November Garden Journal : The end of an Era. Beyond Life and Death, Vision in Circles [EN - FR]

in HiveGardenlast year

When you hit a roadblock, sometimes it's time to think about what's next and perhaps in the longer term... Here in the gardens, winter has set in well, although still quite mild. The most complicated thing is the internal situation that means that we only have access to our plots in the morning, which complicates things a bit. For more details on this, I invite you to read this previous article.

So my decision at the moment is to try and prepare as best I can for the next season, which may be away from the city, and to look after the plants we already have inside. I prefer to take a step back and look a little further ahead, towards the medium to long term horizon.

IMG_7081.jpg

IMG_7093.JPG

I was deep in thought that morning as I stared at the reflection of the purslane in the coffee in my first cup. It was a beautiful day. Just to the left, two pots away, my new seedlings were starting to emerge...

I don't know if it will work, but I figure there's a chance that the Calendulas and nasturtiums I planted will do well. I have sun most of the day (maybe too much?) and it's sheltered from the wind. So I have the impression that this micro-climate could make it possible to have beautiful flowers even this winter.

IMG_7100.JPG

IMG_7341.JPG

IMG_7107.JPG

Finally getting to the garden within the allowed time, I do my usual tour. The one in our plot and the ones in others, just a guard tour or a horizon tour, whichever you prefer !

Here, it's more Calendulas and Asters, the former already faded and the latter on their way too... But what living thing isn't ?

IMG_7349.jpg

IMG_7389.jpg

At the same time, we can see everything that will soon take over. The buds on this shrub (a Forsythia ?), this lemon tree shoot or the mint that greens up and blooms whatever the weather.

IMG_7356.JPG

IMG_7345.JPG

IMG_7346.JPG

The only seeds I came back with were those of this dried bindweed, ready to give again... Even though it is often considered an invasive species, I think that in selected places it can be very beautiful !

liseron.png

As far as the 'crops' are concerned, they are of course smaller and smaller, but this is not surprising. What comes from the earth goes back to the earth...

Especially if it is forgotten, like the tomatoes left by the neighbour. As for me, I harvested a few peppers, probably the last ones, and offered them to a colleague who seemed interested.

IMG_7352.JPG

IMG_7366.JPG

A few honeysuckle flowers brighten up the place with their supple and graphic arabesques while divinely perfuming the surrounding air...

IMG_6535.JPG

IMG_6532.JPG

Last detail with these fish whose water seems to me rather unclear. The pond was recently installed, but to me, these seem to lack oxygen. If you have any knowledge on the subject, I would be interested !

IMG_7364.JPG

The friend I was with at the garden gave me this little shoot from his house. I don't know what it is yet but I'll check it out soon. For the moment, it has joined our other roommates :)

IMG_7358.JPG

IMG_7359.JPG

IMG_7399.JPG

Speaking of the long term, one of the things I've decided to do is to start sprouting anything I can get my hands on. At the moment, it's mostly lemon seeds. But I also want to try with almonds.

One technique that seems to work well is to soak the seeds in water for 24 hours, then put them in a moistened handkerchief for two to three weeks, then put them in an airtight plastic bag in the fridge.

As I'm going away for about that time, I'll have a chance to look at it when I get back !

IMG_7318.JPG

IMG_7108.JPG

IMG_7396.JPG

The last harvested item I forgot to mention was this pumpkin, which was quite tiny after all, more of a decoration haha !

IMG_7402.JPG

I hope you have enjoyed visiting these different cultural spaces and their different states of the moment. I thank you for your visit and your time to read.

I hope you are well. Concerning your comments, I was a little late in reading and answering them, but if you have been following me for a while, you know me. Anyway, thank you for forgiving me :) This does not prevent you from reacting to this article !

Good evening and good Sunday to all,

<3

@anttn






Lorsque vous rencontrez un obstacle, c'est parfois qu'est venu le moment de penser à la suite et peut-être à plus long terme... Ici, dans les jardins, l'hiver s'est bien installé, quoiqu'encore assez doux. Le plus compliqué c'est la situation interne qui fait que nous n'avons plus accès à nos parcelles que le matin, ce qui complique un peu les choses. Pour plus de précisions à ce propos, je vous invite à lire cet article précédent.

Ma décision est donc pour le moment de tenter de préparer au mieux la saison prochaine, qui peut-être aura lieu ailleurs qu'en ville et de m'occuper des plantes que nous avons déjà à l'intérieur. Je préfère prendre un peu de hauteur de champ, regarder un peu plus loin, vers l'horizon du moyen-long terme.

IMG_7081.jpg

IMG_7093.JPG

C'est dans ces réflexions que j'étais plongé ce matin-là en fixant le reflet du pourpier dans le café de ma première tasse. Il faisait beau. Juste sur la gauche, deux pots plus loin, mes nouveaux semis commençaient de sortir de terre...

Je ne sais si cela fonctionnera, mais je me dis qu'il y a des chance que les Calendulas et capucines que j'ai semées se développent bien. En effet, j'ai du soleil presque toute la journée (peut-être un peu trop ?) et c'est abrité du vent. J'ai donc l'impression que ce micro-climat pourrait faire en sorte d'avoir de belles fleurs même cet hiver.

IMG_7100.JPG

IMG_7341.JPG

IMG_7107.JPG

En me rendant finalement au jardin dans les horaires admis, je fais mon tour habituel. Celui de notre parcelle et celles des autres, juste un tour de garde ou d'horizon, selon ce que vous préférerez !

Ici, ce sont d'autres Calendulas et Asters, les premières déjà fanée et les secondes en route aussi... Mais quelle chose qui vit ne l'est pas ?

IMG_7349.jpg

IMG_7389.jpg

En parallèle, on constate tout ce qui bientôt prendra la relève. Les bourgeons sur cet arbuste (un Forsythia ?), cette pousse de citronnier ou encore la menthe qui verdit et s'épanouit quelque soit le temps qu'il fait.

IMG_7356.JPG

IMG_7345.JPG

IMG_7346.JPG

Les seules graines avec lesquelles je suis revenu, ce sont celles de ce liseron séché et prêt à donner de nouveau... Même si c'est bien souvent considéré comme une espèce invasive, je pense qu'à des endroits choisis, cela peut être du plus bel effet !

liseron.png

Concernant les "récoltes", celles-ci sont bien évidemment de plus en plus modestes, mais rien d'étonnant à cela. Ce qui est venu de la terre retourne à la terre.

Surtout si c'est oublié comme ces tomates laissées par des voisins. Pour ma part, je récolte quelques piments, probalement les derniers et je les offre à un collègue qui avait l'air intéressé.

IMG_7352.JPG

IMG_7366.JPG

Quelques fleurs de chèvrefeuille égaient les lieux par leurs arabesques souples et graphiques tout en parfumant divinement l'air alentours...

IMG_6535.JPG

IMG_6532.JPG

Dernier détail avec ces poissons dont l'eau me semble assez peu claire. Le bassin a récemment été installé, mais pour moi, ceux-ci semblent manquer d'oxygène. Si vous avez quelques connaissances sur le sujet, je serai bien-sûr intéressé !

IMG_7364.JPG

L'ami avec lequel j'étais au jardin m'a offert cette petite pousse qui venait de chez lui. Je ne sais pas encore ce que c'est mais je ne tarderai pas à faire mes vérifications. Pour l'instant, elle a rejoint nos autres colocataires :)

IMG_7358.JPG

IMG_7359.JPG

IMG_7399.JPG

En parlant de long terme, j'ai notamment décidé de me lancer dans la germination de tout ce qui pouvait me passer sous la main. Pour l'instant, ce sont surtout des graines de citrons. Mais je souhaite aussi essayer avec des amandes.

Une technique qui semble bien fonctionner c'est de plonger les pépins dans l'eau pour 24H, ensuite c'est deux à trois semaines dans un mouchoir humidifié, lui-même dans un sac hermétique en plastique, le tout au frigidaire.

Comme je pars environ ce temps-là, cela me donnera l'occasion de voir cela à mon retour !

IMG_7318.JPG

IMG_7108.JPG

IMG_7396.JPG

Dernier élément récolté que j'avais oublié de mentionner, cette courge pâtisson, somme toute assez minuscule, plutôt de la décoration haha !

IMG_7402.JPG

J'espère que vous aurez appréciez la visite de ces différents espaces de cultures et leur différents états du moments. Je vous remercie pour votre visite et le temps de votre lecture.

J'espère que vous allez bien. Concernant vos commentaires, j'ai pris un peu de retard dans leur lecture et réponses, mais si vous me suivez depuis un peu de temps, vous me connaissez. Quoiqu'il en soit, merci de me pardonner :) Ce qui ne vous empêche nullement de réagir à ce présent article !

Bonne soirée et bon dimanche à tous,

<3

@anttn

Sort:  

I'm sure that, with your loving touch, everything will do well in the new season.

 last year  

Thanks you very much 😊 I’m optimistic as well !

Be well dear 🍀

Incredible you have a nice garden, the flower are beautiful.
Thanks for posting this..

 last year  

You’re welcome 😉
I’m happy you enjoyed ! Yeah, let’s cover the world of flowers !

This is very good cultivation.
Thank you for sharing with us all.

 last year  

You’re really welcome, tried my best... but will do better in the future haha !

Take care and thanks you for visiting :D

What a beautiful post!

I have never seized to amazed by the variety of things out there that can grow and feed or heal us. And some of what you have is new to me.

I have a question. Do you cook/eat purslane? I hear it's beneficial but I am yet to figure it out properly to do so.

 last year  

What a beautiful post!

Thanks you a lot, I'm glad you appreciated it :)

I love the diversity of Nature and all the forms living beings can take ! I'm rather anti monoculture hehe !

About pursulane, I know it can be cook as soup but I never tried yet... I don't have enough so I often eat some raw in salad ! Love that kind of weird texture !

Have a nice week ahead ✌️

I wouldn't advocate for monoculture too as a diversified ecosystem is always better and capable of partially helping one take care of it xD

I am looking forward to trying it as salad or soup. I am told it has impressive medicinal benefits. Thank you :)

 last year  

I too am struggling catching up on comments and my fave Hivers. Not because I don't love you.

I hope you have enjoyed visiting these different cultural spaces and their different states of the moment

That's one of hte reasons I just love Hive. I was just reading Jamie some of the comments on the comment challenge post I run every fortnight and the responses from Italy, Hawaii, Indonesia, India, the UK> Just beauutiful. So many different people's experiences with teh natural world. Just love it.

I am convinced you'll get calendula bloom in winter.

 last year  

Not because I don't love you.

Hahaha... I know ! Yeah, it could be intense sometimes, even if it is always a pleasure :)
I need to go and make a tour in this contest ! Maybe it'll help me to be a better commenter lol ^^

I am convinced you'll get calendula bloom in winter.

There's good chances, crossed finger !

Congratulations @anttn! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 9000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 10000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Even in cold areas, having an area with a suitable microclimate favors the germination of many plants from different latitudes.

In my case, I created a small indoor with a LED lamp that gives it a minimum temperature and in this way the seedlings are quite grown before transplanting them in the greenhouse outside, which, although protected, during the winter shows the signs of the low temperatures, although to a lesser degree.

Greetings and thank you for sharing these beautiful images @anttn.

 last year  

Nice post as usual each time and nice photographs. good luck with your calendula flowers.