Out and About - March 18, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGardenlast month

East of Steps -7. Daffodil Tweety Bird crop March 2024.jpg

East of Steps: Daffodil 'Tweety Bird'

On Monday morning my general helper asked to come on Friday instead, so I didn’t have to set up for making chicken stock. I got the kitchen cleaned up and worked on the seedlings. The kale is up, but no onions and leeks. This is a bit worrying as I think I was using last year’s seed. Allium seed doesn’t last much past a year.

My neighbor picked me up at 9:10AM and we headed to exercise class.

becky_dodie March 2024.jpeg

source

These are my instructors. They take turns doing the class. I made it through class and came home. I finished the seedlings and watered them and some house plants before having lunch.

Entomology.jpg

source

The Senior bus picked me up at 12:45PM for this entomology talk by a professor at Hampshire College. He’d brought lots of specimens of all types of insects, books on insects, and microscopes for looking at tiny parasitic wasps.

Brian Schult.jpg

“An agricultural ecologist and entomologist who does research at the Hampshire College Farm Center, Schultz has spent a number of years in Central America and the Caribbean studying methods of insect pest control.”

source

He was very interested in using parasitic insects to control pests on crops. He also is interested in reducing inputs for farmers and creating better markets for their produce. I would have liked to stay longer after his talk, but I had an appointment at home for 2:30PM, so the bus brought me back.

It’s still pretty cold and windy so no outside work at all, it looks like for the rest of the week.

New East - 4.Jonquil bud crop March 2024.jpg

New East: Jonquil bud

I rested for the afternoon and then went to the barn for chores.

Nervous deer1 crop March 2024.jpg

The deer were obviously very upset by my appearance. I went back to the house and got the camera and back to the barn.

Nervous deer2 crop March 2024.jpg

Very perturbed by my photography, as you see.

New South - 49. Chiondoxa lucilliae2 crop March 2024.jpg

These Chiondoxa lucilliae are right at the corner of the New South garden where the walkway to the front porch ends. I decided to wander around the house to see what else was opening.

New West - 4. crocus crop March 2024.jpg

New West: #4 crocus

East Shed - 5.Chiondoxa forbesii Blue Giant crop March 2024.jpg

East Shed: #5 Chiondoxa forbesii ‘Blue Giant’

East Shed - 8.Chiondoxa forbesii Blue Giant crop March 2024.jpg

East Shed: #8 Chiondoxa forbesii ‘Blue Giant’

On Tuesday I have 2 appointments and I hope to spend the rest of the day finishing the plant notes. I’m sick of the mess the office is in because of them spread everywhere. My brother and I plan to make @sunscape’s chicken recipe tonight, and yes, the chicken is thawing!

Sort:  

Your teachers didn’t fit the usual gym coaches! But they seemed very nice and kind to work with.

The weather must be really cold again. Even the deer have to search for food in your garden! Hope they would find more food in the forest.
Spring flowers are coming along slowly. Hope to see a bright and warm spring season soon!

Not much in the forest for them, but the grass is growing in the pastures.

Oh! I hope the weather would change to much warmer to e soon. Trees and plants need bright sunshine to thrive.

Oh, we mostly have had bright sunshine,. but it's been very cold and windy.

 last month  

I love that you enjoy your exercise class and learning more about growing. You do keep busy. I hope the deer leave your garden alone this year. That is a lot of them and I am sure soon to have babies too. Yikes! I hope your chicken saltimbocca is tasty for you both. Hugs ♥

So far, except for this winter when the snow covered the ground, the deer have never been a problem. Knock wood…

Greetings friend I love your barn is beautiful to see some animals, apart the garden your blue giant flowers, the azafrain, and the jonquil bud are small but beautiful.

The flowers are gradually opening up around the yard even if the weather is unpredictable at the moment.
I would love to see you prepare chicken broth the way @sunscape makes them.

That will be tomorrow's post!

I think you’re obsessed with the beauty of daffodil flowers. They are usually very beautiful though and I hope you enjoyed your exercise class with your instructors and also your neighbor

Rest this week with some beautiful flowers there 😊

The conversation about insect pets control seems interesting 😊

Hello lovely lady! 😊

Do the deer stay that relaxed every time you go outside? If so, I bet you could get some spectacular pictures of them. They are very pretty and are staying out of your garden, while fertilizing your lawn, a win-win, for you all. 😊

I'm looking forward to seeing some deer here, though it hasn't happened yet and we've been here almost 17 years. We have been blessed to get to know quite a few squirrels, chipmunks, a whole slew of different bird species and the turkeys have gotten very brave this year and that's been very cool for us. 😊

Oh, my land, it's time to get supper started...where did the day go, it was just after noon the last time I looked at the clock. Okay, that means, I've got to say goodbye for now and chat with you again soon. 😊

God bless you and your wonderful family. Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! 😊

They better stay out of my lawn! That was the back 40 behind the barn...

Oh, that is good, at least they aren't going for your gardens. 😊

You exercise a lot, you must be very physically fit.
The flowers are blooming everywhere and bursting with colours 💐
The deer are out there like that? Are they not edible?

No, I am a VERY long way from fit after having covid in November. I'm going to classes to try to get fit enough to work in the gardens this year.

Yes deer are edible, but the hunting season runs from October 1 to January 1.

I'm so sorry to hear about that, I pray for your recovery. 🙏

The pictures are amazing and truly beautiful told, the flowers are beautiful

Thanks!

He was very interested in using parasitic insects to control pests on crops

I'm really interested in this because it should be quite innovative, and we can eliminate the use of pesticides.
Your garden is really looking good.

Another way to control pests is to make your plants so healthy they can kill the bugs. This is the method I use, because it means I am eating very nutritious food.

~~~ embed:1770454271827312647?t=aB7VuCqR38JTmmyjtgfiEg&s=19 twitter metadata:YWRlbmlqaWFkZXNoaW43fHxodHRwczovL3R3aXR0ZXIuY29tL2FkZW5pamlhZGVzaGluNy9zdGF0dXMvMTc3MDQ1NDI3MTgyNzMxMjY0N3w= ~~~