Elden Ring - Grave Warden Duelist - Dungeon Boss (2nd Attempt)

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


This is a clip from my gameplay footage of 2022's popular video game "Elden Ring" on Playstation 4.

If you're unfamiliar with "Elden Ring", here's some quick info:

[Gameplay] In Elden Ring, players control a customizable player character on a journey to repair the Elden Ring and become the new Elden Lord. The game is presented through a third-person perspective, with players freely roaming its interactive open world. Gameplay elements include combat using several types of weapons and magic spells, horseback riding, and crafting. (Wikipedia)

[Story] Elden Ring takes place in the Lands Between, a fictional landmass ruled over by several demigods. It was previously ruled over by the immortal Queen Marika, who acted as keeper of the Elden Ring, a powerful force that manifested as the physical concept of order. When Marika eventually shattered the Elden Ring and disappeared, her demigod children began warring over pieces of the Ring in an event called the Shattering. Each demigod possesses a shard of the Ring called a Great Rune, which corrupts them with power. In the game, the player character is a Tarnished, one of a group of exiles from the Lands Between who are summoned back after the Shattering. As one of the Tarnished, the player must traverse the realm to repair the Elden Ring and become the Elden Lord. (Wikipedia)

  • Grave Warden Duelist is a dungeon boss in Limgrave. He's from one of the dungeons with the angry little gargoyle creatures that hide on the walls and ceilings.

  • This Limgrave dungeon boss is a great example of an early boss who I first encountered on probably day 1 or 2 of staring Elden Ring, that just felt invincible since I hadn't adjusted to the movemt mechanics of the game.

  • In "Elden Ring," you do a lot of dodging ... wait let me rephase that ... in "Elden Ring" you're ALWAYS dodging. In fact, you're either dodging or you're dying. Movement is key to surviving in this game.

  • So when I first encountered Grave Warden Duelist, he'd throw off that cloak and just batter the crap out of me.

  • Thankfully I've started making advancements into Stormveil Castle, the red hellscape of Caelid, and even beaten two bosses in the underground region of Sofiara River so I felt prepared to fight this guy again.

  • If there's one thing that Elden Ring has almost too much of, it has to be style. I couldn't get over what a badass rocker move it was for Grave Warden Duelist to toss off his cloak and rush me like some berserk gladiator.

  • Like a lot of enemies in this game, he was a bit weak to magic so I showed him with some Flames of Frenzy and took out a good chunk of life. Then let him get a little too close for comfort and fired off two more before letting my madness bar rest (when it fills up I lose health, magic, and I think stamina too).

  • That last magic attack is so potent it breaks his stance and leaves him open for a critical strike.

  • But if there's one thing I learned it's that strong enemies recover pretty quickly so I summon a Black Flames fire ball to give him some burn damage.

  • It takes out a lot of his health and I get cocky and resort to hiding behind a column and try to charge up a Lightning Spear but Warden Duelist surprises me by doing a jump attack that nearly kills me.

  • I dodge away and heal just in time to receive another near-lethal attack but luckily survive.

  • After dodging and healing some more, I realize I haven't actually hit him with my sword yet but don't push my luck and hit him with a charged up Lightning Spear instead, killing him. Better safe than sorry.

  • Sometimes even though I win a fight, I imagine all the possible ways I could've completed it with a bit more style -- like with Impaling Thrust or a shield counterattack or with a bow or crossbow. Surviving and winning is most important but I can't help but wish I could get another rematch despite me already having won.

  • Hope you enjoyed this video post!

  • Feel free to leave any comments below.

See you all again on the next post of my Elden Ring experience ...


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

That battle was exciting. It's the battle between who will die first - you or the enemy 😅
Ugh I miss Elden Ring. I've been playing this before, like everyday, but now I stop playing. I miss the dungeons and the thrill of what you can discover there. 😅

 2 years ago  

Thank! Yeah it's a tiny arena with boss who can swing around a hammer on a chain but luckily I had some magic spells on my side. I'm six months late to this game but I can now see why people loved playing it so much. It's been a while since I enjoyed a game this much -- maybe not since Skyrim or Dragon Age Inquisition. Thanks for checking out my post!

I haven't played the games you mentioned but yeah, enjoy Elden Ring!
The magic spells you're using, I was also using those so they're familiar 😅

 2 years ago  

Thanks! Yeah magic's nice since you don't have to get too close-up lol

Agree! It's made for players like me who will always panic when the enemy comes close 🤣

Yet another close battle. Do you have your Estus flask?

 2 years ago  

Thanks, I definitely almost lost at the end there. I'm not sure if I have the Estus Flask yet. I have the Crimson for Vigor and Cerulean for FP. I've just recently done a deep-dive in my inventory items and found that I have a Blue Feather Brach Sword equipped in Talisman pouch which I got from killing a Deathbird at the 5-troll rune-farming spot in
Limgrave. It says it raises defense when health is low.

Pretty handy. Is all of Limgrave explored?

 2 years ago  

I think I'm pretty close to completion on Limgrave. Might have to recheck everything and mark it on the map with a symbol I designate to mean "finished." Once that's done, I'm off to Liurnia or Caelid -- not sure which yet to choose.

Once that's done, I'm off to Liurnia or Caelid -- not sure which yet to choose.

I'll let you decide XD.

Man I miss Elden Ring. I played it for 180 hours and collected all the achievements when it came out. I wish I could play it for the first time again.

image.png

 2 years ago  

Hundred-percenting a game this difficult is very impressive. I'll definitely miss playing the game too when I finish. Right now I have over 50 hours in the game and it just feels like the experience gets better and better the further into it I get. Thanks for stopping by and checking out my post! Very much appreciated!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Thank you @myegoandmyself, @meritocracy, @betterdev, @usainvote, and @ukulima for the generous upvotes! Very much appreciated!