10 Games Worth Playing (Even If You Hate Their Genre)

in Hive Gaming3 years ago (edited)

I believe gaming is the future.

(Or at least, a big part of it.)

10_Games_Worth_Playing.png

In humanity’s early days the spoken word was king. Then came writing and the printing press. Then radio. Then TV. Then Youtube, streaming, and TikTok. What’s next? Gaming, VR. The trend isn’t too hard to spot or predict, as far as I’m concerned (and it seems Hivizens understand this, what with gaming being rather popular here.)

Sidenote: I actually created a 3-level playable game-prototype in Unity last year, along with an incomplete landing page for it. My vision for it was a ‘cool’ personal development game, but that’s a post for another time.

Anyway, similar to how I appreciate other artforms, I’d like to share some appreciation for ten games here that I believe are so well done, that they "shouldn’t" be dismissed out of hand just on genre alone. They deserve to be tried and played, and I hope to introduce or inspire you, dear reader, to try one or more of them.

(Plus it’s just good karma. I love it when other people consume, celebrate, and share my work, so hopefully I can do the same for these fine game developers.

1. Hades

001_Hades.png
Image Source

  • Genre: Roguelike - Hades is a fast-paced roguelike with great run variation.
  • Company: Supergiant Games
  • Why Play: Rewards failure, adaptive difficulty, compelling story.

A big problem with roguelikes is their difficulty can be a barrier to entry. Hades solves this with a ‘god mode’ option that makes you slightly stronger every time you die. It basically adapts to your skill-level. On top of that, you get rewarded every time you die, not just with power-ups or coins, but with juicy new story-twists and dialogue that directly addresses your manner of death. Each character from Achilles to Aphrodite is brimming with personality, style, and incredible voice-acting, plus the game has a soundtrack that’d make the music industry wary. Supergiant Games delivers a complete package from the core gameplay out towards every nuance and detail. A masterpiece of a game, even if you hate roguelikes.

“Hades is worth dying for.”

2. The Outer Wilds

002_Outer_Wilds.pngImage Source

  • Genre: Exploration, Action-Adventure - The Outer Wilds is a great exploration game with an immersive mystery to solve.
  • Company: Mobius Digital
  • Why Play: Cosmic beauty, player-driven story, marshmallow-roasting.

Every place and planet in the star-system has its own creative personality and beautiful planetscapes, from crumbling worlds to planets made of water. And unlike most games, the story isn’t told in cutscenes, it’s told by the player’s actions, choices, and explorations. The icing on the cake is the charming, friendly, rustic touches The Outer Wilds offers, such as roasting marshmallows or choosing to nap by a campfire. The game is absolutely stunning, and best played ‘blind’, with zero spoilers, to experience the full majesty and mind-blowing magic of it’s evolving explorative loop. It’s a brilliant game worth playing even if you don’t like the exploration or action-adventure genre.

“I never thought empty space could feel so full.”

3. Path Of Exile

003_Path_Exile.pngImage Source

  • Genre: Action-RPG (Free-To-Play) - Path Of Exile is a sublime experience of powerful ‘mindless’ monster-slaying and strategic build-decisions and character-progression.
  • Company: Grinding Gear Games
  • Why Play: Build-diversity, ‘never-ending’ content, engaged developers.

There are other single/multiplayer ARPGs on the market, but they don't really compare to PoE. Path Of Exile allows you to build any kind of character you want. Want a witch who is masterful at sword-fighting? The skill-tree can get you there. A constantly-teleporting monster summoner? The skill-tree can get you there. Collected all the cool items and rare currencies in the game? Don't worry, there's more. Game feeling stale? All good, every 3 months they add new game-mechanics like gang-politics, dimensional portals, or mining the center of the earth. I've never seen a game make playing the same story over with different characters and builds so fun, while also having a multi-player community that’s friendly and fairly co-operative. You can spend your whole day optimizing builds if you like, or turn off your brain, spam maps, and stomp enemies, or a mix. PoE may be a fun experience, even for those who traditionally avoid ARPGs.

“Why is it so fun to create new characters and builds?”

4. Hollow Knight

004_Hollow_Knight.pngImage Source

  • Genre: Metroidvania / 2D Platformer - Hollow Knight is the gold-standard of metroidvanias, delivering a fun playthrough featuring an immersively beautiful world full of heart.
  • Company: Team Cherry
  • Why Play: Unique atmosphere, well-balanced, immersive world.

Hollow Knight’s story, art-style, combat, balance, progression systems, audio, and environments all synergize beautifully into a truly polished whole. It may be one of the most unique-feeling games you’ll ever encounter. The game look’s simple, but it is nuanced, full of finesse, with fantastic gameplay loops and power-fantasies. Not to mention the world of Hallownest is both vast and fun to explore, while at the same time feeling intimate, cozy, and manageable. Later in the game, you may get stuck at a boss or platforming section and put the game down, like I did, but this title is well worth a play and I cherish the hours I spent with it.

“This game subverted so many of my expectations.”

5. Magic: The Gathering - Arena

005_Magic_Arena.pngImage Source

  • Genre: Digital Collectible Card Game (Free-To-Play) - Magic is the longest-running trading card game for a reason, and now that they made a free-to-play digital version, it’s worth checking out.
  • Company: Wizards Of The Coast
  • Why Play: Fun, deck-building, collectability.

Magic does card games right. There’s plenty of issues with Arena, but fun isn’t one of them. It’s so fun to crack open your free packs and see how your current deck grows stronger, or what cards may inspire you to create a different deck with a different playstyle. It’s so fun to playtest your decks and see how consistently they bring results, or whether they need tweaks. It’s so fun to strategize a faster start, or a more ‘turtle’ style of play. It’s so fun to see all the new cards available with each new set. Card games have been around for centuries, and are reliably fun, MTG:Arena takes it to another level, and I’ve seen many non-gamers shout with glee when their deck wins. Worth a play even if you’re anti-CCG, I’d say.

“Magic’s just a good game, period.”

6. Alto's Odyssey

006_Altos_Odyssey.pngImage Source

  • Genre: (Mobile) Endless Runner - Alto’s is an endless runner where you slide down slopes and summersault over bridges, and one of the most popular mobile games made to date.
  • Company: Team Alto
  • Why Play: One-button, bite-sized game-lengths, easy to learn, challenging to master.

Chain together combos, and complete 180 goals — all with intuitive controls and calming music. It has hypnotic gameplay and soothing vibes. Many players say the games relieve their anxiety, and overall Alto is a supremely well-made game. Its simplicity allows the developers to focus a lot on polish and ease-of-play, and it shows. I’m not big on mobile games or endless runners, but somehow Alto’s Odyssey pulled me right into a truly fun experience.

“How can tapping or swiping my finger result in combos this epic?”

7. Disco Elysium: Final Cut

007_Disco_Elysium.pngImage Source

  • Genre: (C)RPG - Disco Elysium is a gripping, immersive, unique take on character-focused role-playing games.
  • Company: ZA/UM
  • Why Play: Masterful branching narrative, unique style & gameplay, more content than 10 books.

Become a hot mess in this ridiculous adventure where you don’t play to win, but to become someone else. (Paraphrased from Laura Dale @ Polygon.com). The game has no real ‘combat’, instead you’re ‘battling’ with your own mind’s many different voices and personalities. Do you let your authority speak up in this conversation? Or do you give in to your ‘drama’ voice? Or do you let ‘logic’ battle it out with ‘presence’ instead? Each dialogue you choose affects the story, characters, and the entire game in a variety of ways, revealing more of who you are and the semi-noir mystery occurring in Revachol. I used to say if you don’t like reading, skip this game, but they spent 14 months recording voice-lines for the entire game, so it’s now become a worthwhile play, even for those who avoid CRPGs, in my humble opinion.

“So, uh, I accidentally turned my character into a sociopathic liberal wearing gauntlets and a silk robe.”

8. Stardew Valley

008_Stardew_Valley.pngImage Source

  • Genre: Sim-RPG - Created by one person, this is a simulation RPG where you've inherited your grandpa’s beat-up old farm in Stardew Valley. You’ll go from used tools and a few coins to defending the town from the Joja empire, but the real game lies in the townsfolk.
  • Company: Concerned Ape
  • Why Play: Fun flirting, customization, touching character-interaction.

It’s beginner-friendly but with a lot of depth and such a happy vibe. I usually hate simulation games, and ‘campy’ small-town games, and farm games. But Stardew grabbed me immediately with it’s ‘leave corporate culture behind’ and experience the bliss of interacting with friendly people. (Even though I was just interacting with pixels symbolizing friendly people.) Such a wholesome game. I stopped playing it because it’s such a compelling playthrough, and I wanted to move onto other projects and games, which I wouldn’t have done if I let Stardew carry me away. There isn't really a main objective to fulfill, you just get the farm and you're presented with options, and a lot of the fun comes from engaging the townsfolk. There’s a recluse struggling with being ignored by family. There’s a once-popular girl trying to figure out her place now high-school’s over. There’s even an alcoholic dealing with recent unemployment. These subtle touches of darkness and acknowledgment of the bad days we all have in life, as displayed by the townsfolk really help bring out the rest of the game’s inherent sweetness. A truly refreshing game experience even if, like me, you’re anti- farm, camp, and sim.

“This may be the most calming, relaxing game I’ve ever played in my life.”

9. League Of Legends

009_League_Of_Legends.pngImage Source

  • Genre: MOBA - League Of Legends is a team-based, top-down, cross between basketball and street-fighter, with over 140 champions to make epic plays with.
  • Company: Riot Games
  • Why Play: High highs, low lows, potential for mastery, nuance, and polish.

One could argue that I shouldn't include this on my list. But League Of Legends is the biggest esport in the world. It provides millions of people, millions of hours of fun. The game nails the balance of fun, fulfilling, engaging, competitive gameplay and challenging, frustrating, ‘just be a bit better’ desire for improvement, growth, and mastery. In fact, famous streamer Ninja recently picked it up and hired a League coach, if you like social proof. Ultimately, whether you ‘screw around’ in the ARAM mode, or want to climb the ladder and earn your badge in ranked, League is fun... or, it is supposed to be. The other shoe here is that it has one of the most toxic communities in the world. Is it worth diving into? That’s your call, and it’s the least confident choice I’ve made on the list. And even though I stopped playing over a year ago, it’s still probably my favorite game ever, and the one I’ve played the most. If you’ve tried other MOBAs (like DOTA or HoTS) and didn’t click with them, League may change your mind, because it’s the ‘best’ (or at least most popular) that the genre has to offer, for better or worse.

“Fun? Off the charts. Frustration? Off the charts. WTF is this game?”

10. Titanfall 2

010_Titanfall_2.pngImage Source

  • Genre: FPS - Titanfall 2 is a game with some of the best freedom of movement in any first-person shooter.
  • Company: Respawn Entertainment
  • Why Play: Top-tier movement & mobility, creative level-design, great multiplayer.

The movement and combat feel epic. Dance through the air, chain double jumps, slides, and wall runs to pull off impossible flanks and outplay your enemy’s aim. Tests your reflexes with low time-to-kill, rewarding those who focus and practice their moves. The weapons have personality, the campaign-mode’s story will give you all the feels. Oh… and you can jump into a ‘titan’, for some exosuit on exosuit combat too. Titanfall is the first FPS I’ve enjoyed since back in my Quake & Counterstrike days, for a good reason. It’s fast-paced yet has very satisfying controls and rarely feeling overwhelming.

“In a sea of Call Of Duty clones, Titanfall 2 is a breath of fresh air.”

Honorable Mentions: Subnautica, Slay The Spire, Soma, OneShot, Paradise Killer, Novadrift, Redout, Valorant.


(Whew, that took longer than I expected. :D)

And that wraps up my list of games I believe are worth playing, regardless of your feelings about their genre. I believe there’s a lot to learn from each one about how to create a masterpiece of a game, as well as lots of fun to be had from each.

Also, I’m curious, have you played any of these? If so, did you like them? If not, why not? I realize not every game is meant for every person, and we all have our own reasons for choosing one over another, so I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

I’ll tag a few gaming-inclined people here, I’d love any thoughts on this: @burnoutawesome , @mattclarke , @paulo.sar , @pusen , @mimismartypants , @enjar , @acidyo , @eddiespino , @cynshineonline , and @kaelci . (If you know any other gamers on Hive who may enjoy this, please feel free to tag 'em.)

Sort:  

I have 2,200+ hours in PoE.

I admit I have a problem and I’m on the road to recovery till PoE2.

LOL, steam tells me I have 1,226 hours in it, and I'm looking forward to PoE2.

To tide you over during 'recovery' (lol), have you ever considered any of the other titles I mentioned? :)

Yes! 2 out 10 that I haven't played (Stardew Valley & Titanfall 2). The rest are awesome games that I LOVE.

I couldn't say which is better or a favorite of mine but they're all super fun to play. I PoE, League and Outer Wilds stand out the most on the list. But I went back and looked at the list and said well what about Magic...I'm so good at it that I even beat the best player I know the last time I played 😉😝 and what about Alto's (my fave to play on the train for sure) omg! I can't decide.

But great choices @ryzeonline! I'll have to give the 2 I haven't tried a go sometime and maybe some of Your honorable mentions too. Thanks for sharing such great games with everyone.

Ayy, well hopefully you try one or both (I think you'd love Stardew tbh.)

And I'm glad you've explored a whopping 8 of the games on this list, you've good taste ;) And the reason you may not be able to decide could be because they're all outstanding games, in different genres, that suit different moods. (I'm surprised you didn't mention Disco Elysium, you played it so much it overheated the laptop, if I recall.)

Thanks for a fun comment and discussion! 🙏

See? I couldn't decide LOL I remember that I loved that game and it overheated the laptop omg 😂

They're all great choices. I love them all.

Ok now I want to try Stardew. I wonder if my laptop can handle it?

Thanks for the fun post! 😘❤️

LOL, all good, I figured. And they really are amazing games.

Stardew is the chillest, most 'unflashy' game on the list, it can be played on nearly any computer you can think of. But you may want to wrap up Outer Wilds first... 🙏

Oh yes I must know the mysteries that I haven't figured out yet in Outer Wilds! That game is amazing. 🙏❤️

😁😁😁

 3 years ago  

I'll be honest - I have only played 3 of those listed! Haha.

League of Legends in particular I'm vehemently against and will refuse to play until my dying breath. 🤣 I had a friend who was utterly obsessed with the game... to an unhealthy and unhygienic degree, and witnessing him turned me off the entire MOBA genre. After years and years of refusing to touch it, some other friends encouraged me to try DOTA2 and I did, very grudgingly... and this time I witnessed sheer obsession and worse: utter rage. In my personal opinion, the MOBA genre is god-awful and promotes several stereotypes of the gamer.

I've played the hell out of Stardew Valley, Outer Wilds, and Path of Exile though! Looking forward to Path of Exile 2! 😁

If you decide to start a new playthrough of Stardew Valley, I'd recommend the Stardew Valley Expanded mod on the Nexus. It adds new characters, new locations, new events, and adds 1000s more things to the game. And it does it in a very lore friendly way that feels like it belongs. 😊

(grin) That was kind of the point. The post was aimed to open people up to some fun new experiences they may not have gotten to.

I've played most MOBAs and I totally understand the perspective. In fact, I stopped playing League partly for reasons you mentioned. Still, good for you for trying DOTA and giving it a shot. And 9 other games on the list, right?

I knew you played PoE, and I'm not surprised you enjoyed OW, & SV as well.

I'm thrilled to hear about this mod, I had no idea it was out there, sounds like someone put a lot of love into creating it. @cynshineonline may play Stardew so I'll see about modding it for her.

Thanks for the thoughtful comment, and I'd love to know if you end up exploring any of the candidates I mentioned. Wishing you a great day! 🙏

❤️❤️❤️

Congratulations @ryzeonline! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.
You got more than 700 replies.
Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I always love too look at lists like these. Alto's Odyssey and Path of Exile caught my attention. Thanks for the recommendations!

I'm glad you appreciated the list. Alto's and Path Of Exile are both excellent and well worth a try, I hope you enjoy them! 🙏

What? No Kerbal Space Program?! You crazy.

I haven't tried anything on this list. Haven't been gaming much these past few years though.

I do believe if you play these games or even just a few that might be corollaries or even complete contrasts to Kerbal, that you will actually have a greater appreciation for Kerbal and the gaming space it occupies esp. relative to defining titles as listed by OP very much so by the space they take up which allows Kerbal to live in its beautiful niche.

I think I have weird taste. KSP, Banished, Prison Architect, Dawn of Man to name a few I've enjoyed in recent times. Stranded Deep was really interesting but I bought early access, expecting more of a survival simulator with a hint of being Tom Hanks in Castaway and Les Stroud in Survivor Man, but it turned into some weird thing with giant bosses to battle and a gyrocopter that didn't make sense. NHL Hockey if I'm playing multiplayer. Been playing that one since the 90's, also played hockey in life. Nowadays online we can play one position on the ice alongside other human players and work together just as you would in real life, and that was a childhood dream of mine to be able to do that. I'd really like to try the new Flight Simulator. And when it comes to the virtual reality experience, I'd go with simulator style car racing. You can buy a car seat with the wheel, shifter, pedals all mounted on a moving apparatus that allows you feel g-forces, bumps, slides, impacts. Things like that.

So I get you your a Simcity (sim) gamer from what I can garner and if you're into Flight simulator it has one of the deepest communities and I would suggest you google "excel flight simulator" and prepare to have your mind blown... then also realize crypto can do that even more better ;).

Hey man, there's only so much room on my list. I considered listing like 100 games in honorable mentions.

That said, I honestly haven't played Kerbal, despite hearing tons of great things about it. (On the to do list it goes :D)

It's not an easy game. Failing is part of the fun. The community jokes about spending an hour playing, only to realize you forgot to put solar panels on the craft and your mission is doomed.

I checked it out on YouTube, I saw vehicles, experiments, stations, etc. It looked both simple and complex at the same time, lol.

KSP community would benefit tremendously if they came to Hive. I mean, there's even a loophole that allows people to monetize game mods they create, simply by monetizing the blog posts and updates, while asking consumers willing to support these projects to stake tokens and upvote rather than donating. Then if that mod developer vanishes, oh well, those supporting it still have their money and can support something else. Oops. There I go again pulling multi million dollar business ideas out of my butt and just leaving them on the ground.

Well said. I imagine many indie games could benefit well by coming to Hive. Monetizing game mods/game posts is a totally reasonable biz model for 'em. As is consumers staking/upvoting. :)

I value ideas highly, this one included. It's interesting though, how many billion-dollar ideas often remain sitting in someone's head, (or a random comment thread,) for years, until someone decides to bring it to life. :)

🙏

Didn't even read the reasoning just looked at the chosen titles and was like 100% agree with the list as far as a crash course in gaming as a thesis in possibility as a design space..... so Didn't read wasn't too Long; Skimmed and I loved it.

lol, all good, if you're familiar with these games and agree with them, I'm thrilled. Thanks for the feedback! 🙏

I played some Path of Exile earlier today, and likely will again when I finish work in a few hours. I only play hardcore, so there are whole Acts I haven't seen (after 4+ years), and won't see until I deserve to.
I was running Hardcore races here for a while, when the Hive prizes were worth chasing. We get a decent bump I'll fire them up again. Good times.

(grin) I haven't even updated my install since last league, but I pick up PoE every now and then (still never tried hardcore, but I have experimented with 'hardcore playable' builds, such as a Unkillable Detonate Dead Necro and I've studied a lot of the mechanics of hardcore delves, such as these

I've never raced, but I've watched speedrunners and learned a lot from their tricks and shortcuts, really cool to actually (virtually) meet one! Do you stream?

No, in fact a lot of people die inside (@linnyplant I'm looking at you, kiddo) when I mention I play on xbox, over our home wi fi connection, which suffers terribly when the microwave is in use.
I've lost a few in Act 6 due to half a second's lag in the wrong tight spot.

omg dude... I agree with @linnyplant ! I tried playing PoE on bad internet once... never again. I may be spoiled, but gimme my ~25ms ping or nothing :P

Props to you for even attempting it :)

I am a digital hoarder. I come from a family that collected nick knacks and "junk". I do hoard some stuff. I have so many physical books. Board games. Some miniatures and statues. Magic Cards. Role Playing Game books, etc. Oh and I end up with a lot of tech and computer parts which my wife prods me into pruning every so often.

Yet I mostly avoided my families hoarding of other stuff.

Until you look at my digital world. There I have become a massive hoarder.

My GOG Galaxy Client which is linked to my GOG, Steam, UPlay, Origin, Epic, etc. accounts tells me I own 1521 games a I write this. I actually own more than that as I have some of my synchronizations with it turned off at the moment.

Will I ever play them all? Not enough time in a lifetime. Will I ever play 50% of them? Not likely. Yet I keep buying more. :) I am always a sucker for a good deal.

I also hoard game development tools and assets.

As such I own a lot of these games and have played some of them. Most recently I took a dip into Disco Elysium and need to revisit it. It has some truly inspired and "different" writing that had me chuckling fairly often.

I understand the impulse, I've collected (and lost) countless pieces of digital media. Thousands of movies, tens of thousands of songs, hundreds of thousands of texts. A smattering of Unity Assets and game-dev stuff. Overall, literally many terabytes of info.

With the proliferation of streaming I've relaxed my emphasis on collecting digital items, but I totally understand the impulse.

Anyway, I'm glad you own some of these, and Disco Elysium (especially final cut with all the voice actors) is outstanding. It's deep, moving, and yes... humorous. :) Thanks for sharing, and wishing you a great day!

If you have any questions about any unity assets feel free to ask. There is a pretty good chance I own them. LOL.

I can imagine, and I will do when I pick up game-design again. I truly appreciate the offer! 🙏

Thanks for the tag dude!! This is a very cool list. Depiste the campy look of stardew valley it's something that I would really like to play. I'm just afraid it's going to suck up too much time!!

My pleasure, glad you're feeling it!

Haha, yes, Stardew is so compelling that it actually got me to look past things I'd normally balk at. I have a feeling you'll get a lot of value and enjoyment from it if you do pick it up, and hopefully life opens up a nice window of time for you to feel comfortable giving it a try.

Thanks for the comment! And you may enjoy my new gaming post today - From Pacman To Hades: I Never Finish Games , linking it just in case it tickles your fancy. Either way, thanks again! 🙏

I'll give it chance one say. Since I started gaming for crypto I feel like these have to take a priority. Feels slightly more constructive and I don't lose interest as quickly. Especially since their are so many to choose from.

(grin) All good, what you say makes sense. Well, wishing you great gaming, whatever you play! 🙏

What a great post! My bf recommended me PoE too.
Imma save this post so I can come back and pick a game the next time I don't know what to try.

Yay! Glad you enjoyed it. And your bf seems to have good taste if he likes PoE. :)

There's some truly incredible games in the list, so it'd be wonderful if you came back to it. 🙏

I’ve played Hades and I love it. But I already told you that.

Path of Exile was my absolute favorite game for a long time. I probably have around 400 hours or playing time in that one. I mostly played for about a month when the new seasons started then took a break. I eventually grew tired of running the campaign over and over again. I took out both the Elder and Shaper as well as Uber Shaper. Some season bosses as well. Such a deed game that.

Atardece Valley is such a great game with a lot of charm. I have it in my Nintendo Switch and I play it every now and then. I have a farm that’s running on like it’s 8th year now. It’s just so relaxing.

Hollow Knight and Disco Elysium are definitely on my list of games to play, but as you know I take my time with games. There’s often new games coming out or other games being prioritizes as well so that pushes them further back in the queue. One day I’ll get to them.

Great list!

(grin) yes, we both love it, and understandably so.

That's a good chunk of time in PoE, and funnily enough, for all my speed-consuming, you got further than I did in PoE, in less hours. Haha, I love it.

My farm barely didn't get out of it's first year. LOL. 🤣

I totally understand about having a backlog of games, that's part of what motivates my approach to gaming in general... my desire to 'play many.' I imagine you'll get to them when the time's right.

I love that you've played so many of them, and that others are 'on your list.' #GoGamers :) 🙏

Lei éste post solo por curiosidad, no juego, no he jugado jamás ningún juego, mucho menos estos tan avanzados (jejeje risas). Debo admitir jamas me han atraído, de ningún tipo, quizás uno que otro de mesa pero video juego ninguno… y si este es el futuro estaré perdida en el infinito...

Igual aproveche la lectura para estar al menos al día con los nombres, por si me llegasen a pedir manualidades relacionadas con alguno de ellos (jejeje risas).

Saludos.


I read this post just out of curiosity, I don't play, I have never played any game, much less these advanced ones (hehehehe laughs). I must admit I have never been attracted to any kind of game, maybe one or another board game but no video game... and if this is the future I'll be lost in the infinite...

I took advantage of the reading to be at least up to date with the names, in case I get to ask for handicrafts related to any of them (hehehehe laughs).

Greetings.

I love that you read this out of curiosity! Curiosity is something that leads us all to great things, and has done so since we were children.

I understand, video games aren't for everyone. I used to play checkers, chess, monopoly, etc. as well.

It's good to be up to date with the names, and very smart to prepare for handicrafts about them.

And OMG, your crafts are beautiful, you even made one for Minecraft, and I love the silhouette with a pink dress turning into the cake icing. I bet @cynshineonline would love them. I'm glad you mentioned handicrafts, thank you.

P.S. The game Alto's Odyssey takes only one finger to play and runs on our mobile phone. It's the simplest one on the list, and incredibly beautiful, if you ever felt like trying. 😁


¡Me encanta que leas esto por curiosidad! La curiosidad es algo que nos lleva a todos a grandes cosas, y lo ha hecho desde que éramos niños.

Lo entiendo, los videojuegos no son para todos. Yo también jugaba a las damas, al ajedrez, al monopoly, etc.

Es bueno estar al día con los nombres, y muy inteligente preparar manualidades sobre ellos.

Y OMG, tus manualidades son preciosas, incluso has hecho una para Minecraft, y me encanta la silueta con un vestido rosa convirtiéndose en el glaseado de la tarta. Seguro que a @cynshineonline le encantarían. Me alegro de que menciones las manualidades, gracias.

P.D. El juego Alto's Odyssey se juega con un solo dedo y funciona en nuestro móvil. Es el más sencillo de la lista, e increíblemente bonito, si alguna vez te apetece probarlo 😁

Traducción realizada con la versión gratuita del traductor www.DeepL.com/Translator

I apologize for the delayed response, I only saw the mention this weekend, some of these games I already knew and already played, like POE, or HK, and one of them I met this week (before reading your text), which is the Disc Elysium, but I didn't know Hades and Alto's Odyssey.

I like to play games, and whenever I can, when I manage to have the necessary equipment, be it a computer or a cell phone, I try to play the best. And I hope to continue being able to play more and more.

I've already put all of them or reinforced, or better yet almost all, on the list to play this year, the only one that I won't play is LoL, because I have a kind of curse involving this game, every time I install it and try to play, my pc or notebook stops working (seriously, it happened about 3 times).

And I would like to say that I agree with you, some evolutions are very easy to predict and we are seeing an evolution, like VR, an evolution that I believe will be greater than the previous ones I saw, such as that of mobile games or 3D consoles, and I am looking forward to participating and enjoy as you can.

Good post and grateful for the mention!!

Note: And I didn't forget the translation, I even started, but these days I'm starting a course and a job, and I ended up running out of time.

All good @paulo.sar , everything in it's right time :)

I'm glad you're familiar with many of the games, and aim for the best. To me they're all worth a play, though I understand your experience regarding LoL, uncommon though it may be.

Yes, VR is another good evolution to note.

Yep, the translation could help a lot of people, but it, like all other things, shall happen in it's own time. Do what feels best to you, and thanks for the update! I understand what it's like to be busy, I've been working on my new post "Why No One Reads What You Write." :)

"Why No One Reads What You Write." nice hahaha, I will read this post, for sure, and I hope people do that to!!

Thank you! And I'm sure your network will read it if you share it :) 🙏