A Miracle! - April 25, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGarden13 days ago

Crabapple - Poet's eye miracle crop April 2024.jpg

Decades ago I planted a lot of Poet’s Eye narcissus under the crabapple tree. I’d not seen a flower since 2006, until one appeared in 2021. And now another has appeared. This garden hasn’t been cleaned out completely since 2020. So no plant food has been put down. I hope to get to it this year. My little miracle of the day.

Little trees - peach flowers collage crop April 2024.jpg

I finally went over to see how the peach blossoms were holding out. Turns out they are just fine. But on Thursday night they are warning of a hard frost…

Thursday morning I finished putting away stuff from the kitchen disaster then I continued working on seedlings. I was informed my car was well past inspection, so my brother was going to help me get it in to be inspected at 8AM. They said it would be 2 – 3 hours before they could get to it.

MacIntosh - frosted comfrey flowers crop April 2024.jpg

MacIntosh apple – frosted comfrey flowers

So I continued working on the seedlings when I got home and finally finished them. Once that was done, I got the table leaves out of the dining room table and the table cloth cleaned and ready to put away on my next trip upstairs.

New West - lily of valley buds crop April 2024.jpg

New West alcove – lily of the valley buds

I had a lot of phone calls to make and so I sat and did that. It was past time to get the car, but the phone for the garage was busy forever. It was after 11AM I finally got through and found out the car was ready. My neighbor was taking me down, and I would focus on her car (specifically the license plate) all the way home so I wouldn’t get distracted. As it was I left my purse in the garage office and had to retrieve it.

Big garden - Big quince crop April 2024.jpg

Big garden – the big quince in flower

Old North - bloodroot flowers crop April 2024.jpg

Old North – bloodroot in flower

A wildlife magazine for Massachusetts comes every so often. I got one this week and it reviews what they called “spring ephemerals”, plants that come up and flower very early in the spring before the trees leaf out. They live in the understory of woods.

Bloodroot is one of these and they said the roots have a toxic red sap that can cause skin scarring. I’d not had that happen to me when I was weeding them out. But I’ll have to watch out. It also said the seeds of the plant have a property that is attractive to ants. They will carry them off underground, so that’s one way the plant spreads. That being the case, it’s a wonder I don’t have a yard full of bloodroot…

East Shed - freckles violets collage crop April 2024.jpg

East Shed – Freckles violets

Little trees - serviceberry flowers2 crop April 2024.jpg

As I walked along the Little Trees row, I was delighted to see the Allegheny serviceberry has finally taken hold and is growing well.

Little trees - serviceberry flowers crop April 2024.jpg

It is about 5’ high now and had a good many buds too.

Untitled.jpg

When I got back from the car inspection, I didn’t have a lot of time before I was going to an event on hearing at the Senior Center. I learned that my tinnitus is medical, not something audiologists deal with.

Screen door collage crop April 2024.jpg

Once back home I waited for the contractor to arrive to finish the screen door. The magnets I’d gotten to hold it shut didn’t work at all so he’s going to find another type of catch for it. He pointed out it was to get pretty warm on Monday, upper 70’s and I’d probably need it on Sunday night to cool the house down. So he plans to come on Saturday to get the catch on it. It’s got to be a good one to keep a certain cat out at night…

Supervising John1 crop April 2024.jpg

Speaking of, he spent all the time the contractor was there supervising him. I was outside in the garden, so I guess any human is better than none, even if it’s male…

Seventh Fence - daffs in raspberries crop April 2024.jpg

7th Fence garden – daffodils did well against all the raspberries

Small garden - 1 row mulched crop April 2024.jpg

I went out about 4PM and got the carrots finished and then got 1 row mulched. Just 3 more to do on Friday…

Little trees - Lapin cherry flowers crop April 2024.jpg

Little Trees row – Lapin cherry has flowers

New East - 33. Yellow Tulip crop April 2024.jpg

New East garden – one tulip has opened

When I went out to do chores at 7:30PM, the car was dead. Apparently the inspector turned the lights on, and never turned them off. I didn’t notice they were on. So I had to walk to the barn and bring back the charger. My brother hooked it up for me when he got home.

Oxalis flowers crop April 2024.jpg

Oxalis is flowering again

On Friday I have chores, the kitchen to clean up, laundry to finish folding and put away, amendment orders to finish, and a few small jobs to finish. It should warm up by 10AM so I can go out and finish the mulching. Maybe when I’m done, if I’m not too dead, I’ll sit and clean out a flowerbed.

Sort:  

So nice to see more spring flowers. The pink blossoms look very sweet. You did manage to get several things done in a short time. Larry seems to be a very good supervisor!

 13 days ago  

The peach tree is beautiful and I sure hope you don't get that hard frost. So much to do everyday but somehow you get it done, good for you!

Oh, no, I almost never get it done on the day I say I’m going to do it! But mostly it gets done some time….

Are those pink flowers lotus flowers?

One is peach (tree) and the other is flowering almond (2 shrubs). Lotus would not survive here!

Hope the screen door is now okay? The purple color of the oxalis looks gorgeous

It's not quite done. We decided it needed something to hold the bottom edge too, so one day he will install that.