After the Storms - April 11 & 12, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGarden26 days ago

After the storms crop April 2024.jpg

On Thursday I didn’t do much of anything but rest, just so worn out from the first 3 days of the week. On Friday I made it to exercise class. It had started raining on Thursday and was still raining on Friday, off and on.

Pansy umbrella crop Oct. 2021.jpg

I had bought this umbrella in October 2021 at a tag sale. Every time I’ve tried to use it when it rains, the rain stops, so I have never used it. I’d bring it, but it never got opened.

So on Friday, with the torrential rains that came and went, I brought it. It wasn’t raining when I went to get in the car. When I came out after exercise class, it wasn’t raining either. But when we neared my house it started to rain, so I actually got to use it to get into the house.

New South crop April 2024.jpg

When I went out to do evening chores, the sun was out. It had been very warm Thursday night and all day Friday, in the upper 60’s. Lots of things grew in the warmth. This is the New South garden, after I had gone around and stood up all the poor daffodils. I had about 7 that the stems had broken, so I brought them inside.

New West - tulip buds crop April 2024.jpg

Most of the surviving tulips in all the gardens now have buds. This is the big clump of them in the New West garden. They are mostly red with a few yellows.

Magnolia - not quite opening crop April 2024.jpg

The magnolia almost but not quite started to open.

House in evening sun crop April 2024.jpg

You can see the magnolia’s pink glow to the right of the house. The pastures are all green now. I must get out soon to fix fences and get trees cut back. It should be done by the first of May.

On Saturday I have to wash up birdfeeders to free up the clean room sink for washing 16 trays on Sunday. I’ll probably light the stoves sometime during the day as the temps are plummeting. I need to prep for the seed starting on Monday. My general helper is coming at 10AM on Sunday to put up the shelves in the roundtop window and wash the trays. I need to find places for all the plants in that window.

Also on Sunday I plan to start another batch of beef bone stock, along with my neighbor. I have to do it on Sunday because Monday is one of the last 2 cold nights predicted and I need that to cool the big roaster on the porch. So I will have a very busy next 4 days…

Sort:  

The umbrella has very fine prints. Does it ever stop raining over there?
The heat over here is killing, we need a little of your rain 😄

Having rain like this is not usual. But so's the weather the last few years...very unusual.

Your garden is glowing and budding with all those beautiful flowers, I am happy some survived the storm and I'm really looking forward to the bone stock preparations.

That’s a nice umbrella. We need more rain here as the heat waves are unrelenting.
It’s good to have a good rest after being so busy. That magnolia is gorgeous.

Everywhere at my place is very hot iwish i could experience rain here. I can see the tulips are doing great because of the fertile soil and the care given to it.
Kudos to you !

I'm getting unfair downvotes for reasons I don't know about, @spaminator before you downvote this comment, tell me how to trash out this problem you have with me.

I guess that umbrella never wants to be used because you have never gotten to use it for a long period, lol
Your plants are looking well planted and healthy
I love that

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 15000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 16000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!