Flowers and Stock - March 27, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGardenlast month

New Herb - Row 7, rain on lupine crop March 2024.jpg

New Herb, Row 7, lupine in rain

On Wednesday morning I was up at 4AM and got my post up and got the bills mostly done. I’m just waiting on checks to arrive. Then I cleaned up the kitchen and got ready to go to exercise class. My neighbor arrived early, again, at 9:05AM. She’s decided to get there really early so we get good seats. People are ending up in the hall when they come late. So we will be leaving 5 minutes earlier now.

Greening started crop March 2024.jpg

Middle pasture, tinge of green…

I rested for an hour after I got home and then got started on freezing the stock.

Beef stock - very thick crop March 2024.jpg

Once I got the bones, etc out of it and ran it through a sieve, I didn’t have a lot but it was mighty thick. It was really too thick for many recipes. So I added a third again water to it and this is what it looks like. It’s still pretty dense, but should be suitable for recipes.

Beef stock - 8 qts, 1 cup crop March 2024.jpg

I put it into quart freezer containers, getting 8 and 1 cup. Then I cleaned up the mess, except for the cabinet on the porch. I’m not sure if I am going to do another batch of stock, so I left the circle of boric acid, in case.

I think in future the 12# of beef bones will be divided between the 2 roasters instead of trying to cram everything in one. I will get more stock that way.

Big garden - garlic2 crop March 2024.jpg

In the Big garden, garlic is doing pretty well.

Big garden - rhubarb2 crop March 2024.jpg

The cold has kept the rhubarb in the Big garden from growing very fast.

Forsythia, corner - first flowers crop March 2024.jpg

Only one of the forsythias, the most westerly of the old ones, has flowers on it, just on the top.

East Shed - chiondoxas, rose, daffs crop March 2024.jpg

East Shed, 7 Sisters rose, chiondoxas, daffodil foliage

New North - hellebore2 crop March 2024.jpg

In the New North garden, most of the hellebore buds have opened.

South - Daffs 9, 10, 11 crop March 2024.jpg

These daffs in the South garden opened on March 18th and they are still going strong, through snow and torrential downpours.

New South - daffs 14 crop March 2024.jpg

These 2 daff buds in the New South garden will open if we get some sun or warmer temps.

New South - chiondoxa luciliae2 crop March 2024.jpg

These Chiondoxa lucilliae opened on March 14th and they are such a bright cheery burst of color at the end of the walkway to the front porch.

Once the stock was done and the mess cleaned up, I took it easy the rest of the afternoon.

On Thursday I hope to finish the filing of papers as I don’t have anything else going on and it’s to rain all day.

Sort:  
 last month  

The stock looks yummy and I bet it tastes marvelous. The spring flowers are starting to bloom well here too. I wish these cold nights would leave though.

Very beautiful flowers already blooming in your garden and I love the colours they exhibit.

I’m glad that your plants are looking good and healthy
You’re taking good care of them

The beef bone stock should be very tasty 😋. I love the way you prepared all of this and I'm definitely going to try it out.

All the plants are doing perfectly well
For the stock I prefer it rather too thick or watery . Thanks for sharing

All the plants are looking fresh and growing well

It is actually necessary to have a quality rest after a whole long day