Scary Rhubarb not for the faint of heart

in HiveGarden2 years ago

We are putting in a pool and I thought that I got all the plants out of the way, but I was wrong. Lurking, and I do mean LURKING, under the soil was a monstrous mass of tentacles just waiting to give me a fright.
20220510_131304.jpg

I first noticed this octopus like thing when the skid steer operator unceremoniously dumped it out in the first shovel full of dirt. I had no idea what it was except the roots were fat with water and bright orange. I was scared to touch it as the gelatinous alien roots seemed to move independently. I mean--had we unearthed the head of Medusa? Honestly, this photo does not do it justice.

I soon realized that this was my rhubarb plant! Crisis averted.

Note the tiny rhubarb stalks starting to form? These were still underground (and much smaller yesterday). Believe it or not, the stalks have continued to grow since the plant was ripped out of the ground yesterday, although the orange roots have shrunk a little. That is one rugged plant!

Honestly, I thought I had managed to kill this rhubarb last year. The drought has truly put a great deal of pressure on my garden, and sometime in the middle of summer the rhubarb just collapsed and disintegrated into the ground. This Spring, when I checked for life, I saw no sign that the plant had survived the Winter. Clearly, I was over-reacting.

What about you? Has a plant ever scared you? Have you succeeded in killing a rhubarb? Have you suffered an attack by rhubarb?

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

I can confirm that I have absolutely managed to kill a rhubarb plant and now I'm feeling rather ashamed if that's how resilient they are. I thought it was not well suited to our harsh, dry climate...

Considering you are in Australia, it might be extra hot and dry compared to Saskatchewan. I know they like shady spots so perhaps try on the north side of the house---wait would that be the south side for you? I was very impressed with the roots because they obviously can store a lot of water in them.

 2 years ago  

Oh, of course, we really are polar opposites for climate! Yes, it would be south, but our south garden has little shade, so still gets the brunt of the afternoon sun. I'm working on trees to increase the shade coverage.

I am working on trees too! They mostly just die or refuse to grow due to catastrophic drought. I sure need them, though. Not just for shade, but for shelter from the wind.

 2 years ago  

I'm in Ottawa, Canada and my rhubarb was in such a sunny place that it bolted each year before I could harvest stalks. I got rid of it too.

 2 years ago  

Bolting is a big problem with a lot of cooler climate plants here, so maybe the rhubarb is best left out of my garden.

I used to live in Kitchener. That was great soil and reasonable climate.

 2 years ago  

Yes, some of the best farmland in Canada.

 2 years ago  

😂😂😂😂😂 🐙🐙🐙

Congratulations @brittilicious! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

We have finished upgrading our website
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @brittilicious.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more