Classic Games Review: Virtua Cop 2

in Hive Gaming4 years ago (edited)

Many people have played many games in their childhood, back when life was so good! I didn’t play less either. I don't remember exactly when I first bought my first computer. But I remember that the configuration of that computer was Pentium 3. And from where I bought it, they already loaded a lot of games on the hard disk.

Those days were really nice and exciting, when I spent hours and hours of playing games like House of Dead, Hercules, Roadrush. Then, I slowly started playing high configuration games. But childhood games have taken place in my mind forever. One of the best memorable games is Virtua Cop 2.


Source

In fact, there is no need to make a review of these types of classic games. These games are always the best. But the goal of this post is to bring back the boys of the 90s to the past.

Suppose gangsters are looting the whole city. In fact, the story begins with the robbery of a gold shop. The police are also not able to fight with the thugs. At such times you will come as a virtua cop to help your fellow cops. You will be in the role of police in this game. Virtual police actually! Your job will be to fight against the gangsters with different types of weapons around the city, dock, and rail station.


Source

Virtua cop 2 was originally an arcade shooting game, first released in 1995 by Sega. Later in 1998, the virtua cop 2 PC version was released. Most of us guys played on PC. Two people could play together, one with the mouse and the other with the keyboard.

Virtua cop 2 is a sequel to Virtua cop 1, but I have never played number one. Of course, Virtua Cop 1 wasn't as popular as Virtua cop 2. It is worth mentioning that Virtua cop 2 had 3 parts based on the stages of games - Beginner, Medium, and Expert.


Source

The beginner level is in the city, the medium level is in the dock, and the expert level is in the train station. And there are various scenes and plots in every stage.

Anyway, let us get back to the gameplay. There's no time to waste with the procedures or questioning bad guys. You just reload your gun continuously and shot them! Each time you play the game the bad guys will appear from the same spot as the last time. So you will be an expert in this game if you play 2-3 times. But back then, I can't even remember how many times I played.

At the beginner level, you have to go to various places in the city and kill the enemies. The fun part is you have to shoot the enemies even while you're driving to go one place to another. enemies will come with their vehicle, or they will just try to shoot you from the roadside when you are driving.

Innocent people will run in the middle of the fighting and you'll lose a life point if you shoot any civilian! They will shout like "Please don't shoot" or "Somebody help me" while running! Seriously which civilian do that! But it's just a game. The car you are driving says VCPD - it's Virtua City Police Department I guess!


Source

Some gangsters will through even grenades to you. Sometimes you'll get a special machine gun which will help you to eliminate enemies faster. I am happy that I still remember all the levels and patterns of the game! Don't worry if you die in the game. You have unlimited credit to start from where you died. It's all about fun here in Virtua cop 2!

I like the chasing part of the game. Gangsters will come through cars, vans, and bike, the exciting thing is you can also shoot to the tire to bust the vehicle! It's not boring as you're moving around a lot in various places.


Source

My personal favorite is the Train level where you have to fight the enemies by running through one compartment to another. From the second stage, enemies will come with the helicopters which is so cool. They will shoot from the sky or they will just jump in front of you. And you will shoot to the screen like a badass cop!


Source

Now let's talk about the bosses. Each stage has a different boss and the last boss after all of these, which means a total of 4 bosses in three stages. The first boss is quite easy and will shoot you from the rooftop. Sometimes he will throw drum and even vehicles onto you from the top. So powerful indeed!

Boss in the second stage is a little bit hard, at least for me. There will be so many little men flying and shooting from a different angle. So it’s hard to cover all sides at the same time.


Source

And second last boss comes with a tank, it’s not like a regular tank! It can shoot and scratch your face with two hands.

The last boss is the easiest actually. I don't know why they kept the easiest at last. It's just one flying enemy and shooting.

The graphics of Virtua cop 2 is not even near to the today's game. But for us, it was marvelous graphics back then. You'll still get a lot of fun if you play it today. Shoot everyone before they shoot you, try and save the innocent civilians and shoot on the object to locate hidden weapons like shotgun or machinegun.

I loved the game first approx 15 years ago and I still love the game. Let me know your thought if you have already played this game. I am looking forward to hearing from you.


Read Also - Cadillacs and Dinosaurs: A Trip Down Memory Lane

Sort:  

I used to play this in the arcade's, cost quite a bit for each life but was well worth it at the time. :D

Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

Ah! You're lucky. I played only once or twice in the arcade. I played a lot at PC. At that time, I literally destroyed the mouse by shooting and reloading. Lol!

These classic games are much better than recent coin collecting boring Android games.

!discovery 20

Awww man!!!! That was the first game I played on my first pc man! I do not forget about this game till the day I die! :D

Good old Days! 💜

For sure! :)

Whuuuuut!!! I remember Virtua cop, it was the only game that played on my PC back in the days,.....the sound track and boss fight memories just came rushing down.....it didnt take too long for me to finish it though. Nice share man

Ah! I miss those days badly! Virtua Cop and House of Dead were my favorite shooting games back then. I can't even count how many times I played these games!

̿' ̿'\̵͇̿̿\з=( ͡ °_̯͡° )=ε/̵͇̿̿/'̿'̿ ̿

It was on the list of my favorite games. It was truly a great game of its time.

It was indeed! I still remember from where enemy will appear. LoL!

Same here. .. Old days❤❤

OMG! This game is totally awesome, haha!


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Hi @pitboy, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rehan12!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON