Steam Sales - Playstation and Tokyo Game Show + opinions

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

I must admit, it's weird saying the words steam sale and Playstation in the same sentence, but hey, thanks for doing something right Sony (that is bringing their games to the PC)

There really isn't much to look at here, with Uncharted obviously not getting a discount for being a pre-order and God of War getting a measly 20% off. However, Horizon Zero Dawn at that discount is definitely worth it.

On the Tokyo Game Show side of things there are a bunch of categories dividing games by genre or theme, as for the featured games, none of them impressed me too much, but "So to Speak - 日本語を学ぶゲーム (Japanese Learning Game)" interests me quite a bit.

I've already been studying Japanese for 8 years now so it'd be interesting to see how this might help me when it comes out. I could always do with a little extra help and gamifying learning is one of the best ways of doing passive learning. After all, I did learn English by playing games and talking to people - not by reading textbooks.

On the RPG front I'd definitelly recommend Dragon Quest XI S, anyone that knows me knows I love that game, and if you haven't played it yet... Do yourself a favor, please.

Also, I get that FFVII remake is a little new, but 29% out of such a ridiculously expensive game is... nothing.

On the action front I'd just tell you to get Frogun, it's a retro-inspired adventure with PS1/N64esque graphics and a very addicting gameplay loop.
And if you'd be so daring you could try... this:

It's bad... but not too too bad, I guess.

On the adventure front, I'd pick up Genso Wanderer. I played the first few hours on the Vita and it's a great game. Touhou fans make some absolute great content, and this is no exception. For just R$69 (nice), I'd get it... if I weren't broke.

As is to be expected from Japan, there are barely any FPS or TPS games, but Cathedral 3D seems like a fun short rump and it's free, so I've got it downloaded already. Will give a try.

There are heavier hitters on the fighting game front, mostly just Dead or Alive 6 but since that game's monetization scheme is so utterly terrible, I'll tell you to just get Suguri 2. It's great.
It's a little weird at first, but so much fun.

Construction is quite easy. Not a lot of games that are out yet, so just go with Dragon Quest Builders 2. I played the first one a lot, so I'm pretty sure this one will be good too.

I don't know why 100% Orange Juice is in the RTS category, but whatever, buy it and play it with me. It's really really good.
Romance of the Three Kingdoms is an actual RTS that I'd buy here. Great estabilished series. Not a very high point in the franchise, but a good game nonetheless.
Some interesting indie titles too, such as Espiocracy.

Simulation is all over the damn place so I don't know what actual simulation game I'd go with, but "My Lovely Wife" seems screwed up in all the right ways. Great premise, story is really cool sounding and it's got some booba.

You can't really go wrong with shooting games, Cotton is here, Deathsmiles, Espgaluda, Gunbird, it's filled with great games. Even the ones that aren't SHMUPs such as Rabi-Ribi are also really good.

Survival didn't have a lot of catchy games, but Lost Ruins seems like a mix of mid-2000s doujin artstyle (such as Corpse Party) with the gameplay of Dead Cells. Really quite interesting combo, should go as well as a nice caipirinha.

And for rhythm games just go Miku.

Always go Miku

Miku is love.


a

I skipped some categories because they just weren't interesting enough, such as sports. But overall, there are tons of great deals here and I HIGHLY suggest you check out the Steam page for TGS or Playstation if you're interested.
Great games for sometimes great prices.

Xbox Store also has some good deals for TGS such as Shining Resonance and Code Vein, also really nice to see Lost Judgement there, but the deals on the Xbox front are a little lackluster. If I had a Playstation I'd check them out there, I'm sure Sony still cares a lot more about Japan (maybe).

I must now go for I need to do my daily sacrifices for Miku.
Have a good one, peeps.

Sort:  

It's fun to follow and discover Steam discounts, isn't it? Sometimes games you never expected are on sale and you enjoy buying and playing them. I love it. Thanks for keeping us up to date with all the great sales man!

I'm always trying to find good things in these sales, I hope that at least someone decides to try out some of my recommendations! 😄

 2 years ago  

THAT MIKU SCARED ME, no shit.

But yeah, I REALLY want to try MegaMix+, same with FFVII Remake but, the big problem here is my pc haha, eventually...

For me it's just the cost 😭