Hyperkin RetroN 1 Gaming Console: NES

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

image.png

What's up game nerds! Recently I came across a vintage NES hardware cabinet, which you can view here, and it sparked up my inner nerd. At the time I didn't realize that, until just last week I came up on more NES games. Then the transformation was complete. I am now obsessed with the NES! But with all these cool games, what to do now?

I decided to purchase a 8 Bit console that plays NES games. Yes the toaster style NES would of been cool, but the price of 150-200$ is something I could not justify. After checking online, I found this on Offerup. After waiting a few hours, and then doing a back alley meet up, the Retron Top Loader was all mine.


For it being used, the previous owner took great care of it. I suspect perhaps he bought it to test out the NES games he had for sell. Either way, I got a great deal on it.

Contents:

  • Manual

  • 2 Controllers

  • 1 A/V Cable Set

  • 1 AC Power Adapter

  • 1 Top Loader NES Game System

So this system also claims it is compatible with the original game controllers, and even Light Gun. Did it live up to that claim?


Absolutely! So that was cool. Unfortnaly I did not try out the Light Gun, because you need an old style TV with the light tube for Light Guns to work. Perhaps another day.

Alright, time to really test this baby out!........

The only issue I have with this console, is it take's a little force to get the cartridge in, but once you do it a few times, you get the hang of it, and it is quite easy. Taking it out is a different story. You do have to use some force. Again you get the hang of it, but it does require you to hold the console in one hand while you pull the cartridge out. I never tried original NES Top Loader to compare to. So if anybody out there has, please let me know in the comments if that console is the same when it comes to loading, and unloading games. Oh, and BTW the NES Top Loader is collectable, so if you ever come across one for cheap, pick it up!

Do you have to blow in the cartridge to get it to work? LOL, just kidding, never do that! This console plays the games great! You do have to make sure the cartridge is snug, and you do have to power on, and off sometimes to get the game to work, After all these games are over 30 years old!


I have to give this system a 9/10. The kids also love these games! As do I. Yeah the new games of today are so cool, and beautiful, but I love 8-Bit games. We also have the Switch, and can play the old NES games. But it is not the same as putting in a physical copy of the game.

And having the original box also adds to the cool factor! I have loads more to come. If the NES excites you, hit that follow button. I will try to share at least 1 game per week. Also, please let me know what was your favorite NES game? Let me know in the comments. Until next time, thanks for checking out my post:)

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

The gaming nostalgia never ends! Great post.

Thanks, and I can’t believe I never knew it existed till a few weeks ago! Or at least not the way it does:)

Fuggin sweet skin! It is awesome to see your kids take to it.#Gamer4Life

Yeah they love it, and some of these games are hard asf! Lol

Thats so cool. I would just end up selling all of those game cartridges though.

Oh hell yeah man I am selling them. Actually just sold that cabinet, with those games in there as well. But just making sure they work, and having some fun as I do. I might get the mike Tyson game graded, since it is complete. Its actually pretty cool, there is a letter in there from Mike Tyson! Ill do a post on that one next.

Nice one, that is cool that it works with all the hardware. Got some real classics that's for sure

Yeah man it is cool to see how many great games the NES had!