Nintendo Switch - Best console ever???

wwest200823_7042.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

Now that I have your attention...

pageBreak.png

Now I know that the Nintendo Switch isn't considered by some as an actual "console", but it is so much more than that. I would call it more of a hybrid console that gives you the best of both worlds. The fact that it can be a handheld or a system you connect to your tv gives it much more versatility than the normal console.

So why do I love the Switch so much? Well, I spend a lot of time going from place to place and don't have a lot of time to sit down at the tv or the computer to play games. I have two gaming PCs, just about every console, but I find myself using my Switch more than all of them.

So what am I playing?

20200821200145003D69A7ED02A1FF371048829E22A49194.jpg

My screenshot

I have been playing a lot of Diablo 3 lately. I played this game a lot when it first came out a few years ago, but with Diablo 4 coming out soon, I wanted to give the game some more play time. Plus there has been a ton of improvements to the game over the years.

When the game first came out, the loot system was so messed up. The majority of the armor or weapon drops were shit and didn't help your characters at all. Now you can actually craft and loot items that make your character a real badass.

20200820170633003D69A7ED02A1FF371048829E22A49194.jpg

My screenshot

I have two characters that I am playing now. I've got a Barbarian and a Witch Doctor. I just started playing on the Witch Doctor last night because I wanted to play through the campaign again. The Barbarian is just for challenges, rifts and quests.

20200823141859003D69A7ED02A1FF371048829E22A49194.jpg

My screenshot

So far I am just a few hours into the campaign with the Witch Doctor, but being able to play wherever I want makes it easier to get some game time in. The Switch gives you the freedom to play on the toilet, the subway, at school, and when you get home, you can just plop it on the stand and connect to your tv and continue where you left off.

The graphics for the Switch are not the greatest, but one thing I have learned over the years of gaming is that graphics aren't the most important thing, but having a fun gaming experience is and Nintendo has always delivered on the fun gaming experience.

So what type of Switch is right for you?

bundle_gray_console.jpg

source

There are two different types of Nintendo Switch. The normal Switch that comes with the detachable controllers and hooks up to your tv. This one sells for $299.

Switch_Light_Yellow_hands_resize.jpg

source

For $199 there is the Switch Lite. This one does not hook up to the tv and is strictly a handheld version of the Switch. The controllers do not detach so it does not have a lot of the motion capabilities that the more expensive version has. The screen is also considerably smaller.

I already had a Switch Lite, but the smaller screen size was the main reason that I purchased the full sized Switch. Games like Diablo were a bit hard to play on the smaller screen and reading was near impossible, but that could be because I am a boomer like @perceval says, and my eyes are going bad.

Both versions of the Switch are a ton of fun, but if you have the extra money to spend, go with the $299 version for the bigger screen, detachable controllers and tv hook up ability.

So what do you think is the best console out right now? With the PS5 and the Xbox Series X coming out this Christmas, are you excited about them or are you content with what we already have for the moment. I may end up getting the Series X, but I will probably be playing my Switch more still.

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post, you are awesome!

Sort:  

Dude, you're lucky you have one of the best consoles ever made. Its capacity is tremendous, and it's true that it doesn't provide the best graphics but it still looks impressive. Play 5 will probably be another level as it fully implements the Unreal Engine and the graphics will be too realistic, but Nintendo and Sony will always be two different worlds, two worlds to be explored. Good luck playing Diablo, it's a great game. Niño.png

Ya the PS5 will be cool. I may end up getting it next year or something. If they make a new God of War game for it, I will be forced to buy one. I love the GoW series.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 20 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
9

I love the Nintendo Switch! Definitely my favorite console. It's a shame I don't play too often, though. (Gotta fix that).
We have the original red & blue joy-con one, 3 cartridges (Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, SnipperClips Plus, Splatoon 2) and a few digital games.

Breath of the Wild is an amazing game. I can't wait for another in the Legend of Zelda series. That series is enough of a reason to be a Nintendo fan.

I really wanted to get a switch, I had the Gamecube, wii and Wii U so it would only make sense for me to get, I just don't have much time for gaming these days

The good thing about the Switch is that it can go anywhere with you, so it makes it easy to find time to play some games on the go.

I´m actually saving up for a Nintendo Switch and this post is really helpful, thanks!

Nice. I hope that you get it one day. They are a lot of fun.

!engage 5