Another Gardening Report

in HiveGarden11 months ago (edited)

It's time for a new gardening report, this time with more fruits, not just green as last time. It's the end of June, which means the middle of the season (roughly), so there are harvests too. But let's take it step by step.

Another Gardening Report.jpg

Yesterday we spent the morning at the neighbors, who kindly invited us to harvest some cherry. He has two cherry trees, this year there's plenty to harvest and he doesn't need the whole crop.

20230630_092841a.jpg

This is what my work station looked like this morning. It's very different from my usual office chair, desk and laptop, I agree. I also agree, that I took some very crappy photos, so sorry for that. Next time I'll do better.

20230630_092830a.jpg

Look what I found. Have you ever seen such cherries? One stem, two cherries. It's the first time for me.

20230630_103116a.jpg

After half an hour, we cam back with two buckets of cherries. All for free and organic too as these trees are not chemically treated.

20230630_103121a.jpg

The next move was to separate the cherry from the tail and wash the fruits. (Again, sorry for the crappy photos. It's difficult to photograph red.)

20230630_103128a.jpg

I'm always saving the tails as it's good for tea. It has a lot of benefits, so why throw away natural medicine. You just have to wash them, let them dry in a dry place and you have your tails for the tea ready.

20230630_143557a.jpg

And here it is, the cherry goodie in the making. Cherry with added sugar, that is going to melt due to being out in the sun. Then alcohol will be added, to make a nice cherry liqueur.

20230630_100940a.jpg

20230630_143442a.jpg

Ok, so let's move on. This is the white currant, that is looking good but not all. Some are dried like raisins, but not all. These needs to be harvested as soon as possible.

20230630_143450a.jpg

This is the red one. Don't get fooled as these are close-up photos, the fruits are tiny, maybe the size of a pea, not bigger.

20230701_092753a.jpg

Look at this beauty. It's a bit dirty due to the recent rain, but that can be eliminated with the 3 washes.

20230701_132136a.jpg

At the time of writing, currants are all harvested, gooseberries are also harvested and the washing is in progress.

20230630_143359a.jpg

20230630_143425a.jpg

20230701_132133(0)a.jpg

Gooseberries are ripe already, so most likely my weekend will be about making jams.

20230627_150149a.jpg

20230630_113113a.jpg

20230630_113119a.jpg

Yesterday I spent an hour harvesting raspberries and today I'm going to do the same.

20230627_150752a.jpg

What seemed like half ripe yesterday is ready to be harvested today. This seems to be a never ending cycle, till September or October, when it's the end of the season.

20230627_150345a.jpg

Mulberry is ripe already, the front yard is full of it and makes a huge mess. Leaves some nasty stains.

20230630_143648a.jpg

Veggies are also looking good. Tomatoes are growing nicely. Bear with me as we have seven types. Yes, my dad is obsessed. I did not take photos of all, but I'll show you the ones that are ready to be photographed.

20230630_143658a.jpg

Look at this cutie pie. Still green, but in 3 weeks it's going to be on my breakfast plate.

20230630_143734a.jpg

These are black cherry tomatoes, a beauty, when it's ripe.

20230627_134056a.jpg

20230627_134100a.jpg

20230627_134148a.jpg

20230627_134214a.jpg

20230627_134241a.jpg

I can hardly wait to see these amazing tomatoes turned red and ready to be eaten. There's nothing better that to go out in the morning and pick your veggies from the garden, for your breakfast. Fresh, organic, healthy.

20230627_134303a.jpg

20230630_143812a.jpg

These sneaky cucumbers were hiding in the shade, under the big leaves. I could hardly find these two. My dad collected the rest previously and I had no gloves to look under the leaves. These leaves are stingy.

20230630_143717(0)a.jpg

Basil is also looking good, pretty soon it's going to end up in the tomato sauce 😎.

20230630_143720a.jpg

Summer savory is ready to help us make pickles.

20230630_143901a.jpg

We are lucky this year with the onions. Dad watered them at the beginning, to help them get a good start, but no watering was needed after. Some years the onions started rotting but not this year. In a month we can harvest them.

20230630_143918a.jpg

20230627_134111a.jpg

Beans are ready to be harvested, I mean the first crop. I can't wait to have the first soup. It's so delicious, healthy and light as well.

20230630_143938a.jpg

Pretty soon I'm going to cook some squash as thins one is ready to be harvested.

20230627_150419a.jpg

I almost forgot the grapes. Chances for something to go wrong are slim and I hope I'm right. Grapes will be plenty this year, so most likely we're going to make wine.

All in all things are going well this year, we can't complain. There are veggies that are not up to the expectations, but just a few and not the main ones. The majority is doing well, so we're thankful so far.

If you're a newbie, you may want to check out these guides:


presearch

Sort:  

You sure have a lot going on which will keep you very busy for a while. The cherries and other berries look delicious. It's great that your neighbor is willing to share some of their goodies.

I like your workstation, a red pale for the red cherries, color coordinated, hanging from a branch in the shade, life is good!

Your garden is spectacular, you must have two green thumbs. untitled.gif

 11 months ago  

Yes, this is how things work around here, if you're in a good relationship with your neighbors. Today we got more cherries 😂. Obviously we also return the favor and give them what they don't have.

Thank you for the nice comment and I'm glad you like the garden. Most of it is my dad's merit, I'm just the helper 😏

The cherries and currents look amazing - I've never seen currents in reality, but they look so nice in your photos. Also, didn't know that there even was such a thing as a black cherry tomato! Don't get me started on my tomatoes, they have been sitting on the plant for the last three weeks - still green because of all the rain and cloudy weather with no sunshine to ripen them. I'm not impressed 😕 Do they rot if they don't sun-ripen on the vine?

 11 months ago  

They look nice but I'd be happy if I never see them again. I grew up with currants and we have many each year. I can't even eat them anymore.

There's black cherry tomato, yellow as well 😀.

Sorry about the tomatoes. I don't think they are going to rot, unless there's too much water or hailing that can damage them. However, without some sunshine and hot weather, it's going to be difficult.

That's such a shame that they've kind of been killed for you in that way. They do make very colourful images though.

I'm keen to now track down black cherry tomatoes just because they are different.

Was chatting to my housemate today and we were trying to work out if taking them off the vine and putting them in the sun would work, they're completed shaded at the moment. I think I need to look it up.

You have an amazing garden. Surely, you're of those people who have a green thumb. My mother is also, but she only plant veggies like string beans, squash, and sometimes tomatoes. And oh, I like mulberries. It's smaller here though, since we live in a tropical country. I guess, the weather affects its growth.

 11 months ago  

Well, I don't know if I have a green thumb or not but this must be done.

The mulberry can be of many types so who knows, maybe you have a different one.

Congrats to your mother for growing veggies.

🤤 currants... 🤤gooseberries... 🤤mulberries... though yes, they leave stains, also on the hands hahahah. I remember my blue fingers every time we went to eat mulberries as a child :D

 11 months ago  

I was thinking of you while writing the post. Last year we had a chat about the currants, remember?

Yeas, stains. I had some clothes hung nearby and they all have black dots on them ☹️, like polka dot pattern. I'm not impressed at all, but lesson learnt.

And yes, I remember how dirty we were back in the day 😂

Last year we had a chat about the currants, remember?

I do 😊

like polka dot pattern

Hahaha, sorry, I know it is not fun, but it reminded me about... Ha pöttyös akkor Túró Rudi

😂😂😂

 11 months ago  

Túróóó Rudiiii 😍😍😍 Csak nem elég, hogy qrva drága, még hízlal is ☹️.
Nálatok van?

Nincs. Szerencsére 😁. Mert hizlal 😂

 11 months ago  

Nálunk van magyar is, meg Lidl-es, román. Mindkettő finom, de mingkettő híízlal ☹️☹️☹️ Not fair!!!

😅😅😅

in my city, which has a tropical climate, fruits like this cannot grow @erikah

 11 months ago  

Yeah, that happens. We don't grow tropical fruits either.

I like to see Cherry Fruit, where I live no one cultivates this fruit, but only occasionally I see it in a market.

 11 months ago  

MOst likely the climate is not suitable. It doesn't grow in a tropical environment.

I think so

Hello dear friend @erikah good day
Wise decision, spend the day outside the office in contact with nature enjoying exquisite fruits.
Making your own wine is great, cherry liqueur and currant jam sounds good to me, it is undoubtedly healthier and more exquisite for being freshly made
the vegetables look great, the tomatoes are almost ready to serve, I love the size of those onions
What a beautiful day you have had, and I appreciate that you have shared this experience

 11 months ago  

Well, if you have a garden, you must spend time taking care of it.
The advantage of making your own drinks and jams is that you know what you're drinking and eating and we try to make everything healthy. This is why we grow our own vegetables as well.

The cherries look healthy, I wonder how they taste

 11 months ago  

This means you've never had cherry in your life Well, it depends on the cherry, some are sweet, some are sour, some are bittersweet. You need to taste it :)

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

 11 months ago  

Thank you!

This is great
It would have been better if plants like this can also grow in my country but I doubt it

 11 months ago  

Everything looks really good! I'm a little jealous. Good to know about the cherry stems. Nice post!

 11 months ago  

Most likely you would not be jealous after a day like today, when I worked from morning till now and now I'm dead tired 😂. Yeah, the cherry stems are definitely a good thing, so look it up if you can :)

White currants are new to me as I only knew about red and black ones. Looks like a good harvest this year and would be fighting over the cherries to make cherry pies and not used for making an alcoholic drink.

 11 months ago  

Then it was time for you to learn something new. The harvest was good indeed and you're not the only one who wanted cherry pie but my answer was an unequivocal NO!

Congratulations @erikah! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - June 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the July edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2023

Congratulations @erikah! You received a personal badge!

You made another user happy by powering him up some HIVE on Hive Power Up Day and got awarded this Power Up Helper badge.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - June 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the July edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2023

Lovely an very "fresh" shots @erikah friend!

!discovery shots
!VSC

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @erikah

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @erikah

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 17/25

 11 months ago  

Thank you my friend.



This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of Discovery-it in collaboration with Visual Shots community.
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
 11 months ago  

WOW that produce looks amazing!

love how you are making the cherry liquor, so cool. Not my fav though as fresh cherries i LOVE (how cools was that odd double one), but cherry flavoured things im not fond of. Its funny how that happens sometimes. i could eat a bag full of fresh cherry, but hate the "flavour" in other things. lol

anyway looks amazing.

I think with everything happened i missed the tomato planing here... ill need to wait to just after mid winter frosts. (we grow ours normally in winter here but dead of winter is not good for NEW plants.)

happy gardening

 11 months ago  

Thank you. Well, cherries ars not for everyone but thank God there are plenty of fruits to choose from.

I hope you can make some progress with your tomatoes. It can be frustrating to miss the season.

Good luck and happy gardening to you too 😊

 11 months ago  

it would be a boring would if we all liked the same stuff.. lol.. and cherries themselves are divine.
Yeah so annoying when you miss a window.

Have a fab day!

Hi @erikah

I really like your plant and like raisins the most and in place I have never seen it just online

 11 months ago  

Yeah, each region has its own variety of plants. I bet you have plants we don't have here.

Yes, that's right, but all these plants that you have I like

Success is always yes there

De no creer la cantidad de cerezas que recolectaste y ni hablemos de las moras jajaja este año se las hice probar a mi hamster y le encantan. Des pues por otro lado ¿Algun consejo para mantener o cuidar la albahaca? Me encanta para condimentar pero generalmente mis plantas terminan muriendo.

 11 months ago  

You have a hamster? 😍 I'm glad he liked the cherries.

Basil is not a fussy plant, it grows here without any problem, but we are watering the garden regularly as otherwise the drought would kill everything. Are you watering the basil?