Garden journal. September first harvest

in HiveGarden2 years ago

This year, autumn has come on schedule again. On August 31, the heat was abruptly turned off, it start raining and even the first night frosts.

It's time to harvest. Although I collected part of it in August. We usually dig up potatoes as needed. Thus, I have already collected 3 potato patches. Potatoes are a little small this year, because I planted far from the best specimens, but there are still some. Again, potatoes under hay and manure have proven themselves very well.

8.jpg

In addition to potatoes, I had to pick carrots. Usually I have it growing until winter, but this year the crop almost died. The mice got into the beds and gnawed half of them. Pull out the tops, and only a void or half a carrot remains.

7.jpg

Despite this, I collected a couple of boxes from one of the beds. Part will go to us, part to the animals.

6.jpg

But the onion died this year. Some due to diseases, some were also gnawed by mice. When I was picking onions, I killed 2 mice right in the bed.

This year, hot pepper was planted for the first time, although it was not planned. Friends gave us seedlings and that's what grew out of them. I don't know what is this pepper called. It's small, but awfully hot.

3.jpg

An excellent result was shown by sunflowers. Although they were planted more for decoration.

0.jpg

Nevertheless, they grew huge and gave huge seeds (children and wife love to gnaw them)

2.jpg

1.jpg

Also this year, blackberries have finally started to grow. I planted it a few years ago, but it fructified only 1 time during this time, and now it has just blossomed.

4.jpg

One appendage even gave roots, so I transplanted it to a new place near the fence. I hope in a few years the whole fence will be covered in blackberries.

5.jpg

There is still harvesting of zucchini, pumpkins, tomatoes, corn, cabbages and potato ahead. In general, I am satisfied with the first results, especially if we take into account the ratio of the forces expended and the harvest obtained.

Sort:  

Quick question about your potatoes. Did you plant potatoes in the same spot last year? I read somewhere that you should rotate potatoes now and again.

Very nice harvest so far.

 2 years ago  

That sunflower is huge, and the seeds are huge too! I hope to grow some in my garden when the summer time comes. Good evening!

Congratulations @astrizak! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 700 replies.
Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!