You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More details unveiled about Need For Speed Unbound

in Hive Gaming2 years ago

The day and nighttime racing looks gorgeous, plus the tag animations do add a lot of intensity to it. I'm wondering if more mainstream artists will join video-game releases. Sounds like a good way to ensure that a lot of people, or a new demographic, listens to new tracks. I like the idea of a "heat" level so that even though you're winning a lot it creates a situation where the racing gets tougher. Camera movements looks pretty smooth, makes crashing look less jarring and fun.

Sort:  

It really does look spectacular and I want to see what it looks like in action myself asap. It would be a good idea for some artists to be present in video games, as long as their vibe matched. I miss the old Def Jam fighting games, now those introduced me to so many rappers I hadn't heard of before.

 2 years ago  

Def Jam: Fight for New York was insane. That really takes me back. At the time, I had no idea about a lot of rappers in it either. What an epic game, where Sean Paul and Fat Joe could battle Ice-T and Flava Flav. I think Ludacris and Busta Rhymes were in it too. I think Snoop Dog might've had kung-fu moves in that game. Just such an incredible concept, like those late-night claymation skits of celebrity-wrestling death matches. Think I was in middle-school when that came out. A friend brought their Gamecube and a monitor to anime club, and we had an absolute blast for a few weeks until the teachers found out. I wonder if there's any similar games like that out now. Recently I've tried Multiversus which is kind of like Smash Bros with Warner Brothers characters but I think a larger arena-fighter like Naruto Ninja Storm or something like colossal like Fortnite is what would really grab people's attentions. Still can't believe there's a game where Goku, Darth Vader, and Peter Griffin can fight each other lol. What a time to be alive haha

Vendetta and Fight For NY were two of my favorite games growing up. Def Jam Icon was fun too and I loved how the arenas vibrated to the beat, but not quite as good as the older ones still. I remember that Celebrity Death Match game too, it was just like the tv show. No fighting game really topped how much fun I had with Def Jam though. There isn't anything exactly like it out there today, WWE games are the only thing similar and I don't enjoy them.

 2 years ago  

I'm surprised there was never a version of that game with rockstars fighting in an arena or gladiator stadium like that. My favorite fighting games were probably Soul Calibur, Tenkaichi, and Ninja Storm but I haven't played them as religiously as I used to. I know CyberConnect came out with a Demon Slayer version of Ninjastorm but I never got around to it. I can't even remember the last time I played a WWE game -- maybe on Nintendo 64? The closest I've gotten was one of the UFC games before the 2020 quarantine. I keep telling myself I'm going to try Overwatch or Fortnite because of the FOMO but I still haven't play them yet.

A musical talent fighting game would be very welcomed right about now. I haven't been majorly into a fighting game in many years. I've still played most of them though. Fortnite is actually really good now that they have Zero Build modes. Overwatch 2 is amazing after you get adjusted to the complexities of each character.