Guub's small robot addiction reaches its apex. Gives up Custom Robo, goes Monster Hunting instead. (Custom Robo Arena)

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

When I said I was having fun with this I meant it. And now it's finally back, this time I bring "the finale", because I'm sure I've done everything that has to be done inside of this little game.

Everything important methinks.

cc6.png

Unlike the other two times I rambled out about small digital robots when talking about this game, my Robo Addiction has subsided and been replaced with a crippling addiction to monster hunting, kept in check by the monsters themselves when they completely wreck my face and make me run crying to my mommy replaced by several other real-life duties I need to take care of which cut a lot of the time I dedicated to my fictional robots.

But in all seriousness, I've reached the part of the game where you can get any piece you want, so there's nothing much for me to do here.

At this point in the story there's a worldwide tournament for people who fight with small robots, the usual for these types of settings. There's a couple of stores here too and I got some parts from there. Nothing big though...

cc3.png

I think this is the slowest part of the game, which feels weird because it's supposed to be the one where it picks up.

It's the big tournament of the game, here's where the protagonist and friends win through the power of friendship or something... but nothing much happens.

There are a lot of back to back battles here though, one right after the other, so it does fit the theme of "tournament".

The tournament itself doesn't really start until the game's set all of the pieces for the "evil" plot twist to happen, they did it so well you can see it coming from the beginning of the game! I mean it though, they could have just slowed down a little. There's character design's that scream "I'm going to betray you later!"

cc1.png

I didn't pay a lot of attention to this part though. I think there was something about mind control and taking over the world through the use of a small robot army?

After the veil guys get their shadowy business going the tournament starts, it consists of dropping everyone who entered into a random forest and telling them to start fighting each other.

Props to these people though, they actually have personnel and security robots running around the forest and keeping an eye out on the contestants. Probably so that a snake doesn't bite one of them or something.

cc2.png
I hope I don't find any snakes...

This backfires spectacularly when the security robots go crazy and start attacking everyone.

I don't think I've said this enough but these little robots are actually very dangerous. These things have enough power to tear down walls easily and can also easily kill a person (probably, they can shoot needles). So yeah, this is a dangerous situation, very dangerous.

Granted, this is the "world tournament" or something, so most of these people are professionals. They can probably take care of themselves (still doesn't stop most of them from losing and being wounded)

The reason as to why these robots are "malfunctioning" is... the evil guys, who are controlling all of them via proxy.

This is part of their evil plan, the creation of the "strongest custom robo evar" that they can use to take over the world!

cc11.png
The president of "Totally Not Evil Company" didn't get the memo about the evil scientists working under him.

It may sound ridiculous when you hear it for the first time, but you quickly find out that this robo in question is controlling the other robos

Consider that this entire world revolves around custom robo (the sport and the little robots named after it), to the point that it's pretty much what you're going to be talking about with your family at dinner every day of the week for your entire life. A robo that can, forcefully, hijack and control other smaller machines of death is a terrifying thing, one that I didn't even realize existed until I got to this part.

The tournament is canceled for extremely obvious reasons and I am legally obligated to do something about this because I have a "technically a cop but not really because he's underage" license, so I team up with three other individuals to stop this disaster.

I also discovered that the shops are still open, despite people actively fighting against hijacked security robots right in front of the shopkeeper, the guy even charges you for his stuff. Yes, I did buy even more stuff from him.

cc10.png

After emptying my pockets from every virtual penny I finally move on and start fighting the evil goons. It's around this part that you start fighting all of the named villains you've previously seen and all of those fights are hard.

Mostly because they're using illegal parts on their robos which is kinda cheating but it does give it a very nice difficulty spike. Either learn how to cheese deal with it or die enough times that the game asks you to lower your enemy's maximum health.

Remember that illegal parts are just juiced up robo parts that are more powerful than normal and while, normally, an enemy uses one or two these guys have a full robo decked out with that hardware, so they're a little bit above your average NPC.

cc12.png
This is what a completely illegal robo looks like. I swear it's more dangerous you have to believe me!

It's fun, also frustrating. I'm sure that if i hadn't stopped playing the game for a while i would have an easier time with them. Because they kicked my ass several times.

Nothing that can't be dealt with of course, with the exception of a monster by the name of Jameson who is "hax" incarnate.

Jameson is a big ol' robo that can take a great deal of pain and give a even greater deal of pain to his enemies. Not only is he a bullet sponge but he also cannot be knocked down, which is something that can be done to every other robo in order to give you a moment of respite (or to open up even more combos). He can, of course, knock you down instead, repeatedly.

cc13.png
I have fought him 7 times now and I still get my ass kicked. Until I activated the cheese strats.

This is where I rediscovered the "handicap" you can give yourself. Once you lose for a couple of times against the same opponent and keep trying you'll get an option to lower it's default health, the amount of health you can take from them increases with every few loses or so.

I could do that to jameson but that would cheapen the victory.

Once Jameson is dealt with you fight the final two evil guys and then jump to the "strongest robo evar!", which is also known by the name of "Hadron"

cc14.png
I know he's evil and all that, but why does he look so cool!?

There's not much I can say, really. Hadron is, in terms of being a difficult opponent, better than Jameson. The difficulty here comes from Hadron being a hard enemy to fight against instead of having Jameson's overpowered defenses.

Not much else after that. Hadron straight up kills a dude and then pulls some invincibility stuff, the protagonist uses the power of friendship and beats Hadron so hard it explodes and then the credits roll.

...Kinda anticlimactic.

And that's it! That's all of custom robo arena. The story at least.

There's more stuff though, like getting illegal parts, which you get after the game is complete and as soon as you do some other stuff.

cc15.png
I don't even know what's going on anymore.

There's "grudge matches/revenge matches" as well, fights against the named NPCs of the game where you fight a stronger version of them after you complete a specific objective, like getting X amount of Y parts or having a highest combo of X, and so on.

...I wasn't going to spend time on that.

This is also the same point where I stopped playing during my first time playing this game. I did want to finish all of the extra things but I just couldn't do it, there were more games to be played and more stuff to do I just didn't have much interest on doing that.

cc9.png

Which is also what happens here. My robot adiction was replaced by a monster hunting one is not strong enough to brave through the final pieces of content the game has.

It was good while it lasted I guess. I'll eventually come back though, probably to delete all of the date I have and start all over again. It's a really fun game to sink a couple of hours in.

Thanks for reading all of this. It's been a while since the last time I posted anything at all in this site, life's been a little busy for me to do more here and, with online classes starting here, it's bound to get a little more wild.

Again, thank you for reading and I hope you have a great day. Remember to stay safe everyone!

Sort:  

Congratulations @guubadoop! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is November 1st 2020
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge

Congratulations @guubadoop! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Next Hive Power Up Day is November 1st 2020
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge