WoW Classic -- a new rogue enters the fray.

in Hive Gaming4 years ago

When World of Warcraft Classic first released it took me a couple of weeks to grit my teeth, lower my head, crack my knuckles and succumb to the call. It had been years since I had last played and I wasn't sure if I really wanted to get back into it.

header.png

I've had my share of bad experiences in WoW as well as good, but as with most things we focus on the bad. The bad in my case? "Adult" guilds filled with bona fide adults who acted like school children. Toxic people. Elitists.

So basically, my issue was PEOPLE. 😂

At the same time there were some good people mixed in amongst the bad -- just like anywhere, I guess -- and it was they (plus a bunch of posts in #steemace) who convinced me to give Classic a try. Which I also wrote about behind these blue words.

rogue2.png

I stopped because my friend just had to choose a pvp server and I couldn't bloody do anything because of one evil Alliance rogue. A few times is fine and dandy and to be expected, but when the same max-level rogue haunts your little level 30 for your entire day in-game, it gets old and you decide to do something else with your time.

My friend had recently started a new Classic character and I decided to see if I could catch up to him and perhaps surpass him, because I'm competitive like that. He was still on that pvp server though. 👀 So I only had one option.

Make a rogue.

You literally can't be anything else on a pvp server.

MAKE A ROGUE.

I had a Pandaren Assassination Rogue back in retail WoW who I enjoyed, but I didn't quite enjoy her enough to induct her into my main cast of characters -- a warrior, priest, and hunter.

Having never mained a rogue, I'm not really too familiar with the abilities and I'm not snappy with the common rogue techniques like sap this, gouge that, fight that, crowd control this, win, victory!

I am in Star Wars: the Old Republic 😅 I love the Imperial Agent stabby-stabby dance that annihilates everything, but this is entirely different.

I'm enjoying it though.

I started off trying to replicate my Pandaren Assassination Rogue, but after investigating the trees I soon decided that Assassination was for chumps and I needed to go mainly Combat and Subtlety if I wanted to do any real damage and perform proper sneaky techniques.

sneaky.png

Despite my not being entirely familiar with the class, I'm succeeding far more than I was with my warrior, a class I know inside and out. I've been taking on creatures higher level than me, the Echo Island trolls that annihilated my warrior early on were a piece of cake, and even a goblin warlock that gave my warrior much trouble was a complete walk in the park for this rogue.

At the time of writing this I've reach level 21, have earned 30gold which is amazing for a lowbie in Classic, and am on the verge of at last entering contested lands where this time I get to be the arsehole rogue that makes everyone's life a misery.

MUAHAHA.

More importantly, my friend's new Classic character is level 22 so I'm on the verge of surpassing him too!

MUAHAHAHA!!

drinkme.png

Drinking the blood of her foes after a long day of backstabbing and eye-gouging.

 

Until next time 😊


Thank you for stopping by!

 


 

All screenshots were taken by me, @kaelci, and are from the game: World of Warcraft Classic

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

After lurking around on private servers for long I immediately started playing classic wow on release day.
By now I have a pretty well equipped warrior, a decent rogue und a paladin is about to hit lvl 60.
My wife also started WoW again and has a (almost) completely bis geared mage.

Classic wow is a hell of a drug. In the best way possible :D

Enjoy your stay in Azeroth.

 4 years ago  

Cheers!! 😁

I'm really enjoying my rogue so far, but I'd love to do some more with my warrior at some point. Unfortunately, I just discovered that my server is locked so a couple of other friends who wanted to join in are now elsewhere.

Hoping I don't have to start again, again. 😅

I miss world of warcraft. :)

Maybe I should check out classic for the nostalgia effect some time soon again!

 4 years ago  

Oh you definitely should! 😄 I started playing WoW during Lich King so this has been quite the experience.

Haha I may open that gate at some point and then try to remember Hive exists before I lose myself completely. xD

 4 years ago  

Haha, I get like that. XD I understand completely!

My best advice is no matter what game you're in and no matter what is on your mind, if you're even thinking of blogging or not, get into the habit of taking screenshots. 🙂 Then three months later when you remember Hive is here you have some content to share! 😁 Hehe

So, guess what happened... xD

and I forgot to take screenshots cause I never do. T_T

but hi, I'm back, maybe~

 4 years ago  

Hellooo xD

Noooo, you're supposed to take screenshots!!

;(

I'm going to try take the time to test some games out and post about them instead, need to get my ass off world of warcraft but it's so relaxing when you get home from work.

Btw, a bit of a random question but I may be buying more hive and won't have the time to curate myself, do you happen to know a good project I could "delegate" to and receive daily returns for it? I've been reading that many do this but it seems difficult to tell which projects are good. What do you think about @curangel?