Not Lonely Today - April 27, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGarden14 days ago

Ready to load in truck crop April 2024.jpg

On Saturday I was up at 5AM and got the post up. I went out at 7AM to empty the trash shed.

Woodshed - 2 bags inside crop April 2024.jpg

At 7:30AM my son arrived to unload the last bag, in case the wood guy showed up with the wood for the masonry heater. He just tossed it into the shed. The empty bags are on the big pile.

I had finished the trash shed and was collecting my equipment for dealing with the rosebed when I noticed there was stuff in the shed for the masonry heater wood. My son helped me move the fence rails out.

Fence rails crop April 2024.jpg

These are the rails for the fences around the gardens. Many of the posts have rotted out and need replaced. These rails aren’t in great shape either, but I have been unable to find more to replace them. So they are treated tenderly until I can do something about the fences.

Empty new shed crop April 2024.jpg

Once the rails were out of the shed, I moved all the other stuff out and it was ready in case the wood guy showed up.

Some equipment crop April 2024.jpg

I dragged my equipment over to the rosebed.

Rosebed - before crop April 2024.jpg

I had plenty of sleds as it was going to be a mess. In the background you can see the magnolia is all brown from the frosts. My brother got up and we went to the dump.

Little trees - peach, brown top crop April 2024.jpg

On the way out to the dump I noticed the tops of the peach tree branches were brown too. But most of it looked okay. When we got back, it was 9:30AM and I went in to rest and eat breakfast.

Rugosa rose mess crop June 2023.jpg

It got to be 10:45AM and the lawnmower guy hadn’t showed up. I called my neighbor and he’d not been there either. So I headed out to the rosebed. As I had dragged stuff around to the rosebed, I took down the rails and carried them to the pile. Both posts were rotten and needed replaced. So this is a photo from last summer of the mess.

Rosebed - 1 hour's work crop April 2024.jpg

I worked for about an hour and this is how far I got. The lawnmower guy showed up and he agreed to fix the rider and said he had o-rings for the pressure washer hose. He left around 12:45PM and I went back to the roses.

Masonry heater wood arrives crop April 2024.jpg

Next to show up was the wood guy with the first of 2 loads of wood. He had a helper and they started unloading and stacking it. I went back to my roses.

Trellis repair crop April 2024.jpg

I reached a point where I could get 1 trellis out and both of them needed repair. So once I’d gotten the second one out of the mess, I went and collected repair materials and 2 metal posts. There aren’t any rails to support them now.

I got them repaired and the contractor showed up to put the ball catch into the screen door to be a closer. I went back to the roses.

The wood guy came over to me at the roses and announced that the wood in the shed wasn’t mine. Somehow he and his dad had gotten mixed up. So I got half the wood I ordered and he left to bring the other half to the other customer. Someday, soon I hope, we both will get all our wood… So they finished up and headed out.

Rosebed - as far as I got crop April 2024.jpg

I continued to fill sleds and another truck came up the driveway. It was the old carpenter returning my bathroom info. He’d gotten a new-to-him truck in exchange for remodeling a bathroom. We visited for a while.

He had a large stainless kitchen sink in the back of his truck and asked if I wanted it. I’d been thinking of setting up an outside wash station and it would be perfect for that. After visiting a bit, he left and I went back to my roses. Soon I had filled all my sleds and gotten the worst of the dead and overgrowth off.

Rosebed - as far as I got2 crop April 2024.jpg

In this shot, you can see 2 of the lilacs are leaning into the rose bed, on the right. I’m going to have my brother cut them down, once they stop flowering. This will give the Damascus rose more light and room.

By this time it was nearly 4PM and I was mighty tired so I quit. I still have a few hours work cleaning out the underneath and tying the canes to the trellises. But the worst of it is done. My son dumped all these sleds over the bank for me.

Before he left, I asked the contractor if he could put up simple supports so we could get the fence rails overhead in the masonry heater shed. So we worked out what was needed and he hopes to get to it before the next load arrives, while he can still work in there.

Baby bunny crop April 2024.jpg

This is the little bunny I saw outside my bedroom window a week or so ago. It lives in the stones stored there.

My brother came home about this time and he decided to start cutting limbs on Sunday along the edges of the pasture so the hay guy can get in without hitting his tractors. So he went up to check the powered pole saw as it had not been used in 2 years.

I had supper, a shower, started the stove (hopefully for the last time), and went to bed.

On Sunday we head out about 9AM to start the limb cutting and will work until noon or so, I think. I have a classical concert I’m going to with a friend in the afternoon.

Sort:  

Oh my! The bunny is so cute, it reminds me of a friend of mine who had a female bunny.
The peach tree is so beautiful, i hope i get to eat from it when it starts producing…haha

It’s got to make it through a few more frosts before we can know if it will have fruit….

You have a good son who is always helpful
Your stamina for work is very amazing

There is always something to do on the farm everyday. I wish I had a dark but getting a land is expensive. I’m sure I’d still get a farm someday though

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @goldenoakfarm! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

The peach tree has a beautiful colors
The rose are also beautiful, you have lots of equipment for work in your garden