Spy Hunter & Excitebike For The NES

in Hive Gaming2 years ago (edited)

image.png

Hello everyone here on the Hive Gaming Community. It has been awhile since I have fired up my Retron, that plays NES games. Three whole months to be exact! Yesterday I decided to dust it off, and try a couple games with my 4 YO son. He loves the Nintendo 3DS, and is pretty damn good at the New Super Mario Bros, 1, and 2. So having him play the old NES is a treat within a treat. For one yeah its fun. Then seeing your son play a system almost the same age as you is priceless. When I say treat, I mean for me. For him, I know he thinks its fun, but only for a few plays. Because these games are hard!


The first game I put in last night was Spy Hunter. One that I actually have not played before until last night. To my surprise it was a decent game!


This game is a vertical scrolling driving game, where the object is to destroy enemy spy cars by shooting them. There are various weapon, and car upgrades in the game as you go. As I said earlier this game is a bit hard, and it does get boring quick. But hey most games are like this from the 8 Bit Era. So what price can you put on this game in terms of $$?


Source

So besides the cool factor, which I fell is worth more then the actual value, Price Charting puts the cartridge of this game at 8.27$ USD. But since I have the box, and manual it adds to the collecting value. Roughly 32.53$. Of course this is just a reference. But a damn good one IMO.


Next game I decide to try out is one I am sure you all are very familiar with. Excitebike! This game is a classic NES game, and I remember having so much fun playing, and building my own tracks.


My son really could not get the hang of the previous game, but this one he did! He even figured out to not over heat the bike faster then I did.


It is real cool to play this game again, and even cooler to play with my kids. But defiantly does not have the same felling as I remember. However we did have a good 1 hour session. Longer then most games we play in the NES library. So what value in terms of $ can you put on this particular game?


Source

This is a pretty common game, and can be found almost anywhere they are selling NES games. So in terms of value, it really is not there just for the cartridge. But if you have the orignal box, the value goes up. So in my case what I have here is worth over 50$, that is if I actually decided to sell. When I first came across these games I planned to sell them, but to me they are worth way more then what I can get for them. The beauty of not wanting to sell, is the price is just going to keep going up. Besides being able to play with my kids is priceless. Sure I know I can play every game in the NES library with an emulator, but having the physical copy is way cooler. Not only that, I find when I am on the Switch playing old NES, or SNES games, I do not play the games long, since it is to easy to switch to a different one. With the physical copy it slows you down a bit, and forces you to sit back, relax, and play the game as it was intended.

So what are your thoughts on having the physical game Vs. having a digital copy? This can also be a question for a new release, since you now can download games instead of buying an actually copy. If you collect old games, please let me know what your prized possession is in the comments. Did you play either of these 2 games? Please let me know your thoughts, bad or good! Thanks for reading, and Ill make sure to not go 3 months in between a post in the Gaming Community. :)

image.png

Sort:  

I always loved Excitebike but it's been quite a while since I have played it. Spy Hunter is another favorite of mine but I liked the Commodore 64 version better than the NES version.

!PGM

I was looking at some game play on the C64 the other day, and. It seemed like a cool system. When I was younger I did not think there was so much difference between the same games on cross platforms, but sometimes in can be like night and day!

The Nes was my first console and your post took me back in time .
I never played Spy Hunter while Excitebike did.
!PGM
!LOL

Yeah same here! It's been fun having these back in my life again:)

Those were the good ole days. Had both of those games, lol. One of my favs was Paperboy, lol

Paperboy was amazing! I would of shit my pants if I came up on the game and box! I think the coolest game that I currently have , is mike Tyson’s punch out, and it’s complete! Going to make for a cool post. ;)

ExciteBike was so fun back in the day. My friends and I would try so hard to make our guys jump off the screen.

Lol is it possible? I have to try that!

Oh man! excite bike was one of my favs as a kid! That's awesome your son gets to enjoy it as we did as kids! Very awesome bro!

Yeah it is cool, and it does show you how timeless theses are. My other son loves Fortnite, but still can appreciate these old games. But to be honest, Fortnite is cool, and I get why people love it, but I am not a big fan.

Same man, my daughter plays that fortnite game and she's pretty good for an eight yr old but I don't care much for it either.

Se ve muy interesante, me agrada, te dejo mi voto y te sigo, saludos.

Gracious! :)