There is always some work at the garden! March Garden journal

in HiveGarden2 years ago

GridArt_20220320_143109420.jpg

Hello fellow gardeners! Welcome to another recounting of my activities in my vegetable garden. Since I haven't had much time to dedicate to my big projects, I have been doing small tasks whenever I can. I can no longer go out to admire my garden every day, but I try to keep an eye on it. That's how I realized that something was damaging my ornamental plants that are decorating the entrance, several days every time I went out to work I took a quick look and they went from looking beautiful and bushy to being trampled and split. I kept an eye out every chance I got until I found the culprits and they turned out to be... My cat and a neighboring kitten!!!! They started playing among all the plants and ended up making a mess!

GridArt_20220320_135913238.jpg

GridArt_20220320_140331138.jpg

That bothered me a little, but at the end of the day they were just playing and well, plants can grow back. So I took the ones that hadn't died yet and transplanted them, with patience and care they will sprout and become beautiful again!

GridArt_20220320_140536329.jpg

The Roselle plants have gone through many problems, after the leafcutter ants ate it completely, it returned to give leaves and flowers, and just when it occurred to me to think "how strange that the leafcutter ants have not appeared" That night they came again!This time, thanks to the quickness of my neighbor, who managed to devise a trap that prevented these annoying little bugs from getting on the plant, it was saved for a while longer... But a few weeks later they tried again and it seems that they found the trick to evade the trap and take over the leaves and flowers again.

GridArt_20220320_141158303.jpg

IMG_20220204_083914.jpg

Another time when I came home early from work I noticed that the cilantro I had, which had already set seed, had dried up. So it was time to replant! I pulled up the dried twigs, stirred the soil a bit and re-sowed the seeds. I also added some more compost to my chili plants in pots.

GridArt_20220320_141651832.jpg

The most recent tasks I did on one of my days off from work, with my dad, we started to clean all the branches of the passion fruit plant that were on the roof of the house, this had already given enough crops and as it had become very ugly, we had to pull it up, maybe later I will plant this fruit again. We also gave the coconut tree a good cleaning, as it had many coconuts and dry branches that had to be removed.

GridArt_20220320_142007370.jpg

Then I went to see what was under the ocumo plants, which already had enough time to be harvested, the truth is that I didn't have too much hope because I had previously tried to grow sweet potatoes and didn't succeed. So, I was not so surprised that when I pulled them up, there was nothing hahaha. I had one in the ground and one in a pot, and I didn't get a crop from either. Maybe I should have guessed because of the size of the plants, but you never know. What is true is that my soil does not seem very suitable for tubers.

GridArt_20220320_142324493.jpg

Lastly, I pruned my oregano plant a bit, as I saw that it was starting to flower a bit and I know that these types of plants when they flower, they only get elongated and with few leaves. Additionally, I repotted my begonia, which I have inside the house and was starting to look cramped where it was.

GridArt_20220320_142743262.jpg

Well as you can see, this is what I have done during these months, soon I hope to be planting again because there are already many empty spaces and I think the garden looks a little sad like this. I hope you liked the post and that you always find something useful! I'll say goodbye until another garden journal challenge!


Gracias por leerme. | Thanks for reading.
Todas las fotos son de mi autoría. | All photos are my own.

Sort:  
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @hafizullah & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

thanks a lot for the support!!

 2 years ago  

soon I hope to be planting again because there are already many empty spaces

I am excited to see what you are going to be planting. Good luck in advance.

Thanks!!! I'm looking for some corn and sunflower seeds from a REALLY big plant a neighbor has, that's mainly why I am still waiting to plant!! But I have other projects too... you'll know about later ;)

 2 years ago  

You're welcome (^_^)

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Powered by LOTUS token, an alternative health social currency on HIVE. Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thanks for your support!!

Hi @fanyokami. Yes, there are always things to do in our green areas, because not always the conditions are ideal for our plants. I am currently fighting a terrible cottonybug infestation and another white louse infestation, I hope not to lose this battle.

I don't know if I previously recommended the use of shredded cabbage for the treatment of leafcutter ants. You place it on the path they travel in the evening, several days in a row and repeat regularly.

I hope you have good crops. Best regards.

Hello @sirenahippie !! thanks for passing by. I hope you win that battle too, I have treated the cottonybug before with the soapy water left from the laundry, I tried it with a croton plant that was infested and it worked, but you have to be patient and apply to several times, maybe this could be useful to you.

I think I remember you told me about the cabbage trick but this big red leafcutter ants are too strong! once they have setted up their target, they won't leave it easily. Next time I'll put a tire around the plant and that's it!

Thanks again for reading and leaving your comment! I hope you have a nice day!

Congratulations @fanyokami! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 15