Returning to Atlas

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

Here we go again.

Hubby and I have started playing Atlas again. I like Atlas. I can build bases and ships and we can sail around the world, discovering new islands and places to build even more new bases (or small homes with beds, so I can return later).

Playfulfoodie playing Atlas gaming

What I don't like about Atlas is the regular wipes they do, since they are still in alpha/beta/whatever state you can be in after half-releasing a game years and years ago. It means I lose my bases, castles and animals, which I tamed or stole (I mean 'saved', or 'adopted').

Playfulfoodie playing Atlas gaming

I also don't enjoy the surprise of these wipes. At the very least I want to know what I'm getting into, before I spend a lot of time on this game. I want to know I can enjoy myself for a while, before it's all taken away.

Anyway, the latest wipe was about a week or two ago, so I figure we're relatively safe from another one very soon.

Playfulfoodie playing Atlas gaming

A wipe usually means big changes to the Atlas world and since I've skipped a few, I'm struggling a little to understand this world around me now. They have split up the map and added portals to go from one continent to another. They've also overhauled the shipyards and added a lot of other ships. The talent trees are also different, so I find myself searching for craftables a lot. Luckily, you can easily search for one and find which talent it falls under.

Playfulfoodie playing Atlas gaming

We've split up tasks as usual in this game: Hubby is our sailor and I am our crafter/builder. Hubby is happy to be back on the water and I just ask him to navigate to that one, particular island I know and love (because I know my way around!).

Going through portals was a new experience for us, but I'm glad we found out how to get to other maps. I'm really not sure if we are doing this right, but we started out at a Freeport, bought a ramshackle boat which was very slow and then sailed a loooong way to find a place where we could build a shipyard and craft ourselves a new boat.

Playfulfoodie playing Atlas gaming

To our surprise, it was fairly easy to build a starters boat with some space and a proper handling sail. I'm glad to see they've kept solo players in mind just a little bit.

Playfulfoodie playing Atlas gaming

Hubby has already found the boat he eventually wants to build, but to get to that boat, we need a lot of gold to build a better shipyard. Getting gold is a little hard for us. We are now hauling in treasure chests at sea, which contain 1-13ish gold and we need... 500 or 1000. Yay! It could go a little faster with a diving attachment to our ship (for sunken treasures), but our basic ship can't handle that apparently.

Playfulfoodie playing Atlas gaming

Yesterday, we managed to get to a map which held my favorite island design. My usual spot was already taken, but we found a spot to claim further up. A spot where we had previously build aswell, way waaaay back in the beginning, so it's all good. I know my way around there aswell!

I claimed us two pieces of land, which sadly don't connect, because almost every sea spot has already been claimed. They are near enough though and the small sea spot I did manage to claim already had a basic shipyard which is now ours. It's not the one we need sadly, but hubby wants them all eventually anyway.

Playfulfoodie playing Atlas gaming

I, ofcourse, started building right away at my other claim spot. Gotta start my castle with courtyard sometime! Although the way I've been building it now, the courtyard is a little too small. I might keep it that way and build a proper one somewhere else later. Kinda too lazy to destroy half of what I've build so far...

Playfulfoodie playing Atlas gaming

It's fun to start back on Atlas again. I'm sure we'll get tired of it soon, but for now, it's keeping us entertained and giving us something to do together during hubby's vacation. So I'm happy!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Foodblog | Redbubble shop | Vida shop |

Connect with me on:
| Pinterest | Twitter | Twitch | Steam |

Sort:  

I still remember when Atlas launched. I immediately bought it, but I was playing on my old PC, literally 5 fps gaming experience. Did they even fixed the optimalization?

I doubt it. They don't really tend to fix things, they just break more :-(

 2 years ago  

wow, the game looks very interesting and fun, sailing on a boat with those sensational graphics makes it even more so.

It is a fun game, although it has a couple of bugs/annoyances. A bit like Ark, if you know that game.
Annoyances or not, I still enjoy it from time to time 😄

Thank you for your post. Didn't know this game but gonna check it out for sure!

@sketch17 shareandvote

It's a pretty fun game 😊

I am planning to do something similar (buying and living on a sailboat to get out of the financial discrimination) in real life. It is always good to see boat related contents, even if it is just in a video game.

I give you some !PIZZA and some !LUV.

Happy New Year.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

That sounds like an awesome adventure and I hope you'll make it a reality 😊

Have a great day and a happy new year!

!PIZZA

I'm really looking forward to play a game in that game! Thanks for the information! It's nice to see that there is attention to this kind of games focused on pirates.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@playfulfoodie(1/5) tipped @xplosive (x1)
xplosive tipped playfulfoodie (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @playfulfoodie.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Nice game. I must try play this


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.