Garden Journal February ~ Spring is in the air!!!

in HiveGardenlast year

The air feels cold, the sun is shining, we have frozen noses in the morning while we are taking our morning walk.

Listening to the birds, singing their songs; looking to the first flowers that blossomed in the year.

Did you notice the days are getting longer?! The spring is on her way!

It is the beginning of February, already 1 month is gone from the new year.
In order to be on time with the new season for my garden I have to start now.
Starting with planting seeds for artichoke, tomatoes, eggplants and (spicy) peppers. I will let them sprout in the glasshouse of my friends, so we can start planting them in the fields when the nights are above 12 degrees. That will be around half April.

The seeds I harvest from the previous year fruits, always the first fruit on the plants for seeds. In this way I am reproducing and no need to buy new ones each year. In my opinion this is the right way, the way mother earth has intended it way.

Still there is a lot growing in the garden, like salads (the arugula is the most quick growing), cabbages, broccoli and cauliflowers.

I see the first signs of life in my almond tree, so wonderful.
For me this is always an exciting moment of the year, what trees and plants did survive the winter and it is amazing to see them start to grow. Soon we will have blossoms in the almond tree, she is the first each year.

Look to the blossoms in my lemon tree! It was to hot last winter, the blossoms are ready to open soon.

These weeks I will be busy cutting trees, grapes and my kiwi plant in the shape I want, and keep the garden a little in order, before becoming a jungle during the summer. So that will be my garden jobs.
Planting seeds, cutting tree’s and prepare the soil for the new season.

I found some garlic that started to sprout, normally I plant them in October, but since they have sprout I will plant them around the roots of the trees. It is good for the trees to have garlic close by.

During the winter I was thinking about how and where I will pur all the plants that I want to have during the spring and summer.

It was cold, rainy and windy days last weeks, but now it feels wonderful outside. The sun always makes the difference, I feel more active to move and work when the sun is shining.
Do you have the same feeling?

Kisses from BabetterPlace

Sort:  

I live in the tropics and am used to always having sun, but I can imagine, when you live through the seasons and winter passes and the sun comes out, it must be wonderful.
You have a good job ahead of you with your garden, good luck.
By the way, I didn't know that planting garlic near trees is good for them.

Well I read once in a biodinamic garden book about fungi on the leaves on some type of trees, like almond, peach, plums trees are sensitive for. I gives blue/White color at the underside of the leaves. When I plant the garlic around, the tree get stronger to handle this fungi , or it get lesser sensitive. In this way I dont have to use chemicals or cut the tree, because it looks very bad. Also ants and ladybugs are very good to have in the tree, to eat this.
In the tropics, very nice, i spend one winter in the tropics i loved it... but I also like the seasons we have here in Greece

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator priyanarc & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

Thank you so much

 last year  

Oh where do you live? Seems like a lovely place, with the sea as well! Sorry I took so long to get to this - it's overwhelmign sometimes with the amount of entries. Spring is always such an exciting time. You've jsut reminded me to sort out the garlic bed as we plant at Easter!

I live at the east side of Chalkidiki in Greece. Yes I have the same, sometimes i got overwhelmed by all the daily jobs and then writing and be active here as well... take your time

 last year  

Oh I love those lemons or I should say I need it now. I feel some ache in my throat and it seems this is a sign that cough is coming.

Ow yeah, I wish to send them. Make a mixture of raw honey, curmic, lemons and ginger in hot water. perfect shot to support the immune system.

 last year  

We have honey, I know lemons and we have ginger but I don't know about curmic. I don't have cough but I have cold right now😢😢

Hot water, with ginger, lemon and honey then. And a hot bath of shower. and in bed, in this way the immune system can do the hard work better, and soon you will feel great again. being cold is a sign that your body is working hard!

 last year  

Wow! Thanks for this great advise.

Welcome

Congratulations @babetter! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Smiles 😀. Starting early is very good for early harvest. I love the state below, you can be funny.

In my opinion this is the right way, the way mother earth has intended it way.

That is true, never to early for a early harvest, and here it starts quicker then in the Netherlands. Explain me what is so funny about the state?
I think it is the way to reproduce, the way plants are created on the planet. It is not made for 1 year production and then we have to buy seeds again... Then we are pending on shops etc. or am I crazy? :) Smile

Smiles 😀, you are not crazy my dear. Garden On!

 last year  

I love seeing those lemons - great photos of your garden and plans. I need to get moving as well. Are those your horses?

Yes it is time to move and prepare again the garden. but it is also still cold...
No not my horses, but during the walks they crossed my path, and it looked so beautiful with the blue sky behind.