My first 6 hours of Valheim

Valheim 3_22_2021 6_29_05 PM.png
Image by Me

Hey there gamers and fellow vikings! I decided to try out the new craze of Valheim and purchased it a couple of days ago to see what the hype was about. Now I am one that loves survival games having played Dont Starve (my favorite) and Seven Days to Die! So this game seemed like it was right up my alley.

My first 3 hours were spent understanding the mechanics of the game and the basic possibilities that were available. I decided to play a male character (which is my norm but on occasion I'll make a female). I was running around gathering wood and rocks not really understanding what to do! I ran into a greydwarf right at the beginning of my first night. I pretty much spent that night running away from him before I realized that he was pretty easy to kill.

Not more than about two hours later, I found myself entangled with a Greydwarf that had two stars by his health bar. (sorry no image). This asshole kicked my ass. I wasnt watching my HP and ended up being dealt my first (so far only) death in the game. I like that death has a negative consequence to it. It makes it so that you are a bit more cautious and to make sure what you're doing will be worth it. When I died, I dropped all my stuff (similar to minecraft) and apparently lost some of my skill progress.

Valheim 3_22_2021 5_54_42 PM.png
Image by Me

Eventually I got to test out the rain mechanics lol. This is an awesome addition to the game and I love when they have great seasons that affect the survivability. Along with rain I found myself in fog at one point as well. I'm not sure if this was the weather mechanic or part of the forest I was rummaging around in. Although I didn't see how much of an effect the rain and wetness actually had on me, it was still impressive. Perhaps it is something that is worse in conjunction with the cold.

Valheim 3_22_2021 6_29_39 PM.png
Image by Me

I found myself progressing through the crafting stages quite well. I eventually found myself as the new owner of a flint spear and round shield and a 3 piece leather armor setup. I decided it was time to try the first boss! I want to point out that I really enjoy the hunting aspect of the game. The wind and stealth mechanics are pretty cool. I didn't realize the wind impact as I was hunting deer for hide. I found myself chasing them in the beginning, which was frustrating. Haha. I eventually figured out how the bow worked and got my aim on point. I even hunted the elusive invisible deer (see photo above).

Valheim 3_22_2021 6_52_33 PM.png
Image by Me

I eventually had everything I needed to feel confident about possibly not dying to the boss, Eikthyr, The lightening Stagg! I took my deer trophies and made my way to the alter. Of course I had to stand on it first to assert dominance! I then proceeded to place the offering on the table and armed myself with the round shield and spear.

Valheim 3_22_2021 6_53_39 PM.png
Image by Me

Unfortunately I got scared and snapped the image early. I didnt get a good one of him, but here he is as sparks! Lol. He was surprisingly easier than I expected. He had three basic abilities: A lightning stream, a lightning ball around himself, and a gore attack with his antlers if you stood in front. All of which were fairly easy to dodge. After the attacks I would run and stab him a time or two with my spear. (maybe the shield wasnt even necessary). When he ran off, as he does occasionally, I would pull out the bow and pluck him a time or two. Rinse and repeat.

Valheim 3_22_2021 6_58_37 PM.png

I managed to kill him and rejoiced! First boss down, but even better, now I have a pick axe! I was wondering where you got that damn thing from! Lol. So far the game has been interesting and I have found myself wanting to play again. That is a good sign!

Ill see you on the waters fellow Vikings!

Sort:  

You got a lot done in your first three hours. My first few hours playing I had no clue what I was doing. Thanks for coming on adventures with us tonight and killing the second boss.

Thanks for inviting me along! It was hilarious and fun!

Congratulations @leveluplifestyle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

A successful meetup and its commemorative badge