit ako hinahanap? Pulis ka ba hahahaha 😭

PIZZA!
The Hive.Pizza team manually curated this post.

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@arcgspy(0/15) tipped @demotry

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Naked in the cold, that's demotry for you.
And I didn't know barbarians could be cheerful. 😏

May I know why you won't purchase it?

 last year (edited) 

Naked in the cold, that's demotry for you.
woi!!~~~

And I didn't know barbarians could be cheerful. 😏

😏

May I know why you won't purchase it?

I want to after I get a new videocard. 😊

I kind of got bored of it once I got the skills I want, it's pretty much repetition.

OH. and no companions.

I'd definitely choose the fashionable sorcerer/sorceress if I were to play this game.
This game looks fascinating!

 last year  

hehe oo ayos yarn!.

oo maganda siya. 😄

I thought it's a movie, hehe.. What caught my attention is "the less you wear, the high armor rating".Just imagine if this is in real life,😂

Is having two wolves with you a characteristic of your class, man? I like the bosses of the game. The last boss doesn't look too majestic, but it has a very satisfying gameplay. I even thought for a moment that you couldn't kill him XD. The fact that the game is a bit stiff may be due to the fact that the optimization is not very good in the beta version. It's worth trying again in the full version.

 last year (edited) 

Yeah druids in most of the games that have them has an animal companion of sorts. are they good? no, but they look cool.

Bosses are... yeah they definitely have their own set of rules, I would like to note though that I encountered two bosses of the same kind on my playthrough.

Screenshot109.jpg

this is the last boss of the Diablo 3 Beta. Probably the last boss of Act 1, it's pretty good.

The fact that the game is a bit stiff may be due to the fact that the optimization is not very good in the beta version.

Hahaha actually that 'lag' is me pressing the screenshot button and because my videocard can't maintain 60fps.

It's worth trying again in the full version.

I actually doubt that. the game felt empty. sure the gameplay is good, the graphics is nice. but it has this repetitive 'chore' that it got from diablo 3 (which is also a good game).

No doubt Diablo 4 is a good game. It's just not great.

Thank you Incublus!!!. hope pusen streams another game. maybe resident evil 4? 😆

Congratulations @demotry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 1250 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal
 last year  

woohoo!

Congrats @demotry. Looking forward to you reaching your new target 😅

 last year  

Never played any Diablo. Looks fun and the graf is cute! Maybe I will give a try if ever I have time (also, my laptop might not carry the load, haha)

 last year  

Never played any Diablo.

that's okay. kasi I can only recommend 1 and 2. Diablo 3, mobile and this one, 4, not so much. pero maganda kwento niya.

untitled.gif
galing ng at ang galing gumawa ng blizzard ng cinematics.

Looks fun and the graf is cute!

wow cute, really? mas cute ka!~

sadly it only looks fun. the thing is nung nilaro ko siya level 19 lng naabot ko at masaya na ako sa character build ko and that's just Act 1 or Part 1. let's assume na there are four more acts. ano yon forever na akong trap sa same build for the rest of the game. that would be so sad.

There's also no sense of feeling strong dahil pag nag level up ka kasi ung mga monsters scale sa level mo, in the end it just feels tedious.

Maybe I will give a try if ever I have time (also, my laptop might not carry the load, haha)

Hehe heads up 80gb siya. 😆. pero yeah medyo medium ang requirements niya in terms of hardware, gamepad support though, pag may ps5 ka na.

 last year  

I also did not know you get a pet cosmetic reaching level 20. sad, I was only level 19.

That's like, the entire reason I bothered playing the beta! XD XD XD I mentioned it in my post on the first beta weekend. 😅

You make the druid sound interesting... initially I had no interest in trying it, but now I'm thinking I might. I have more interest in the sorcerer and necromancer and none at all for the rogue and barbarian. But that druid. Hmmmmm. Just maybe!

 last year  

That's like, the entire reason I bothered playing the beta! XD XD XD I mentioned it in my post on the first beta weekend. 😅

mannnnnnnnnnnnnn now that I failed, I'm not in the beta cosmetic club. 😭

You make the druid sound interesting... initially I had no interest in trying it, but now I'm thinking I might. I have more interest in the sorcerer and necromancer and none at all for the rogue and barbarian. But that druid. Hmmmmm. Just maybe!

It's really good. they feel like immovable objects that also wields the unstoppable force.

I'm interested with necromancers too. Did you play it how was it?

my druid's wolves only deal 8% of your total damage passively per bite, you can command them to leap to a target dealing tons of damage. I never seen the creeping vine attack. 🤣

 last year  

I didn't try the necromancer but watched my partner play it a little - he got one to around a tiny level 5 just to have a quick look at it.

Looks alright from what I saw, can't have an entire army of undead though just a few. They seem to hold aggro well enough so they take all the hits instead of your character. I think my first character upon launch will definitely be a sorcerer though xD I have no choice!!! Fire hydras and freezing everything so they can stay in place while they're burnt to a crisp, muahaha! Orrrrr chain lightning zappy everything! ❄️🔥⚡⚡⚡🔥❄️

 last year  

does the sorcerer/sorceress have permanent summons? hehehe like maybe water elementals? 🤣 I want thoseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

 last year  

No ☹️ that would be spiffy though. I'd love a perma-pet to wander alongside my character!

 last year  

😕. o well. can't wait for 6.6.2023. 😆

 last year  

I had such a blast playing the beta this past weekend, and some performance issues aside, it seems like just want I was hoping for with a follow up to Diablo III! I was worried that it would dampen my excitement for the full release this summer, but if anything it made me that much more excited! Truly can wait to be able to sink my teeth into it again. :D

 last year  

Same here. I was so happy seeing Lorath Nahr with a balding spot and white hair, kind of sad that the horadrim has fallen. I want to know why!. if Tyrael is human in diablo 3 is he...dead of old age?

gameplay wise I'm kind of worried, In my experience I completed act 1? with almost complete skillset, I'm worried if I will end up playing the whole skillset up to act4 or act5.

intrested in buying in this summer as well.

Cheers bro! thanks for the comment.

 last year  

I did hear that Blizzard accelerated the leveling system, specifically how quickly you gain abilities in the beta. You know, just so players could experiment with different builds during the test.

So I'm hoping it'll be much more balanced once it's released.

 last year  

what? really? you mean getting these abilities will even be slower? maaaaan.

Ok. like you I'm just gonna wait and see.

But I don't like it if it's going to get slower unlocking those abilities.

Ok ok, now play Druid Hardcore.

No throwables.

image.png

 last year  

heh. that's on hardcore.