I Wasn’t Dreaming - November 7, 2022 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGardenlast year

Start of the day crop Nov. 2022.jpg

On Monday I got the laundry started and finally made it outside about 9:30AM after taking care of some phone calls. This is what the day looked like in the morning, warm, breezy, sunny.

West Herb - cleaned out crop Nov. 2022.jpg

I started off where I’d left off on Sunday, at the end of the South Herb garden. I hadn’t finished the triangle so I got that done then started on the West Herb. The comfrey on the end has gotten serious about invading after 30 years. I had to dig up a bunch of it and move it back into its bed.

There’s also an invasive that came in about 20 years ago, down where the steps into the office are now. It’s finally made it the length of the house and was starting to get entrenched in this garden. So I had more digging to do.

West - cleaned out crop Nov. 2022.jpg

The other end of this bed is the West garden, just a flower garden. The invasive hadn’t made it here yet. Now these 2 are cleaned out, I’ll be able to plant them in the spring, instead of the fall like this year.

New North - cleaned out crop Nov. 2022.jpg

I was on a roll so I kept going around the corner into the New North garden. I had a lot of ferns to cut down and the astilbe. The hellebore has a lot of new growth and looks really good.

It was nearly lunch time when I finished this one. So I anchored the sleds so they wouldn’t blow away and went in for lunch. I rested until 2PM and went back out.

North Corner - cleaned out crop Nov. 2022.jpg

Next was the North Corner garden. As I had recently weeded it, it didn’t take much time to cut down the dead stuff and get the leaves out.

Old North - cleaned out crop Nov. 2022.jpg

I kept going around the corner into the Old North garden. This was another one recently done and I finished it quickly.

East Shed - cleaned out crop Nov. 2022.jpg

I turned around and moved over to the East Shed garden. It had been a while since I’d cleaned this out and it had gotten a lot of oak and catalpa leaves in it. It took a while to finish, but it was a bonus!

Behind the Tonka garage there was a big drift of catalpa leaves again, so I raked them over the bank. Then I put the water barrel into the Tonka garage for the winter.

End of the day crop Nov. 2022.jpg

This is what the front pasture looked like at the end of the day. I couldn’t believe I’d gotten 6 gardens finished today! It had been a beautiful day and I was glad I didn’t waste it. The cold returns tonight, down into the 30’sF, and I will have to light the fires for the first time in nearly a week.

On Tuesday it’s to be cold and windy so I won’t be going out. I’m hoping I will be good enough for a quick shopping trip around 8AM. After that I need to tackle the bags of paper and the boxes on the treadmill. So it will be another busy day, I hope.

Sort:  
 last year  

Great job! It feels so good to get that much done in one day. We may have another nice day today but I think the weather is going to change big time. Stay warm.

You did lots of work. Your garden is big and I love all the little corners of it. I hope to see it flowering one day :)

With it cleaned out now when spring comes I will be able to plant in a timely manner, so hopefully there will be flowers and not all weeds like this year...