You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Gaming Community - MY Best Video Game Memories

in Hive Gaming4 years ago (edited)

Bravo Sir!

This post is probably the best post I have ever seen in the Hive Gaming section...

You really did take us on an incredibly comprehensive trip video game down memory lane.

It seems you are a man after my own heart ,we share many of the same memories from many of the same games.I am born in 1983 so your a couple of years older than me but we were alive in the same video game eras...

I especially liked this....

"I always thought that Mortal Kombat had piggy-backed it's characters from the movie Big Trouble in Little China. Raiden, Scorpion, and Sub-Zero were like the three storms. Johhny Cage was like Kurt Russel's character Jack. Sonya was like the reporter chick he was crushing on. Lui Kang was like his martial artist friend. Goro and the main boss were like Lo-Pan and the beast monster in the movie. Of course, some creative liberties and changes had to be made."

A couple of years ago I made a 10 minute long film for a green/blue screen contest.I had some Mortal Kombat themed green screen stuff I wanted play with and I wanted the film to be an 80s nostalgia fest so I used footage from Robocop and Big Trouble in Little China.

You inspired me to post my little 80s Nostalgia fest movie again.You can find the post here that explains how this all came about and linked the Dtube link here if you feel like watching it.Hold on to your funny bone but be warned its a bit rude :)

https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@jubei333/80s-nostalgia-fest-original-short-film-roboc-ck-vs-cthulhu-and-the-5-mystical-ninjas-episode-1-origins-a-hive-exclusive-series

I also love Splatter House , I did a Retro Replay/Arcade Memories a few months ago ,I've never made it passed the poltergeist boss on Stage 2...

https://hive.blog/hive-140217/@jubei333/retro-replay-challenge-splatterhouse-who-wants-to-win-some-hive-dollars

Sort:  

Wow, thank you! I am pretty new to the gaming community and this is my first post there. I am sure there has been some great content created being that so many here at HIVE are gamers... or grew up gaming. So, that means a lot to hear.

I am glad that my memory lane helped you remember avenues of your own walk down that old road. I was born in December so most of my friends were about your age. It was a great time to be born! I listened to the soundtrack for Big Trouble in Little China when making some of this post. hahahhaa

I just checked out some of that video. Nice Enter The Dragon theme music overdubbed on the BTLC portion. Jubei is one of my favorite characters of all time from Ninja Scroll too... so you must be a man after my own heart as well.

It was hard to find material on SplatterHouse. I couldn't get the gifs to work when i found them like you did in your post. I beat the game on TurboGrafix-16 and it was one of the saddest days of my life. The remake of it looks pretty good and true to the original. I will have to finish checking out your post of the movie you made. Looks crude, but interestingly funny. Thanks for the heads up! hahahha