Is it Simple to have a Simple Life ? Modest Harvests, Kimchi preparation and Reflections about Here and Now [EN - FR]

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

The more complex it seems to become, the more I get to the essence. The faster it is, the more I want to take my time and go slowly. The more my attention is required (depending on what it is for, of course) the more I tend to reserve it for better occasions, etc.

I flee from extremes, even those that might seem good, beneficial... Deep down, it is the very idea of extreme that I refuse.

Hello dear Hivers ! How are you doing ?

Today was one of those semi-hermit days that I like. A day in which you take the time to do things with the attention they require. Cooking. Cleaning and washing up. Listening to music. Reading a little. Watching the sky and the plants in the house and then eventually deciding to go and see the ones in the urban garden nearby, in the neighborhood.

These are the days that make you seriously wonder why it can't always be like this. Why do we have to exchange our time and energy for money and exchange it for things that we could have gotten ourselves or by trading the things we produced.

I know the reasons for the dominance, the power and the trouble, the idleness of some "so-called powerful" people who are control freaks and want to rule everything. And to top it all off, they make rules to counteract the negative effects of what they had previously put in place... But of course, they themselves never apply these rules. It would be too simple.

Reading that last paragraph, you might think I'm bitter about it but I'm not. I am just objective, cold and emotionally distanced from it. It tortured me (or something close to it) for years, but for some time now I don't care anymore. Because even if it seems to us that the system is absurd and devious, the reasons to hope are much greater than that. The forces at work are beyond imagination and whether it takes 6 months, 2 years or 200, I know that we humans in tune with nature will get there.

Because if you look at what we are, animals with a special consciousness, a will and an uncommon capacity to act, capable of the best and the worst (just look at how we can transform our environment into a work of art or a concrete suburb without trees...) We have a choice and even if we will most probably go through troubled times, I still have hope in what I can do or not do and in what is beyond me. For we have the choice, individually, to say yes... or to say no and act on it.

Recent experiences and paths of thought, nourished by Buddhist Zen and anarchy (the real one, not the generalized chaos) in particular, have led me to these words in the form of conclusions that are in fact points of departure. This is what I feel is right now, in addition to what I wrote in the introduction:

Staying in your centre, centered with yourself. Mind you, not in an egotistical and cut-off way, but rather in accordance with one's sensations, feelings, principles, values and natural instincts. What constitutes us internally. Centered, not ego-centered.

IMG_2098 copy 2.jpg

This is what this plate of steamed vegetables sprinkled with brewer's yeast inspired me to do. Haha, just like the mystics were always right - I personally never doubted it - lessons can come from all things without exception !

After this healthy, fortifying and relaxing lunch, I go back to my kitchen to prepare some canned kimchi. Those of you who follow my articles a bit know my passion for this preparation. By the way, here is the recipe that I use with a few variations of vegetables that I add or remove...

IMG_2104.JPG

IMG_2106 copy.jpg

But at some point, the urge to go for a walk in the garden is stronger and I decide to leave my cave for a bit more sun and a lot of fresh air !

A bug on the pod which looks like a flat bean...

IMG_2121.JPG

It's been a long time since my last in-depth visit and I'm rediscovering our pepper plants which are now bearing beautiful fruit. The harvest is quickly done and already I am wondering how to accommodate or preserve these little jewels... If you have any suggestions, don't hesitate :D

IMG_2129.JPG

IMG_2136.jpg

A little further along the tracks, I am impressed by the lust for life of this vine as it runs from its initial foot to glean a little more sunlight.

Still below, you will find a solitary cornichon and lemon verbena sleeping in the last rays of the sun.

IMG_1576.jpg

IMG_1585.JPG

IMG_1586.JPG

A soon-to-be-ripe squash accompanied by an attentive calendula... What more can I seriously ask for ? Personally, the rest of my wishes will be directed out of my sphere, out of my centre, because this simple vision would have been enough to fill my day !

IMG_2140.JPG

Not far from there, in a neighboring plot cultivated by a colleague, I discover this beautiful squash that looks like a watermelon... Unfortunately, this one is already too ripe. We forgot to harvest it.

IMG_2147.jpg

The latest discoveries are some delicious tasting cherry tomatoes and different variants of purslane, Portulaca oleracea... It's amazing how much growing conditions can influence the shape and taste of the plant. Adaptation, evolution, genetics and the basic soil... A bit like humans in the end ? Giving and receiving.

IMG_2213.JPG

IMG_2203.JPG

IMG_2201.JPG

IMG_2200.JPG

But already I look up to the cloudless sky...

IMG_0067.jpg

Is it already time for victory ?


I hope that this article will have pleased you, interested you and perhaps given you hope. Because in the end, everything will be fine !

If you wish to make any clarifications or obtain any information, do not hesitate :)

I wish you a good Friday and in anticipation, a great weekend. Take care of yourself.

@anttn






Plus cela semble devenir complexe, plus je vais à l'essentiel. Plus la rapidité est de mise, plus je veux prendre mon temps et aller lentement. Plus on demande mon attention (cela dépend pour quoi bien-sûr) plus je vais avoir tendance à la réserver pour de meilleures occasions, etc...

Je fuis les extrêmes, même ceux qui pourraient sembler bons, bénéfiques... au fond, c'est l'idée même d'extrême que je refuse.

Bonjour chers Hivers ! Comment allez-vous ?

Aujourd'hui c'était une de ces semi-journées d'ermites comme je les affectionne. Une journée au cours de laquelle on prend le temps de prendre le temps de faire les choses avec l'attention qu'elles requièrent. Cuisine. Ménage et vaisselle. Écouter de la musique. Lire un peu. Observer le ciel et les plantes dans la maison et puis finir par se décider d'aller voir celles du jardin urbain non loin de là, dans le quartier.

Ce sont de ces journées qui vous font vous demander sérieusement pourquoi cela ne pourrait pas être toujours ainsi. Pourquoi devons-nous échanger notre temps et notre énergie contre de l'argent et échanger ce dernier contre des choses que nous aurions, pour certaines pu obtenir nous-mêmes ou bien en troquant celles que nous aurions produites.

Je connais les raisons des dominations, de pouvoirs et d'ennuis finalement, de désoeuvrement de certaines personnes "soi-disant puissantes" qui sont des maniaques du contrôle et qui veulent tout régenter. Et qui comble de l'hypocrisie, édictent des règles qui viennent contrer les effets négatifs de ce qu'ils avaient précédemment mis en place... Mais bien-sûr, eux-mêmes n'appliquent jamais ces règles. Ce serait trop simple.

En lisant ce dernier paragraphe, vous pouvez croire que je suis amer à ce sujet mais ce n'est en fait pas le cas. Je suis juste objectif, froid et distancié émotionnellement de cela. Ça m'a torturé (ou quelques chose d'approchant) durant des années, mais depuis quelques temps, je ne m'en fait plus. Car même s'il nous semblent que le système est absurde et retors, les raisons d'espérer sont bien plus grandes que cela. Les forces à l'oeuvre sont au delà de toute imagination et que cela prenne 6 mois, 2 ans ou 200, je sais que nous, les humains en accord avec la nature, nous y arriveront.

Car si vous observez ce que nous sommes, des animaux avec une conscience spéciale, une volonté et une capacité d'agir hors du commun, capable du meilleur comme du pire (il n'y a qu'à observer comment nous pouvons transformer notre environnement en oeuvre d'art ou en banlieue bétonnée sans arbres...) Nous avons le choix et même si nous allons très probablement traverser des périodes de troubles, je garde espoir dans ce que je peux faire ou ne pas faire et dans ce qui me dépasse. Car nous avons le choix, individuellement de dire oui... ou de dire non et d'agir en conséquences.

De récentes expériences et chemins de pensées, nourris de zen bouddhiste et d'anarchie (la vraie, pas le chaos généralisé) notamment m'ont amenés à ces propos en forme de conclusions qui sont en fait des points de départ. Voilà ce que je ressens comme bon actuellement, cela en plus de ce que j'ai écris en introduction :

Rester dans son centre, centré avec soi-même. Attention, non pas d'une façon égoïste et coupée du monde, mais plutôt en accord avec ses sensations, ressentis, principes, valeurs et son instinct naturel. Ce qui nous constitue intérieurement. Centré et non pas égo-centré.

IMG_2098 copy 2.jpg

Voilà ce que cette assiette de légumes à la vapeur saupoudrés de levure de bière m'ont inspiré. Haha, comme quoi les mystiques ont toujours eu raison - je n'en ai personnellement jamais douté - les leçons peuvent venir de toutes les choses sans exception !

Après ce déjeuner sain, fortifiant et reposant à la fois, je retourne à ma cuisine pour préparer quelques conserves de kimchi. Ceux qui suivent un peu mes articles savent ma passion pour cette préparation. D'ailleurs, voilà la recette que j'utilise avec quelques variantes de légumes que j'ajoute ou je retire...

IMG_2104.JPG

IMG_2106 copy.jpg

Mais à un moment, l'envie d'aller faire un tour dans le jardin est plus forte et je décide de quitter ma grotte pour un peu plus de soleil et beaucoup d'air frais !

Accueil d'une punaise sur la gousse qui ressemble à celle d'un haricot plat...

IMG_2121.JPG

Cela faisait longtemps depuis ma dernière visite approfondie et je redécouvre nos plans de piments qui portent désormais de jolis fruits. La récolte est vite faite et déjà je me demande comment accommoder ou conserver ces petits bijoux... Si vous avez des suggestions, n'hésitez pas :D

IMG_2129.JPG

IMG_2136.jpg

Un peu plus loin sur les rails, je suis impressionné par l'envie de vie de cette vigne qui cours depuis son pied initial pour glaner un peu plus de lumière du soleil.

Encore en dessous, vous trouverez un cornichon solitaire et la verveine citronnée qui se dort au derniers rayons du soleil.

IMG_1576.jpg

IMG_1585.JPG

IMG_1586.JPG

Une courge bientôt mûre accompagnée par une calendula attentive... Que puis-je sérieusement demander de mieux ? Personnellement, les autres de mes souhaits seront dirigés vers l'extérieur de ma sphère, de mon centre car cette simple vision aurait suffi a combler ma journée !

IMG_2140.JPG

Non loin de là, dans une parcelle voisine cultivée par un collègue, je découvre cette belle courge qui ressemble à s'y méprendre à une pastèque... Malheureusement, celle-ci est déjà trop mûre. On a oublié de la récolter.

IMG_2147.jpg

Les dernières découvertes seront pour ces quelques tomates cerises au goût délicieux et pour ces différentes variantes de pourpier commun, Portulaca oleracea... C'est impressionnant de voir à quel point les condition de culture peuvent influer sur la forme et les goûts de la plante. L'adaptation, l'évolution, la génétique et le terreau de base... Un peu comme pour les humains finalement ? Donner et recevoir.

IMG_2213.JPG

IMG_2203.JPG

IMG_2201.JPG

IMG_2200.JPG

Mais déjà, je lève les yeux vers le ciel sans nuages...

IMG_0067.jpg

Serait-ce déjà l'heure de la victoire ?


J'espère que cet article vous aura plût, intéressé et peut-être fait garder espoir. Car à la fin, tout se passera bien !

Si vous souhaitez apportez des précisions ou en obtenir, n'hésitez pas :)

Je vous souhaite un bon vendredi et par anticipation, un excellent weekend. Prenez soin de vous.

@anttn

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I am soooo into chillis - they make my mouth water. Interested in @artemislives chilli idea below??

Pottering is the BEST. Just lost in your own space. Saying that, everything I tried to potter with today utterly failed! Going out in the garden for one last go at it before wine o'clock..

@riverflows - the only Indo restaurant in Chiang Mai appears to have closed while I was away in NL... and I also had some GREAT Dutch-Indo meals in NL while I was away, albeit needing a small mortgage to settle the bill. And I remembered Sambal Badjak - my indonesian born father made it all the time. Ploi is missing her chili fix and I thought to make some jars for Christmas giving.

Promise to blog it for you...

 2 years ago  

Oh, I did know that word until now :D

But how is it possible to fail at pottering ? If we think about the same meaning... (Not sure about my translation too ^^)

Thanks you for calling Artemis :) The Sambal seems indeed pretty indicated !
Enjoy your weekend 😘

 2 years ago  

I LOVE sambal or anything chilli really! Oh yes you can't REALLY fail at pottering ..

Cooking. Cleaning and washing up. Listening to music. Reading a little. Watching the sky and the plants in the house

I honestly really like doing those things, even though they are very exhausting. and as an extra, I write about my recipes, share what I feel on the blog

so, seeing the garden there, it's enough to make us excited. I often think, what if we just be ourselves, (maybe not popular, not much money, but all our needs are met, and we are peaceful)? often life around us is so fucked up. Messy people don't seem to want to break down alone, so they invite us to enter that messy circle.

so, just enjoy your time, and you will realize the expensive things are indeed the time you use to treat yourself better and better.

 2 years ago  

Yes, I agree with your analysis about people who want to drag us into their downward circles ... Unfortunately, we see this far too often !

I also agree that wealth is really the use of the time we are given to do what we want in a free way.

True that being at home is super job but an intense one if you're perfectionist ! I'm not waking up one that reality, I have been a househusband for years ^^

Take care dear, I hope you'll have an enjoyable weekend 💚

Is it simple to have a simple life? I think is IS when you get yor head and heart aligned first. And it's definitely easier with a garden around you.

This FINE looking green chilis are reminding me that I wanted to make a black Sambal Badjak this weekend.... it's such a yummy Indonesian flavor that I enjoyed in Holland recently but, for some strange reason, is totally unavailable back home here in Thailand.

 2 years ago  

Hey @artemislives !

I think is IS when you get your head and heart aligned first.

I believe my time for this alignement is arrived :) Several months I'm feeling that !

Thanks you for the suggestion and for making me discovering, I think I will follow the advice :)
Strange though that it's unavailable in Thailand..?

Also, thanks you a lot for your article I will read this afternoon !

Take care 😘

Managing your garden in the centre of Paris is amazing. Where is it located? I am very curious. I didn't know such things existed at all in this huge city...

 2 years ago  

Haha, oui c'est vraiment une chance en effet ! Nous sommes dans le nord de Paris, le long de la Petite Ceinture :) Le plus drôle, c'est que cela fait longtemps que nous vivons au même endroit et je ne l'ai rejoins que cette année !!

Bon weekend à toi et à bientôt :)

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!
 2 years ago  

Thanks you @diyhub and @priyanarc for the support :)

May your weekend be great !

 2 years ago  

I saw a watermelon again, I wish I can plant next season.

It's really very obvious now that we do have some things in common, cleaning, washing, cooking and doing all this I love listening to music, it gives me the inspiration to do all these with a clear mind.

Your lunch looks really tasty, and I love the view, it is just perfect, hehe.

Your garden and that of your colleague looks really beautiful, the pepper are so fresh I think they can last for some days.

Beautiful write up as always Anttn.

 2 years ago  

Very nice post anttn your harvesting is impressive. your kimchi looks very delicious. thanks for sharing have a nice weekend 😊

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Very nice view!