Finally getting around to playing this masterpiece (early game spoilers)


IMG_7920.jpg

The Last of Us Part 1

pageBreak.png

9 years ago, the Last of Us came out on the Playstation 3. At that time, I didn't have much free time to play video games, so I never got around to trying this game, but I have heard that it is one of the best stories ever written in gaming.


IMG_7931.jpg

A year later in 2014, they release a PS4 remaster which had some updated graphics in it. A few months ago, I tried the remake and played it for about an hour. Then I heard that they were planning on doing a PS5 exclusive remake of the game that will be releasing later in the year, so I decided to wait so I can experience the story on the PS5 with the most updated graphics that the game offers. Well, that day finally came and I started playing the game this morning and it is pretty awesome so far.


IMG_7932.jpg

The game starts off somewhere in Texas. You are playing a a character named Joel and in the middle of the night there is an outbreak of some disease that turns people in zombies or something. So you take your daughter and try to escape the city.


IMG_7933.jpg

The escape doesn't go as planned and pretty quickly, you are in a race against the infected.


IMG_7934.jpg

As you make your way away from the city lights and the infected, it seems as if you are going to be able to escape, but you run into the military that have set up a perimeter around the city to try and contain the outbreak.


IMG_7916.jpg

You get stopped by a military guy and as you are trying to explain that you are not infected, he gets the order to shoot.


IMG_7912.jpg

Joel's daughter ends up getting shot and killed in what is one of the saddest moments in gaming history. The first time I played this game and this happened, it really caught me off guard.


IMG_7935.jpg

So now, 20 years later, the game actually starts. One thing I love about Naughty Dog is there ability to tell stories and make their games feel like you are taking part in a movie. Their story telling and cinematics really are top notch and the first 20 minutes or so of the game do a great job at sucking you into the story.


IMG_7913.jpg

I won't give too much of the story away for those people that have never played the game. Instead, I want to talk about how amazing this remake is.


IMG_7915.jpg

The graphics are insane. They really are some of the best graphics I have ever seen in video games. Everything about this game is beautiful, from the graphics to the sound design. Everything seems to have been painstakingly remastered to ensure the greatest level of gameplay and enjoyment.


IMG_7929.jpg

The lighting and particle effects are incredible. There is always so much going on onscreen, that I find myself pausing the game a lot and going into the photo mode just so I can look around at all the little details.


IMG_7926.jpg

Even the random dead people all over the place have so much detail. Like this dude whose body was ravaged by the spores and he is growing mushrooms from the ground where he died.


IMG_7918.jpg

These things are pretty scary. They can't see, but instead use a clicking sound and echo location like bats to be able to see, so you need to be really careful not to make a sound around them.


IMG_7919.jpg

It is super easy to get overrun by these ones too. When you fight one, the whole swarm starts to charge towards you, so it is best to try and stay as silent as possible and sneak past them. It is pretty scary though when there is a group of them wandering around in a building and all you hear is their screams and clicking.


IMG_7927.jpg

So the purpose of the game seems to be that you need to help a girl named Ellie get outside of the quarantine zone to a paramilitary faction that wants to help her. She was bitten by one of the zombies, but seems to be immune to the effects and she is thought to be the key to getting a cure for this disease.


IMG_7928.jpg

The military doesn't seem to want anyone outside of the quarantine zone though and you have to get past them to meet up with the other group.


IMG_7917.jpg

I have no idea where the story of this game will go from here, but I am really enjoying it so far. I am glad that I waited until now to play it so I can experience it at the best that the developers could do.


IMG_7923.jpg

The environment is amazing and the creature design is some of the coolest I have seen in video games. I can't wait to continue playing and see what happens next. I am going to have to get part 2 once I beat this one because I have heard that one is amazing as well. I don't think I will be waiting for a remake of that one though because who knows if it is going to happen.

If you have never played The Last of Us, this remake is the perfect place to start. So far it has been a wild ride.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I didn't play this game as soon as it came out as I've never owned a PS3, so the first time I saw this game was through walkthroughs on YouTube. The first time I played it was thanks to a cousin (@mrwisu on Hive) as he had a PS3 and it was one of the most rewarding experiences I've had with a video game. Everything, absolutely everything about The Last of Us is very thoughtfully done and you will have many opportunities to stop and admire this gem of a game.

Enjoy this game very much and please beware of spoilers. The entire narrative is perfectly crafted to put you in the character's shoes and, I recommend you turn up the volume of the in-game music. The whole soundtrack is absolutely insane as well.

Have a good one man.

Ya, I can already tell this game is special. When I was walking around, I started hearing strange sounds, but it ended up being Ellie trying to learn how to whistle. It's a really cool way of showing how their relationship is growing as they continue on their adventure.

As I said, for me games with a good story are always better. This game has one of the best stories I've ever seen. I watched a little bit of it on Youtube but I haven't played it yet. It's one of the first games I'll play when I change my computer.

You are going to love this game. The story is one of the best experiences I have had in gaming.

 2 years ago  

This is definitely one of the best games I ever played. Played the original on PS3 and was blow away by the characters, story, gameplay, visuals, and that music. TLOU got me hooked on awesome guitar music. These are some great screenshots. This game looks amazing on PS5. Great post!

Thanks man. I am excited to finally be playing this masterpiece. It's a ton of fun so far. One of the best zombie games I've played lately.

 2 years ago  

the design of the zombies in this game is fantastic, there are many details and they are quite scary

 2 years ago  

Yeah I agree. The infected had a truly horrifying appearance. I remember the first time I saw one, their burst-open heads made them look like walking flowers until I got a closer look lol

 2 years ago  

yes, it's a bit disgusting too, and from the sounds too, it's spectacular

They really did a great job on designing them.

 2 years ago  

It must have taken many hours to get to that result, but it's very good

 2 years ago  

Truly this game goes beyond what I had never seen before, I remember when it came out the first time I saw the first steps, then I did not want to see more because I really preferred to play it when I have the opportunity to do so, I really congratulate you on having contained the desire to play this good game until now, really this game has great graphics.

Thanks man. It's been a lot of fun so far.

 2 years ago  

this looks really spectacular.

hehe that mushroom man reminded me of Pusen's mushroom man in Elden Ring.

I searched about it, Thank the heavens there is going to be a PC port.

Hopefully you can get this remake on pc one day. It is such an amazing game.

 2 years ago  

hopefully. so I can stream it! YEAAAAAH.

Playing in the hardest difficulty?

Nope. I don't want to make this like a Dark Souls game

Good call.

This game again! I remember when a friend of mine made me play this game for the first time. Funny as it sounds, I actually got chills while playing it. But it was so much fun. Felt like I was a part of the mission.

Ya, they did an amazing job with the level of immersion you feel.

Yeah they really did.

Looking great. Would have been awesome to play this on PC with pumped up graphics.

It would look so good on your PC.

I am reading lots of nice reviews and articles about this game, I want to play it but it is still not available on PC, but I heard that there will be a PC version coming out soon!

Hopefully you can play it soon. It's one of the best games I've ever played.

It's one of the best games I've ever played.

This makes me excited (^_^) have a nice day ahead.

 2 years ago  

My partner played through this and part 2 just last year to show me the story, and it really is a spectacular story. So many emotional bits. Not ashamed to say that I sniffled quite a bit throughout the game. 😅

The story is so good. It is really cool seeing the relationship between Joel and Ellie grow.

What a neat take on zombies with some of the character models, and additionally it's story driven? Pretty cool. Definitely added to the "need to play" list.

I hope you can play it soon. It really is a great game.

The sort of thing that motivates you too get a PS5 lol

I'm not a gamer but am amazed at how far the way games look has come in the last ten or so years. Are these games expensive to buy and do they need specific equipment or does any computer work?

Becca 🌻

There are minimum system requirements to play these on PC, but if you are playing on console you don't need anything extra.

This game has a great story, I played it on PS3 years ago and I found it to be a wonderful action adventure with cool touches of drama and horror. Its characters are so well developed that they seem to be taken from a movie or TV series.

Ya, they did such a great job with the characters and story. I am really enjoying the game and will be sad when it's over.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @johndieo ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

That is crazy how amazing that looks! I wonder if that is why there is so much bad television today, because all the writers are working on games now? lol

Hey does the Ps5 play Ps4 games?

Ya, it can play the entire PS4 library and most of the PS3 and earlier games too

My first attempt at playing this game on the PS4 was my very last.It was so realistic it scared the crap out of me! 🤣

It's one of those times where you appreciate l appreciate a game from afar. It was almost too beautifully done.
Thanks to your post, I'm certain the PS5 remake is equally as intense. Naughty dog really does know it's onions. The Uncharted series was amazing!