Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous Character Creation is Insane

in Hive Gaming3 years ago (edited)

pathfinder.jpg

I just picked up one of the most-hyped RPGs to come out this year and spent hours in its character creation process. If you love tabletop RPGs games like Baldur's Gate and Divinity Original Sin, don't hesitate to check this game out.

What is Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous?

Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous (WOG) is a new CRPG based on the tabletop RPG Pathfinder and is a sequel to Pathfinder Kingmaker. The game features a brand new story so you don't have to play the original to understand the game.

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_11.41.05.11.png

This game is huge! The reviews I've read say it can take at least 150 hours to play through the entire game! I'm already 10 hours in and feel like I've barely scratched the surface so let's just go over character creation in Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous.

Lets Create our First Character in Pathfinder

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_11.42.51.11.png

** Before we go on, I don't think there are any spoilers in this overview. I'm simply going over my character selection process. You won't see any of the story in the article below. **

In the vein of Baldur's Gate and other isometric, turn-based RPGs, Pathfinder WOG is a detailed and rich role-playing environment. Character creation is one of the most important parts of an RPG and Pathfinder doesn't disappoint.

Choices are Important in Pathfinder

Character creation is a HUGE part of this game and will affect your playstyle and playthrough.

If you create a lawful good paladin but keep making chaotic evil choices in game, you may start to lose powers and skills. Your party will notice as well.

Any playstyle and class is viable but be aware of your choices and choose a character that fits the type of roleplay you want to achieve.

My Roleplaying Goal

No matter what type of character you want to play, you can build it in Pathfinder. From Conan the Barbarian to Gandalf the Wizard, you can custom build your dream character.

You're first screen will let you choose from a set of pre-rolled characters or to create a custom character. While I'm sure the pre-rolled characters are fine, I'm here to create my own vision.

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_11.52.58.29.png

For my first playthrough I decided to play as a vampire warrior priest in the service of an evil god. Yes the choics get that deep. My goal is to be a frontline support that can still deal damage and withstand some damage.

I chose Champion of the Faith as the sub-class of Warpriest to achieve this goal. This gives me the skills I need to wear armor, carry a shield and use the wrath of my chosen god against my enemies.

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_11.55.43.00.png

Dhampir is the Vampire race in Pathfinder and my choice of race for this playthrough. Nothing like a devout vampire to strike fear into man and monsters alike! When choosing a Dhampir, you also get to select a heritage.

This was actually a tough decision for my front line warpriest. No heritage had perfect stats so I chose Moroi-Born. These dhampir are charming and beautiful but possess extradinary strength. Unfortunatley they have lower constitution so I'll need to find a way to boost my hit points somewhere else.

Choose a Background

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_11.57.09.18.png

Next, it's time to choose a background for my warpriest. I am literally amazed at how deep and detailed these selections are. I encourage you to spend time reading through each one and finding the right background for your character.

Since I'm going deep down the evil religious zealot path, I found Acolyte to be a great background for my character. This lets me use my wisdom for persuasion checks. It also increases my religious lore knowledge and gives me additional armor/weapon proficiences. More smiting power!

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.01.07.43.png

Time for Ability Points

Ability points are used to determine if actions in game will succeed or not. Pathfinder shows you a "thumbs-up" on this page to show you which ability points are important to your class. Of course you can choose to upgrade other points if you like.

Since I'm going full zealot warrior priest bashing heads in the frontline, I needed wisdom, constitution, and strength the most. I feel I did a good job picking points, BUT I could have used 1 more point in strength to handle the encumberance from heavy armors.

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.03.12.26.png

Once you choose your ability points, you get skill points as well. More Lore (Religion) for me! (I haven't even picked my deity yet, but I'm sure going to be knowledgable about them once I do pick them.)

Next you get to choose a Feat. Since I don't have enough strength to handle heavy armor, I opted for the medium armor feat and to get some more armor class protection.

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.09.28.01.png

Praise Zuh Kuhton

I needed to pledge allegiance to an evil god and boy did I find the right one. Zuh Khuton, also known as The Midnight Lord, possess one of the most evil and twisted minds in The Great Beyond. He is the God of Pain and the God of Darkness.

He lurks in the domains of darkness, death, destruction, evil and law. Sounds perfect for me. The preferred weapon, the flail, is perfect as well and fits my dream of becoming the ultimate baddass flail swinging, blood-drinking, zealot warrior priest in the land.

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.11.32.83.png

More and More Choices

We're still nowhere near done with character creation. Let's take a break, have a sip of wine and get ready to head even deeper into this evil priest's backstory.

Next we spontaneous casting and weapon focus choices to make.

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.12.48.54.png

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.12.01.00.png

But Who am I Really? Time to Pick an Alignment.

Alignment is extremely important in Pathfinder. If you choose an evil character, you better be prepared to play as an evil character. I'm not saying you have to slaughter and eat babies (they're not even on the menu), but you will need to make evil choices in the game.

If you continually choose good choices, you may end up losing abilities or favor from your god. Your alignment will also affect which mythic progression you can choose. You can't be an angel if you want to be evil like me!

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.13.20.41.png

The evil alignment lets me choose a blessing and I decided on the Death Blessing. This makes me intimidate my opponents and makes me immune to disease, mind effects, and stuns. Perfect for getting my flail in their stupid faces.

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.14.10.73.png

Look at Me, I'm EVIL!

I ended up in as a Neutral Evil through my choices. Perfect for my plan to smite the world into oblivion one non-believer at a time.

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.14.52.97.png

Cosmetics

Finally, it's onto cosmetic choices. This is the first disappointment in the game. Pathfinder: Wrath of the Righteous has limited cosmetic choices for your character. No big deal, but they could have added a few more options give how detailed the rest of character creation is.

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.17.52.32.png

Introducing, Mantis Tobaggon, Dhampir Warpriest of Zon Kuthon

As I strap on my armor and grab my flail, I chant a mantra to appease my Dark Prince. There is no enemy demon or man that will stand in my way of spreading the words of Zon Khuton throguht the Worldwound.

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.18.55.50.png

Time to Play the Game!

Wow, that took forever. Character creation in Pathfinder Wrath of Righteous can take hours and hours. But it's awesome. I encourage you to take your time and don't rush to jump into the game.

Creating the perfect character will make Pathfinder a much more enjoyable experience.

I'm currently only 10 hours in and am loving the experience. I'll be posting a full review and maybe some guides for the game once I get a better handle on the mechanics of Pathfinder Wrath of the Righteous.
Whether you are a newbie to RPGs or a seasoned veteran, this game has everything you can need for countless hours of enjoyment!

pathfinder_wrath_of_the_righteous_screenshot_2021.09.12_12.20.50.60.png

Let's Connect

I hope everyone is enjoying these posts.

Currently based in Siem Reap, Cambodia, I'm a solo-traveling, digital nomad. Due to the pandemic, I've been living in Siem Reap for almost 2 years now. While I'm hoping to get back on the road soon, I'm not in a rush.

I'd love to connect with other travelers, digital nomads, gamers, or residents of Cambodia. Don't hesitate to say hi or send me an upvote!

You can learn more about me and my company at OneZen.me.

Sort:  

Nice post man. I tried covering this game also , so far I only covered character creation aswell,I must have spent the first hour of my video just reading all the class descriptions.

The more I read about this game the more I want to play it. Just a shame I have so many games going on right now. Wishlisted at the least!

Congratulations @mantis-tobaggon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 12