One Piece Card Game?! 🤯 Impressions from an OP fan and gamer

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

OnePieceTCG.png


One Piece is getting an official card game!


I've been a die-hard One Piece manga fan since almost two decades ago and likely forever will be. I enjoy card games too. So hearing about the announcement got me all giddy. I have no idea if the actual game would be fun, but I'm buying card packs no matter what if it gets distributed locally.


Apparently, Bandai announced it over a month ago but gone slightly under the radar. For whatever reason, gaming and entertainment news outlets like IGN are only talking about it now. Here's the official trailer published by IGN yesterday.


Header image and video from IGN's Youtube


It may take a month or two before we get any details about the game. For now, I'm going to burn away the excess excitement by blogging about it and talking about my early impressions of the card game. As a One Piece fan, I'm all hoping it would do great. But as a gamer, I've got some real doubts about its future.


Here's what I think will work for and against the upcoming One Piece trading card game.




✔️ Massive Fanbase ✔️



If you haven't heard of One Piece even once, either you have been living on a remote island or got a total aversion to anime or manga.


It's currently one of the longest-running and top-selling manga ever, with over 490 million volumes in circulation. It spawned an anime, fourteen movies (going to 15 soon), tons of video games, and even an upcoming Netflix live-action series that I have mixed feelings about.


After more than two decades of publication, the manga hasn't shown any signs of losing steam. It's been that way since it was released in 1997. Imagine how many kids and teens grew up reading or watching One Piece, and how many are adults now with spending power.


The One Piece fanboys and fangirls would undoubtedly boost the upcoming card game's success.

OnePieceAlabastaGoodbye.jpg
Image from One Piece Fandom 😭


❌ Tough Competition ❌


The global Trading Card Game (TCG) landscape has a mythical and undefeated trifecta: Magic, Pokémon, and Yu-Gi-Oh!. These, as most players call them, the Big Three, have been around for ages to hone their craft and accumulate a colossal playerbase.

Yu-Gi-Oh!
Pokémon
Magic
BlueEyesWhiteDragon.jpgCharizardGx.jpgMagicTCGDragon.jpg

Stunning Dragon Card Images from Troll and Toad


Pokémon TCG has been here since 1999. Yu-Gi-Oh! came a few years later, in 2002. While Magic TCG has been released for way longer with a 1993 debut.


These games are the Big Three for a reason. They are splendid card games, successfully and constantly keeping the play fresh and exciting their players. I don't think One Piece TCG will be able to match these guys in gameplay elements, marketing, or player adoption.

One Piece would have a rough road ahead in getting a slice of the TCG players' pie.


✔️Top-Tier Collectibles ✔️


I'm worried about One Piece as a card game, but one thing I have no doubts about is its potential collector's value. It truly has the makings of a top-tier collectible that would go for astronomically high auction prices on eBay.


Yes, fans would drive the value up high. Just look at how gorgeous the cards are. I'm sure they, I mean, we, will be absolute suckers for these. I won't be competing for them in auctions, but I'll surely try my luck on opening tons of packs to nab one of these. 😎😍😭

Sabo.jpgLaw.jpgZoro.jpg

Image from One Piece TCG Twitter


We can look at how the Dragon Ball card game is faring as a collector's item as a reference. The fanbase of the franchises is equally massive, so it's a good parallel to how One Piece cards will go. Consider this Dragon Ball card recently sold on eBay for $4,499. Also consider that this print wasn't a decade-old print or anything; it was a Secret Rare released last May 2021 in a standard booster.

DBSeBay.jpg

Screenshot from eBay listing


❌Lackluster Gameplay? ❌


I mentioned how One Piece would have a Herculean task of vying for players against the TCG Big Three. But judging Bandai's track record of card games, One Piece TCG may not even be able to catch the dust the other games left behind.


Before One Piece's upcoming 2022 launch, Bandai had two earlier forays in the TCG world with 2008's Dragon Ball Super and 2020's Digimon Card Game. These games are built on well-loved franchises and can be considered successes. But the 'game factor' between these and the three TCG godfathers has a terribly wide gap.


Dragon Ball was the worse offender probably. Digimon seemed a lot more fun and complex. To be fair, I only know of the gameplay vaguely through reviews and videos, so I'm not a totally reliable judge. But on my impressions so far, the Dragon Ball TCG feels like a casual party game not far from the likes of Unstable Unicorns.


I'm not hating on party games. On the contrary, I love them too. But the simpler Bandai card games are out of the norm in TCGs, especially in the competitive scene. I can't imagine myself or other players obsessing over strategizing plays for those games.


And unfortunately, the early glimpse of One Piece TCG looks like that of Dragon Ball. For any players of Dragon Ball TCG out there, please feel free to educate me. I'm honestly all ears. 🙏 Thank you!

FM_hdgRaAAAII_p.jpg

Image from One Piece TCG Twitter


✔️Boundless Potential ✔️


One core fact why Pokémon TCG has remained successful is that it's not done yet. There's still new stuff to explore in the franchise's anime and games. We are already on Generation IX of Pokémon. Then, we'll probably reach what, Gen XXX, Gen L? 🤔 It'll likely persist that long since Nintendo games keep it thriving. The Pokémon card game has well-capitalized on this constant hype and re-invention.


One Piece won't be as long-lasting as Pokémon, but it's still an ongoing publication. Until the moment manga ends, and even beyond, there's boundless magic to unfold. The mangaka is a passionate and astoundingly creative guy. Fans affectionately call Eiichiro Oda, the creator, "Goda" for his godly genius. In Oda's hands, the manga will surely be more explosive in the years to come.


There's been talk about One Piece manga ending around 2026. It's bittersweet because I'll definitely miss it, but I also know and acknowledge the significance of its ending.

On thinking about the TCG, I'm happy that it's coming out while we're still in the manga's glory days. Hopefully, it'll be able to ride the waves of the hype and climax of the material. Then be able to outlive it and be something that fans could remember the One Piece world by. 💖



~ I'd like to end this post by sharing an amusing exchange when Oda first learned that One Piece would have a trading card game. ~

OdaReaction.jpg
Screenshot from One Piece TCG Official Site





If you liked this post, you may be interested in my other TCG blog:
Guess the Most Expensive Yu-Gi-Oh! Card Sold on eBay and How Much it Costs


Sort:  
 2 years ago  

huh.

interesting.

it's a going to be a good gift for a friend of mine.

😊

You are an awesome friend! Gift me one too please lol. Just kidding XD

 2 years ago  

😆

Cool. I know a few people who will definitely be interested in this.

There's indeed lots of fans of the franchise everywhere.
Thank you for checking out my post :)

and even an upcoming Netflix live-action series that I have mixed feelings about.

this got me because i feel the same way! i am awaiting one piece card game as well even though i know myself that i won't afford to buy it lmao.

I'm looking forward to watching OP live, hoping that it won't be like Bebop. It was enjoyable, but expectations from the material were so high. So it ultimately flopped?

The card pack prices are what I'm worried about too lol. Though, laban lang. Ipon ipon muna ako haha.

omg filipino ka po pala nagenglish pa ako huhuhu

Lol, same kala ko foreigner ka. Tinignan ko muna profile mo and saw "Philippines".

Best of luck sa start sa college! Hope you find time to blog pa rin haha.

buti nga po pala talaga naglagay ako ng Ph ahahahha!

salamat poo, goood luck sa future endeavors mo rin!

Hahaha dito nalang ako mag comment 😂. Ayan Jazz Inglishero ka kasi.

Pero super galing talaga nyan ni Esme, parang native lang na Englishera pag nag gawa ng post.

Haha, supling mo pala itong si Esme.

Idk much TCG but imo anything One Piece has the potential to be massive.

Except maybe for the incoming Netflix live action, even I am very cautiously optimistic about it.

So yeah, might end up coping a few packs myself.

One out of ten chances, Netflix Live would be good haha. I keep imagining Dragon Ball live. DB and OP are kinda in the same realm, so I feel OP Live would be awkward too. But I hope I'm wrong.

I'm not much of a gamer, but I love collectibles. This might be a great buy. Who knows what the value will be in a few years time. !LUV !PIZZA !hivebits

What's HBIT?
Success! You mined .9 HBIT and the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. mine | about | wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <><

Yes, the rare cards from the pack would definitely sell high :D I just don't know the logistics on selling it, lol. Since buyers are mostly from the USA. And despite being originally released in Japan, the editions sold in North America / Worldwide are the ones to look out for.

Thanks for dropping by!

Any idea how much it will be priced when it is released here in the PH?

I estimate it'll be around P300 per pack. Or higher XD Many resellers would likely hoard the packs.

Not bad. Pwede na yan sa P300. 10 packs for 3k only. 😁😁😁


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@juanvegetarian(1/5) tipped @jazzhero (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!