Forced Chilli Harvest

in HiveGarden2 months ago

I like growing my own food but I am a bit of a lazy gardener. I've been struggling to find the time to do any serious gardening since I became a father. One of the things I like about plants is they pretty much grow by themselves and are a lot easier to raise than kids, but still I do manage to screw that up on the regular too!

Our new house doesn't really have a garden since I haven't done the landscaping. My wife convinced me last Spring that we should at least have a Makeshift Victory Garden for the New Home so those little seedlings I wrote about back then have been doing their thing for a while now. The Tomatoes are done, but the Chillis are still going strong...well, they were.

Cayenne Chillis are pretty hardy plants that don't need a lot of attention but a decent storm came through the other day and they got messed up pretty bad. The biggest one pretty much had it's trunk snapped off and I was hoping that I could tape it up or do something to save it, but today I got the snippers out and put it out of its misery. There is a small green shoot below the break so the plant will hopefully survive and maybe it will have another growth spurt next season.

Thus, I was forced to harvest all the green un-ripened chillis from the broken trunk and there is a LOT there. I normally don't eat them green because I like the heat for my nachos or bolognaise. They are more like capsicums to me at this stage of growth but they still smell good. There's too many all at once for me to eat anyway so I'll try and give them to some friends. Our neighbor is Indian and loves to cook and we have a Malaysian family friend who also is a big chilli lover so I'm sure they won't go to waste. They look good in the photo so I thought I'd share.

Sort:  

My wife tried to make jalapeno poppers once but struggled to crumb the smooth skin of the peppers in order to deep fry them all nice and crunchy. She did okay in the end, but it was a lot of work.

Nice. These ones are probably too thin to make poppers. I don't have the talent for it, but the missus might...

Hehe, children do take more work than plants, and congratulations on being a father.

The chilli pepper does look good, as you've stated, and giving it out is a brilliant move. However, this part got me giggling;

I was hoping that I could tape it up...

Yes, it sounds silly. I meant with grafting tape I thought maybe I could re-graft it or something wacky like THIS

Sutton grafting process, that's sounds fun. Hehe. It really looks good, and maybe you can get to try it out.

Too bad it broke! I love hot chilis! I always have jalapenos, cayenne, serranos, and good old fashioned New Mexico chilis growing. I tend to care for them more than my tomatoes because I love hot and spicy!

Even those green ones should have some nice flavor, but you're right, the heat come on when they turn red!

Very nice. I did get some red ones so will keep those. Still have 3 plants loaded with green chillis so will have a good red chilli harvest soon...

That sucks. We’ve been having crazy ass storms here as well. But it’s just turning to spring here so no gardens yet.

As a lazy gardener I love cucumbers. I just put em in my fence and enjoy 😄 thanks to a nearby pipe they get enough moisture without watering

Chilis are one of the few vegetables that I can actually grow well, but I always end up with way more than I can ever use! These look really great!

It looks like life before being a father is totally different from life after being a father. It must be a wonderful and also maybe a kind of stressful experience

When a person takes care of his own garden, things become much better, but here too, a lot of hard work has to be done, watering is done on time, then the vegetables and plants that we have planted are growed in a good way.