How Do I Make Fresh Pesto, From my Garden?

in HiveGarden10 months ago

Pesto.jpg

Making FRESH Pesto from your garden!

Fresh Pesto, right from my garden! I grow quite a few herbs, and use them for many different dishes. Basil grows both outside and all winter long, indoors as well... so, I end up with plenty of basil. For me, I tend make large batches of Pesto, when I am harvesting Basil and freeze some. Check out this short video for how I prepare my basil, both for fresh Pesto Tossed with Pasta, and also, for how I prep it for freezing into ice cube trays, for using in later recipes. My gardens are in New England, zone 6b/7a.

For me, I am growing my own garlic and my own basil! I add fresh Pine Nuts, and the best Extra Virgin Olive Oil I can get, from a farm in Greece. Some people add salt, but I leave that to each person eating, at the table. As well, some pesto's have Parmesan cheese in them, while I prefer to add Parm right on my dish, as it is served.

Please let me know in the comments, are you growing are you growing any herbs? what do you do with all the herbs you harvest?


Consider Sharing and Subscribing on YouTube. It really helps me out if you subscribe to my YouTube Channel...
...and of course, if you SHARE the Video, too! MANY Thanks!



Most of you know, I prefer locally grown food. It's healthier for my family, and for the planet. In fact, I prefer to grow my own food. I know what goes into my foods, and what chemicals are NOT in my food. Also, It cuts down on carbon emissions, less trucking to get fresh foods to my table.




And that makes me smile... better for the planet, better for my own family.




Are you growing and gardening? Are you participating in GroVid23? use the hashtag #growvid23 for your gardening posts, too!


Let me know below in the comments...



#gardening #basil #pesto #recipes #cooking #harvest #gardentips #homesteading


Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below...
and a link to your #GroVid23 garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid23 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy Gardening and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Images by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

7000payout.png10500 replies.png260000upvotes.png
postallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngXmas2022.pngpud.s3.pngverified.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.png



Sort:  

Looks delicious. I like the tip on freezing it. I made some pesto with walnuts last year then it was all from my garden 🙂 well except the olive oil. Walnut trees do well here but not olive trees lol

yeah, the clay and volcanic ash from Italy and Greece really do wonders for Olive trees. Ironically, the valleys of California grow most of our olives in US. No volcanic ash there. Lots of nice fertile soil, though.

I can see Walnuts growing in VT. They like a nice number of Chill hours, as do many fruit trees, too. Not citrus, but apple, pear, berries, etc.

From a trip out to Cali, year or so ago.

IMG_0937.JPG

The orchards in California are crazy. Olives, almonds, citrus, miles and miles of them.

this road had miles of them, you're right: citrus, olives, almonds, and more.

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 310000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 320000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2023

Delicius its amazing to have a garden
Have a great night

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 177 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!PIZZA
8

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Now I am hungry!😂

Having a garden saves money and makes one eat a healthy diet.
#dreemerforlife