You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Letter to Our Redeemer Church Bridgeport and Decatur Classical Conversations Family: January 30, 2022

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Abundance seems to be blossoming at your place - give thanks! Gorgeous bunny. I don't know how you kill them. I raised enough chicks to have roosters this year and I SWORE I was going to kill and eat them, but instead decided not to eat chicken and gave them to a lovely Nepali man I met on Facebook, who was thrilled to put food on the table for nothing. Our place reminded him of his grandfather's house in Nepal and he fondly recounted the family farm and how his grandparents would raise livestock but couldn't kill them themselves, and would instead swap them for animals they didn't know and killed them instead! He was going to teach me how to do it but I just couldn't bring myself to take a life. It surprised me as I thought I could be more stoic than that. Anyway, it cemented my decision to not eat meat at all, because I'm not prepared to do it myself until I have no choice. I'm a bit disappointed in myself. On the brightside this morning I didn't wake up to crowing roos.

It's nice you are sharing abundance of this sort with your church people and spreading your enthusiasm for farming into the community. I hope they all take you up on it and there's blackberry jam for everyone.

Sort:  

Don't be disappointed, you learned something :) three cheers for no more crowing roosters though, that gets old, quick! If the hens could make chicks without the rooster, I don't know that I'd have one around. Then again, if they didn't have a point, they wouldn't be around either, would they? 🤔