THE BEST Beach Plum Jelly

in HiveGarden8 months ago

Beach Plum Jelly.jpg

Beach Plum Jelly From OLD Cape Cod!

A classic Cape Cod Favorite, and the recipe, passed down from my mom! Follow along as I show you step by step how I make Beach Plum Jelly. Beach Plums are a very tart fruit, so, I use a sugar added recipe and add some pectin. This is one of the recipes that mom made, and was a family favorite, on Cape Cod and at home.

The big difference between Jam and Jelly is, Jam contains pulp, and some skins, while Jelly is made with the fruit juice only. Please let me know in the comments, do you make your own jelly and jams? What is your favorite Jam or Jelly? Let me know, below!

My Gardens are in Zone 7a/7b. Thank you, Global Climate Change.


Some of the ingredients I used in this recipe:
• Fresh and frozen Beach Plum
• Sugar
• Pectin
• Jars
• Rings and Kids
• Tiny bit of Butter

#beachplum #makingjam #jelly #garden #gardentips #homesteading #kitchen #recipes #cooking #canning


Consider Sharing this video, and Subscribing on YouTube. It really helps me out if you subscribe to my YouTube Channel...
...and of course, if you SHARE the Video, too! MANY Thanks!


Watch below, to see how I went from bushes to berries,
to a big ole' batch of Jam!



Most of you know, I prefer to grow my own food, locally. It's healthier for my family, and for the planet. I know what goes into my foods, and what chemicals are NOT in my food. Also, It cuts down on carbon emissions, less trucking, planes, trains, and boats, to get fresh foods to my table.

And that makes me smile... better for the planet, better for my own family.




Are you growing and gardening? Are you participating in GroVid23? use the hashtag #growvid23 for your gardening posts, too!


Let me know below in the comments...




Show me your garden!
Leave me a comment, below...
and a link to your #GroVid23 garden!

It's time to take control of your own food supply,
your own health and your own lives.

The GroVid23 Challenge:
Grow Your OWN is not just a simple short challenge,
it's about taking control of your future!

Happy Gardening and Cheers,
BluefinStudios

All Images by Bluefin Studios unless specified.




community.pngScreen Shot 2021-07-05 at 11.53.54 PM.pngsupportbuzz.pnghivefest-6.png

7500comments.png8000payout.png11000replies.png170000upvoted.png310000upvotes.png
postallweek.pngpostallmonth.pngchristmas2018.pngXmas2021.pngXmas2022.pngpud.s3.pngverified.png

birthday1.pngbirthday2.pngbirthday3.png4th birthday.pngbirthday-6.png




Sort:  

These look so good! Wanna have two big jars! 😂

it really is tasty

Then I should have four jars! 🙀

you're the BEST!

I enjoyed watching the video. The process is quite easy. Though if I found myself with that jelly, I will be so tempted to put that jelly in my mouth at each step, from the bush to the washing, to the final stage.I will taste every bit of it😅 especially at the point where you added sugar. Where you not tempted to taste it?🤔 just curious though

I always taste as we go along. The fresh berries are really not tasty... tooo tart. Not sweet at all. But once it goes onto the stove top it starts getting sweeter, and adding sugar makes it amazing. This jelly is going to become gifts for people, this coming Christmas.

One of the benefits gained from gardening is being able to process garden products into various delicious food menus @bluefinstudios

so true, @umirais

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 184 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

When I was a kid, we would gather sand plums from dry river beds in Texas panhandle! Very similar I think. My mom would make jam. I have an interest in doing more with berries now that we are in Vermont but haven't done much yet. Just usually have enough to eat fresh.