You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First impressions of the New World closed beta.

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

I recently tried FFXIV also! It was fun, but once I reached about level 50 it was such a back-and-forth slog. I don't think I even reached the first expansion's content, I just got so burnt out on the end story of the classic content and couldn't continue anymore.

This Steam post explains it perfectly.

I think the Beta for New World is still open, that they were sending out invites over intervals of the closed beta period, so fingers crossed you get one and can give it a try!

From what I've experienced so far: I played earlier yesterday and my partner gave it a try last night. During that timeframe they fixed an issue with their AFK timer that wasn't working and making the queues very tedious, and they took into consideration feedback in regards to gathering and implemented it.

That quick response time for updating during the beta makes me feel pretty confident in their ability as listening developers also. I was impressed! :D

Sort:  

I think if you view FFXIV as more of a multiplayer RPG instead of an MMO it makes more sense. I'm just playing every now and then to chill for a bit. It's fun and pretty to look at. I do understand the problems though if you're expecting more of a free and open MMO.

Oh, that's sweet! I hope I get an invitation to at least try it then. I just need a couple of hours to get a feel for it. I see people raging about it online but I feel that those are just the people who have hyped themselves to much and have way to big expectations.