Gardenjournal- My Garden in July

in HiveGarden2 years ago

IMG_20220702_180635.jpg

IMG_20220630_175353.jpg

IMG_20220630_175414.jpg

I went out to take pictures of my garden of some plants that are growing very well. Once again a squash plant has hatched. It has done so in the spot where I have my little 2-year-old land tortoise, Tromkin. There my pumpkin plant was born and the tortoise was feeding on the small leaves but there came a time when the leaves overtook in quantity and managed to spread a lot.
Now there are enough flowers and the little pumpkins are growing.

IMG_20220703_134033.jpg

IMG_20220703_134041.jpg

My old spinach plant disappeared but left a lot of seeds. I sowed some and again it has spread in the same place as the old one only this plant has thrown some more seeds into the ground and from there other plants have been born. They are all spreading on the railings in my living room. There is plenty to harvest and I can share with family and friends.

IMG_20220703_133917.jpg

IMG_20220703_133845.jpg

In January I planted several turmeric and ginger rhizomes but not all of them wanted to germinate as the Atlantic storms are moving more towards the Caribbean these last few months we now have some sporadic storms and allow my plants to receive these waters from the sky. Now they are all germinating.

IMG_20220703_134117.jpg

The fig plant was full of a pest that would not die with homemade natural products, so I had to prune it as small as possible and wait for the sprouts to germinate. It is now leafy again and full of small figs.

IMG_20220703_134338.jpg

IMG_20220703_134523.jpg

The pomegranate plant is also blooming, I just noticed that it is throwing small flowers and so is the soursop plant. It has had many flowers that do not grow to fruition. I must get serious about re-potting my plants. This coming week I must get the humus fertilizer and change the soil in the pots to get the fruits to grow.

IMG_20220703_134248.jpg

This beautiful coffee plant is developing very well in the shade of my dwarf banana plants.

IMG_20220630_175528.jpg

Behind the coffee plant are my red chile plants growing and fruiting. There are few fruits as the heavy storms wash all the soil out of the ground and I have to refill the place with compost.

And this is what else I could see growing again in my garden and pots. Although there are several new cacti this will be another post for another community.

Thanks to my friend @nikv for reminding me and making me this invitation. I did it as soon as I read her appreciated invitation.

I don't know if friends @coquicoin and @ifarmgirl have stopped by but if they haven't I invite them to bring their beautiful gardens here.

You can participate by following this link

All pictures are my property taken with my Redmi note 9 phone.

IMG_20220626_132340.jpg

I am @gertu from Venezuela to the world.

Sort:  

Hi Gertu! thanks for the mention. I hope you are well. Let me see if I can do something. In the last few weeks, my plants are not at their best. We have had a lot of water rationing in the last few days, and they are crying out to me for care. But I'll see if I have time to do something.

In any case, thank you very much for the invitation, and have a great week.🤗

 2 years ago  

Pumpkin and tortoise seem to have found a nice balance, cute :)
I love the coffee plant, I like them so much and I wish I had one, but not enough humidity here!
Happy harvests @gertu!

Thanks @traisto, it's nice to meet you. I mean sometimes we have to go through a lot with plants to get some harvest. It doesn't rain very often here, only now that some storms are passing through. When the storms go away we will have dry weather again but I don't stop planting.

 2 years ago  

I mean sometimes we have to go through a lot with plants to get some harvest.

Oh yes! But totally worth it :)
And we never stop planting, that's the spirit :)

I like it!

 2 years ago  

A lovely post as usual @gertu - you sure have some great plants growing and show yourself to be a talented gardener! I really wanted to grow figs but they died in some very hot weather and I haven't planted another one.

I like figs and have always planted and grown and harvested them. They like the heat and are very water saving.

 2 years ago  

Maybe our season isn't long enough .. no that's not true other people have figs around here. I will try again
.