Blue's 2 Minute Tips - Dehydrating Red Onion

in HiveGardenlast year (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Dehydrating Red Onion From My Garden


Follow along in the video as I show you how I prep my Red Onion for longer term winter storage.

In February, I planted my Onions. Actually, what did is called overseeding. I planted hundreds in each 4 inch by 4 inch container, for later transplanting outside. By summer, I was ahrvesting an onion or two, when I needed, for cooking. By End of the growing Season, I harvested the last, and hung them for drying and storing. I stored them by stringing and hanging them to keep them spoiling. Check out

Stringing Onion for how I store onion.

Long term hanging is only one method for storing Onion. I also Dehydrate the onion, for use in Stews, Soups, and Suaces, as well as cooking many other meals. Sowing and growing my own Vegetables, helps me feed my family and friends, and also helps me to act locally, think locally, and grow locally.




And that makes me smile... better for the planet, better for my own family.


A YouTube Link to Dehydrating Onions


Do you grow and store your own food?

Let me know below in the comments...



Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below...
and a link to your #GroVid22 garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid22 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy Gardening and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Photos by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png


postallweek.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngpostallmonth.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png




▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

I planted onions once... But nothing came of it and I gave up 😂. I'll live that dream through your posts

Where do you live? they're pretty hardy, almost everywhere.
Of course, happy you're enjoying the video, but, you should try it again, this coming spring.

In South Africa 😶 we are moving into summer and it's reaching 35 C (95 F). I'll have to wait till next year I assume?

most onion do take a longer time. Many are 6 months or so. Planting in your world usually is May, and then picking is 4-6 months later, when the tops fall over.

I used to grow chillies and spinach (about all I could get to grow, but in my defense I lived near the beach and the soil was really sandy).

Dead keen on making my own Sauerkraut one day. And bread. A good rye bread, baguette, ciabatta and (of course) sour dough!

I use the grow bags for growing because, I too live near the beach. VERY sandy soil, so I bring in some garden soil, and make my own compost, to make the grow bags more nutrient rich.

Clever!

I had one big pot. Your idea is better 👍

Left Side:
IMG_3405.JPG
Right Side:
IMG_3406.JPG

All together:

IMG_3417.JPG

untitled.gif

Thanks for sharing this. I found it so useful, and I will bookmark this post in case I ever decide to do this.
Great video too - clarity, informative, and nice to listen to:)))

happy to share. if you do plant, feel free to ask any questions you have.

Oh thank you! I just might buzz you. I plan to do some planting while I'm here in Jamaica, and definitely, when I go back to the UK I will be planting some herbs and vegetable in pots (if possible) since I'll have limited space on a boat:)))

herbs do great on a boat in pots.

Yeah, I started growing some, but I had to give them away when we sold the boat. Looking forward to planting a whole lot more next year:)))

Just curious, what kind of boat?

A narrowboat. They are long narrow boats as the name implies, that are made to navigate the UK's narrow canals. Narrowboats are the UK's version of houseboats or Dutch barges.
We lived on this small 28ft one (Badger) for over a year but we sold her to buy a longer one when we return to the UK:)

Here are some longer ones below.

They go as long as 70 ft, but the maximum length for navigating all the locks (chamber) for ascending and descending hills and different levels of the canals is 57 ft... so ideally, we would like to have a boat any size from 45 - 53 ft.

You are indeed great. I follow the next post

thank you kindly

Thanks for the info on dehydrating onions! I've always wondered about this. I'm going to try it now! I love onions!!

thanks, let me know if you have questions

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 134 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
15

Another nice video. I've dehydrated a little using my oven. I just set the temperature as low as it will go and turn on the convection fan. The temperature control isn't very good and I've experimented with leaving the door cracked open to lower the temp a bit. Mostly dehydrated mushrooms. My onions didn't do well this year so nothing to dehydrate there 🙁 I need a better place to plant them next year. They didn't get enough sunlight due to other taller plants.

the other thing is, to make sure you use LONG DAY onions, where you live.
Vidalia and other Southern onion won't do well in VT.

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator priyanarc & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Next time make sure to post / cross-post your creation within the DIYHub community on HIVE and you will receive a higher upvote ;) Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

Dear @bluefinstudios,
Your support for the current HiveSQL proposal (#138) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal so HiveSQL can stay free to use for the community?
You can support the new proposal (#247) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!