Manure pile. First harvest results

in HiveGarden2 years ago

A couple of months ago I wrote about my manure pile and the plants I planted there. Of course, it's not autumn yet and not all the harvest has been harvested, but it's already possible to share intermediate results.

1.jpg

As I expected, the zucchini on the manure pile feel great. I just can't get enough of the number of grown and still growing zucchini. There are dozens of them. And they grow without any care. I do not weed and practically do not water.

2.jpg

Only in the heat, I watered the bushes growing on top of the pile several times. Their leaves have wilted in the heat, but the zucchini themselves continue to grow.

3.jpg

In addition to zucchini, pumpkins feel great on the pile

5.jpg

But the cucumbers don't like this pile. I planted them too high, and they lack moisture. But tomatoes, on the contrary, have a lot of moisture, they grow below cucumbers, from opposite side of manure pile and because of the increased humidity they began to hurt. However, tomatoes on the streets always grow poorly with us. Because of the night fogs, they are always infected with phytospore.

4.jpg

In addition to the listed vegetables, sunflowers and oats suddenly grew on the pile. I didn't plant them there. Obviously, these are the remains of animal feed, whose manure I used.

6.jpg

In general, the result is good, but it could have been better. Next year I will slightly change the configuration of the pile. I'll make tiers on it and plant plants taking into account their needs for water and sun, and not just randomly spreading the seeds as was done this year.

Sort:  

Cool seeing the results of the experiment. Planting sunflowers, squash, and beans together works really well. The beans climb the sunflowers and the squash shade the soil.

I've been dumping so much grain in my sheep pen and it gets mixed with their poo from them standing in it eating so next year I am going to close the area off and put my pumpkins and winter squash in there. I hope to finally get a 100+lb pumpkin.

Pretty cool experiment, what kind of manure did you use? Was it fresh or older? Also it's the pile 100% manure or does it have some soil?

This is manure from the local zoo, there are deer, goats and elephants :) Some are fresh from the beginning of this year, some are from last year. It's manure with straw. In a few years, everything will turn into soil. I had another pile of manure and it turned out to be a great soil. All the beds in my greenhouse, and indeed all the beds with this soil.

That must provide a nice diversity of nutrients 👌

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @astrizak.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more