Lost Relics - Blockchain Game Review

in Hive Gaming3 years ago

I have (had) been playing Lost Relics for just over a week until a bad patch took it offline. The game has been down for several days and as there is only one developer it may be a few more before it’s back.

For a while, I have been looking for a 'proper' game that is blockchain-driven. All I see are mostly card games and many of them.

Screenshot (31).png

Lost Relics looks like Diablo and plays like it but don’t be fooled, it’s not to be played in Gung Ho style like the popular blizzard game.

If you do then you will die and die often, just ask @acidyo who tried a while ago. I watched his video clips trying to not laugh (sorry mate!), as he died time and time again.

Imagine adding some strategy to Diablo, creeping through dungeons and having that fear and apprehension always at the back of your mind.

Screenshot (28).png

...'if you need gold, sell your junk in the Royal Emporium, there's always someone who will buy it'...

You see dying has repercussions in Lost Relics, and that is you lose all your stuff! This is not as bad as it sounds, and what you actually lose is the items taken into the dungeon (your weapon, jewelry, and consumables), and anything looted so far on your current crawl.

Screenshot (21).png

That is unless those items are blockchain items. Those are not lost whether you die or not. Gaining blockchain items at the moment is not easy as this game runs on Etherium (actually Enjin), and so you can buy a nice ‘green’ sword for 3-4 ENJ and then pay $60 in miners fees.

Screenshot (7).png

It’s not going to happen, and after April 7th when the JumpNet kicks in, all that shit is going to go away (we hope).

Screenshot (6).png

What attracts me is you can get drops that are blockchain items that have value. I was lucky and looted an Epic ring in Ash Woods; the last one that sold went for 105 ENJ.

Screenshot (4).png

The game is free to play and you can beat the first dungeon going in naked (crap sword, crap bow, and no food) if you are careful.

You can't lose these 'bad items' but it might irreversibly dent your ego dying in the 'Forgotten Chambers'. I came close on my second naked run.

Screenshot (24).png

...'many utility items can be crafted from the drops you will gain the the early dungeons'...

I would recommend picking up a green sword and a feeble necklace (which really helps) from the store which will prepare you for the second dungeon, 'The Arcane Pits'.

I almost rage quitted twice on Arcane Pits after losing a green sword and that green necklace twice. The combined cost of these items is 1000 gold and as a beginner gold is hard to come by.

Screenshot (29).png

You can pick it up by farming 'Forgotten Chambers' and selling any drops you might get in there at the Emporium (player-based auction house).

Every day you are given a bonus event provided you finish a dungeon. Make sure you do this daily as these can contribute greatly to your wealth (and sanity) if the Arcane Pits kicks your arse.

Screenshot (9).png

...'The Arcane Pits is very dark adjust the gamma settings or risk spiders jumping you'...

I am now comfortable doing repeated Arcane Pits runs and the strategy is not to panic, go in stealthily, and be extra careful of those fire dudes named 'Elites' who spit the stuff at you from afar.

Screenshot (33).png

Open the door and the mobs will rush you. Wait for them round the corner and slash before they get to you, which will give you an instant death opportunity.

Screenshot (13).png

...'sometimes you have to work to get to a chest. Slashing the rock with your sword for 5 minutes does the trick. If you can bribe someone to do it for you, then make yourself a cuppa while waiting'...

Learn the monsters, the sounds they make, and which require a right-click to one-shot kill (some have more HP's than others).

Try not to get hit, you have 3000 hit points, and once depleted you are going to die (and lose your gear again!).

Screenshot (10).png

Some monsters move quickly and dual wield. One of these is in the Arcane Pits, duals for 65 and must die quick, or you will die!

Screenshot (11).png

Avoid fire, it’s a serious threat to your well-being and will add a detrimental DOT that ticks away your health.

Screenshot (19).png

Time the fire spouts and watch for mobs attacking you while travelling through them (those bastards are all 100% fire-resistant while you appear as flammable as someone permanently doused in petrol).

Screenshot (40).png

The fire grates have a bad habit of erupting just as you step on them. Watch the patterns and avoid getting burnt.

As a beginner, you are going to need bread to survive. This replenishes your health by 100 over time. Bread can be crafted free of charge provided you have jugs (1 gold each).

Screenshot (41).png

...'if you see the dungeon exit, then get out... after looting the chest of course'...

Take around 8 Bread with you giving yourself another 800 hit points.

There is a lot more I could say about Lost Relics which is more focused but I will probably cover those in later sub-articles.

What keeps me coming back is the fear of dying (a little like Everquest or Eve Online), and the potential to gain blockchain drops that have actual value.

Screenshot (37).png

...'there are rocks to be mined, don't forget to take a PickAxe, or you will regret it'...

It does bother me that a sole developer is working on the game. I hope he doesn’t get bored as I have seen this before.

This is the first real action game I have played that contains tangible NFT’s. One day all gaming will be blockchain-driven. I can’t wait.

-= ALL Images are my own screenshots captured while playing Lost Relics =-

RedLine.png

  • Earn FREE EOS from Coinbase by taking partaking in a simple quiz here
  • Earn currency while you play brewing virtual beer with CryptoBrewMaster
  • Earn currency while you play and become a global Rock Star with Rising Star


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, rehive, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

Multiverse is a great idea. I just wonder how many developers will all agree on using items in future games instead of creating new ones they own. Maybe I need to do more research. Thanks for the article.

Multiverse is a great idea.

It's innovative, but whether it will catch on and be used remains to be seen.

It was a bit laggy for me, but that might just be my laptop :p

It didn't work (and kept crashing) until I updated my graphics drivers, try it... it may help.

It did work and I did play for a while, I just had this weird alignment going through the screen, dno what it was :D

Hey, that actually looks good but you say it's a blockchain game? I thought the two were mutually exclusive :0D

Technicalities! It's a very grindy game but keeps me going back. The Arcane Pits are not to be taken lightly and will kill you if not given respect! Wish I could say, try it.. but it's been down for 2-3 days now. I am getting withdrawal symptoms. !WINE.


Congratulations, @slobberchops You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINE With @meesterboom.
You Earned 0.200 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/4 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24809.918 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.273 HIVE

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

It's a good sign when it draws you back again and again. You agree right though, it's a tad concerning that there is one developer

Looks really good! Hardcore runs where items have real crypto value sounds... intense... makes me imagine a pokemon nuzlocke in a tokenized style game X_X

I looted a ring valued at 105ENJ, and knew I had to get out alive or lose it. That's a > $200 item. Can you imagine how I was feeling? Intense is an understatement! !WINE.


Congratulations, @slobberchops You Successfully Shared 0.300 WINE With @quixoticflux.
You Earned 0.300 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 3/4 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24809.918 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.273 HIVE

The premise of the game is great but it was to slow and boring for me. I'm following the development though. It has great potential!

It is true, the game is very grindy. I think there's a lot more to come. That dev needs some help.

I have big hopes! I have several hundred hours in both Diablo 3 and Path of Exile so I can live with a grind. I do prefer it a little bit more fast paced though.

Looks like something right up my alley! I just checked the website, and it's down for scheduled maintenance, but says it will be back up shortly. Is it a download or online game?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's a download, and a load of patches. Not too massive, and takes around 15-20 mins to install and configure.

I really enjoyed your take on the game. I've been playing it a bit, and I love the difficulty, but it's very tough to get into as a new player. I do think that games like this are paving the way for the next generation of gaming, and I'm very excited to see the future of blockchain gaming. Thanks for the post!

Have you tried Ash Woods yet? It's not exactly hard, but takes a lot concentration to get through it. Kiting for 40 minutes or so is taxing. There's a lot of resources in there. !WINE.


Congratulations, @slobberchops You Successfully Shared 0.400 WINE With @difaziolio.
You Earned 0.400 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 4/4 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 24809.918 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.273 HIVE

The first time I tried it, I got DESTROYED. I didn't understand the dynamics of healing and how important the items were. Since then, I got through it once. It is SO tedious. Worth it though.

This is great that it exists, and it attracts new users I hope!

Sadly, it’s not the style or kind of game that attracts me personally but I can see it’s value.
Seems like a step up in game play and graphics from other Hive based games, which can only be a good thing.

Congratulations on your first $100+ post too!
I remember you mentioning this once, how back in the day you were blown away by huge payouts but never had one yourself 🪄

Thanks Ash, I did have a $90 one a while ago, but never quite cracked 3 figures. If it keeps going up, we will all get there soon.

I have never played this game, but I have been reading a lot about people that are starting to get bored or disillusioned with it. It looks really cool. Isn't it on the ETH blockchain though? That would be a huge turn off for me.

Isn't it on the ETH blockchain though? That would be a huge turn off for me.

They are switching to a side chain in April that will nullify these stupid fees. It's worth a look when it comes back up.

Interesting!

I haven't played this game but I did hear about it a few days back. What turned me off from the game was the fact that Enjin was on ETH and I didn't think it was worth it given the fees. If they do change it, I might decide to play and your information gives me some good information on how to start as a beginner.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

i know some friends on mine from Hive that are playing this game for close to a month now. I won't comment anything regarding the game itself because it's awesome in my eyes but instead, i want to address the "my account worth" kind of stuff.

You need to check if you want to sell ofc, how fast you can sell these items and whether you will sell cheaper or at those prices. then i thing the "real current" value will be determined

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Is it a browser game or you have to install a client?

Great game. Pity it crashed the only week I'd have had time to actually play more than a dungeon a day. :(