Prepping Again - March 13, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGardenlast month

Sunrise crop March 2024.jpg

On Wednesday morning there was a spectacular sunrise. I got a load of dishes done, chores done and some of the laundry put away before my neighbor picked me up for exercise class at 9:10AM.

I was exhausted when I got back at 10:45AM and slept for an hour in my chair until my general helper arrived. I had made a list of what I thought we needed to bring up from the cellar while sitting at breakfast.

So she went down and started collecting it.

Dining - all lights up crop March 2024.jpg

We did the dining room first and put all the lights up even though we won’t need them on this round.

Shims for shelving crop March 2024.jpg

The shelves were more even this time, just needing 1 shim on one end. I keep them labeled so we don’t spent time trying out different ones.

Porch - south lights up crop March 2024.jpg

Next we got all the lights up in the south porch window.

I’d not finished the notes on the porch set up last year. So I updated all the notes as we went along.

Porch - north lights up crop March 2024.jpg

Then we got the north porch window nearly done. I will need to go to the hardware store soon and get more chain for the top light. It needs really long chain and for some reason, I don’t have any for it, even though it’s been set up before.

I got the timers working and checked all the light bulbs. Then we cleaned up the mess and by the time that was done, I was exhausted. So I sat down and she went to work washing the last 5 trays we’d need.

She has a cold so when she finished the trays, she decided to leave early. But we ended up sitting outside in the sun for a while as neither of us was up to garden work.

She will be here at 8AM on Thursday morning and we will get 7 trays started. Once the mess is cleaned up, we’ll decide if we are able to do some garden work. It’s to be the last nice day until next week.

Sort:  

A spectacular Sunrise indeed! The Sun is dazzlingly beautiful and after so much snow the past few months, it's should warm things up a bit.

It's indeed a spectacular sight to behold and I wouldn't mind sitting to admire this blazing red Sunrise.
Hardwork as usual 😊

You're a super woman. I admire your energy for work, continue the good job you are doing with your helper and always have some rest.
The porch is splendid

You did a lot of work today. You really accomplished some tasks and I love that. Keep it up and make sure you have a good rest