cancelled cartoons, January 17th

IMG_0036.jpg

The present challenge includes overcoming a speedy, hard-hitting titan of an obstacle... Alakazam.

600px-0065Alakazam.png

Rain Dance Sweeper: what a name. It rings of an 80's appliance advertisement, sold to suburban homes to save time and effort. Yet it referred to the strategy of raising one of Hoenn's various Water-types met early, on Routes 102 and 114.

600px-0270Lotad.png

Images courtesy of Bulbapedia.

Lotad

With a base stat total of 220, the lilypad tadpole creature shares the sum with the black dog, Poochyena, similar in ability to Pokemon I mentioned yesterday and Seedot, the son of an acorn. The more I looked at his half-covered eyes under his hat, the more I thought about planting seeds and growth. The subject of successful franchises came up in the voice channel, and while Pokemon sat presently in mind, a few examples from the network of cartoons arose.

"I'm two-hundred versions behind!"

IMG_0037.jpg

What keeps a show on the air?

Spectacular Spiderman

A show whose theme I can still recite half-correctly til this day, the story about Peter Parker in his adolescent years struck deep cords within audience members like myself. I thought that people wouldn't get off my back and that my interests were niche and uncool by a general populus. Though it wouldn't be social acceptance or critical acclaim that would ended the 26-episode series. The series stopped due to ratings on the 2nd season it is argued, but it seems to be a intellectual property rights dispute between Sony and Marvel. To ice this arachnid's cake, Disney would go onto acquire Marvel Entertainment in its entirety in 2009, with Sony and Marvel each having some assets of the show as well. Deals did and undid the show, but was that the case for them all?

Teen Titans

David Slack, the show's producer, cites several, different reasons for the cancellation of Teen Titans. Seems to me, the audience begs for slack but, no dice. Rivalry between big business sounds likely, as Mattel wanted the show's untimely end as Bandai, the Japanese toy manufacturer had the show's toy deal.

Proposed Spin-Off
The shot at redemption was blocked on poor reception, despite its content-rich and comic book canon storyline. And in it's place, my siblings laud Teen Titans GO! something I don't wish to discuss further.

Ed, Edd & Eddy

Ah, yes, the boys. Those quirky cul-de-sac kids may have hit the jackpot with their jawbreaker-driven hijinx, netting 6 seasons total and a movie. In fact, the fourth season was originally planned to end the series, but two additional seaons, four specials and a movie came about due the series' popularity.

There must be a secret recipe to the mix, and I don't think the ingredient is buttered toast. With all due respect to Ed, something about that snack is both brilliant and simple.

Between work, I spend time analyzing the nuances to games and shows from childhood to understand what it is exactly that keeps me raving all these years later. The hope is, with enough understanding, I could produce something to a similar effect, but if I'm anything like the writers or the fans, I enjoy the many things that reconnect with imagination, creativity and art.

IMG_0038.jpg

The time-stamped images are all from December 11th, of The Budos Band and Roge, their opener that night. Pictured directly above is Roge, Brazilian folk artist.

Post Summary

  • What makes a team player viable? What makes a show good? Without any further research, answers remain unanswered. I rather write my own.
  • Shows remained on and off the air for different reasons.
  • The successful connect with the audience. Sadly, even the successful shows are no match for big deals between businesses.