Sort:  

wow, i didn't expect a response to be a game that was actually pre my era. A friend of mine had a C64 but it operated off 5 inch floppies. It was frustratingly slow to load and if I remember correctly, very expensive. He didn't have the cassette add on, was that meant to be faster?

I had Outrun for the C64 too but on disk. Technically the C64 came out a little before the NES, but they largely overlapped. I believe Outrun was released for the C64 in 1988. I think Karate Champ was released for the NES in 1986.

you are probably correct about this. Without consulting the internet I remember that me and my youth gaming pal were playing Sega Genesis, NES, and C64 all at the same time so this makes timeline sense.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Haha, no the cassette was slower :) Found a video of it,

almost 5 min to load outrun! But I must say I have fond memories of the conversations with friends while hanging around waiting for games to load.