A Letter to Our Redeemer Church Bridgeport and Decatur Classical Conversations Family: January 30, 2022

in HiveGarden2 years ago (edited)

Howdy friends. Nate here, writing you a letter on my blog instead of having Melissa send you all a thousand word message on messenger. Plus, I'll earn a few bucks for farm projects this way too. Be sure and read the whole thing, hopefully it'll be some use to someone.

I hope y'all want some rabbit meat (or animals for pets, Katherine!), we've got five mama rabbits coming up with babies in two weeks with four to ten babies a pop. They'll be ready to eat twelve weeks from now when they're seventy days old and each animal will yield about two pounds of meat and a half a pound of organ meat. That's heart, lungs, liver, pancreas, and kidneys. Rabbit is a very lean white meat with more protein and less fat than chicken. Very similar flavor to chicken, but if I fed it to you as chicken you'd think it was the most flavorful chicken you ever had. We use it at our house in recipes that call for chicken, it's fairly versatile and definitely interchangeable. Paul, if there's more than the folks at church want, can Lord Send Me use some rabbit?

IMG_20220122_113140383.jpg
Our new American chinchilla doe, Lola, who will be ready to breed in about four months

If anyone wants or needs strawberry plants, I've got plenty of em and you're all welcome to some. The variety I have is called Ozark beauty, and they'll take over a section of your yard around 20x30 feet in about three years starting with four plants. Ask me how I know! I have plenty of em, and if you wanna grow strawberries, come on over and I'll help you dig em up. I'll be propagating many myself into buckets for more convenient harvest. While I love the forager experience of crawling on my hands and knees through a lush patch of berries, I'm getting too old for such things and it's not very efficient. These berries will be great to grow in whatever size place you've got, from a bucket on an apartment balcony to a whole five acre pasture if you have the time, so they're a great way to start growing some food at home for anyone interested.

IMG_20220122_145406860.jpg
The root ball on one of our new triple crown blackberry plants

IMG_20220130_090328973.jpg
Some young prime ark freedom blackberry plants that we'll likely lose to a vicious chicken attack

Also, I know it's early to be thinking about the hot sweetness of summer, but I've got blackberries on the mind at the moment. This year we should have about double the blackberries from what we had last year, meaning plenty to share. For reference, I had two handfuls of berries a day for two months this last season, so there ought to be enough for my family and one other to have some fresh blackberries. Y'all might wanna do a church competition with jam or cobbler or something, and you're welcome to come pick some when it's time. They're thornless, so it's pain free, no strings (or hypodermic plant needles) attached! This year we're doubling production, next year we'll hopefully have enough for the whole church. I have been working on planting about 35 more canes the last few months. There's tons of thorny wild dewberries all over too. They're super good, but they'll poke the Dickens out of you if you're not careful.

I'm available lately from about 10am to 2pm on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. My address is in the directory, let us know when you're coming!

Odd question, but does anyone in our church have an egg incubator? I need 15-20 chicken eggs hatched out for new laying stock, and will need a boatload of quail eggs hatched this spring in an attempt to bump up my quail meat and egg production.

Also, does anyone need help getting their gardens ready for spring? It's time to start thinking of such things. I've got a good back, a shovel, and a fair bit of seeds to help out if you need.

What's everyone growing this year? Get ready to plant a few extras, let's try and go to the store less as a community. Increased quality of life, less money going away, and it's great to share food from the garden with friends. Y'know, the difference between a gardener and a farmer is that a farmer feeds more than just their family. You're two extra jalapeño plants away from being a pepper farmer. No such thing as food shortages when your food doesn't come from a thousand miles away too!

Things to think on. Y'all have a blessed week and let me know if you need anything.

Nate

Sort:  

Very cool you've gotten so much extra you can share! Love your new bunny!

Ain't she cute?

She comes from good stock. Her mom is a good mom that has big litters. First litters are usually small, but her first was ten kits and every litter since then has been twelve kits. Hoping I can breed Lola to our biggest buck, Thriver that does really good on a diet of local hay and garden scraps. 10-12 big babies every ten weeks is a pretty good deal. We'll see what happens though, I'm oftentimes disappointed when my optimism doesn't work out how I like it to lol

Congratulations @foxfireorchards! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the next Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - February 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  

Abundance seems to be blossoming at your place - give thanks! Gorgeous bunny. I don't know how you kill them. I raised enough chicks to have roosters this year and I SWORE I was going to kill and eat them, but instead decided not to eat chicken and gave them to a lovely Nepali man I met on Facebook, who was thrilled to put food on the table for nothing. Our place reminded him of his grandfather's house in Nepal and he fondly recounted the family farm and how his grandparents would raise livestock but couldn't kill them themselves, and would instead swap them for animals they didn't know and killed them instead! He was going to teach me how to do it but I just couldn't bring myself to take a life. It surprised me as I thought I could be more stoic than that. Anyway, it cemented my decision to not eat meat at all, because I'm not prepared to do it myself until I have no choice. I'm a bit disappointed in myself. On the brightside this morning I didn't wake up to crowing roos.

It's nice you are sharing abundance of this sort with your church people and spreading your enthusiasm for farming into the community. I hope they all take you up on it and there's blackberry jam for everyone.

Don't be disappointed, you learned something :) three cheers for no more crowing roosters though, that gets old, quick! If the hens could make chicks without the rooster, I don't know that I'd have one around. Then again, if they didn't have a point, they wouldn't be around either, would they? 🤔

Love your enthusiasm for sharing the bounty! Isn't it wonderful when you have an abundance!I'm sure this will inspire others to get growing and sharing!