The Greenhouses of the Mt Holyoke - March 10, 2024 @goldenoakfarm

in HiveGarden2 months ago

Mt Holyoke2 - bulb show and cactus house outside crop March 2024.jpg

Once we’d finished going around the Bulb Show, in the long section above, we went into the greenhouse at the end. That’s the cactus house.

Mt Holyoke2 - cactus house3 crop March 2024.jpg

There are a lot of different types and several were flowering.

Mt Holyoke2 - cactus house1 crop March 2024.jpg

Mt Holyoke2 - cactus house2 crop March 2024.jpg

This one made me think of a knitted stocking.

Mt Holyoke2 - cactus house4 crop March 2024.jpg

From there we went back through the Bulb Show and over into the house where the extra plants for the Show were.

Mt Holyoke2 - backup house outside crop March 2024.jpg

This greenhouse has 2 sections and is used for extra plants, by the students for their projects, and as a potting shed.

Mt Holyoke2 - backup house grapefriut buds crop March 2024.jpg

We found a grapefruit with buds and fruit.

Mt Holyoke2 - backup house grapefriut crop March 2024.jpg

From there we went into a hot house for orchids.

Mt Holyoke2 - orchid and pond house crop March 2024.jpg

This house is also divided. The section to the left is for the orchids, and the section on the right is what I call the pond room.

Mt Holyoke2 - orchid house crop March 2024.jpg

I had gotten a photo of the blue flowered vine in this room in the post last week. This week this plant was flowering, but very few orchids.

Mt Holyoke2 - pond house crop March 2024.jpg

Last week I had gotten a photo of the water lily in the pond room. It was still flowering but the water drops on the floating plants caught my eye this time. There was a family with children in this room and they had spotted a frog in the pond.

Mt Holyoke2 - greenhouse outside crop March 2024.jpg

There is another greenhouse off the cactus room but it’s not open to the public.

Mt Holyoke2 - big house1 crop March 2024.jpg

So we went into the big greenhouse. This flower was right at the entrance.

Mt Holyoke2 - big house2 crop March 2024.jpg

We took the right side path around and there were coffee beans ripening.

Mt Holyoke2 - big house inside1 crop March 2024.jpg

In the center of this house are the huge plants like banana trees, cacao trees and others, reaching way up into the cupola.

Mt Holyoke2 - big house inside2 crop March 2024.jpg

In the center, there’s a bench to rest on. It faces these back doors. I love the details in this very old greenhouse. I’ve never taken photos of it from outside, so I decided to do so on this visit.

Mt Holyoke2 - big house outside1 crop March 2024.jpg

Mt Holyoke2 - big house outside2 crop March 2024.jpg

I climbed up the hill on the far side to get another angle.

Mt Holyoke2 - big house outside3 crop March 2024.jpg

This is the door seen from inside.

Mt Holyoke2 - big house outside5 crop March 2024.jpg

And a shot of the detail in the windows. It looked like all the greenhouses had had their windows coated with a sort of white wash to probably cut the sun a little. They all had fresh streaks on them. I’d noticed it on the Bulb Show house first.

If my sister ever hits the lottery, this is the sort of greenhouse I would want.

atkins-present.jpeg

source

My friend didn’t want to go home just yet so we decided to go to this farm market as neither of us had been in years. It had changed some since I’d last been there.

I looked at the plants area and then wandered the aisles. They had extensive vegetable and fruit section but almost none was organic. We got a snack and decided to go to a local garden store to look for dianthus seeds. I found 2 packets so I was set.

The taste of things title crop March 2024.jpg

She still didn’t want to go home so we decided to go to a small local movie theater. We decided on a “culinary romance” movie.

The taste of things trailer crop March 2024.jpg

It was set in France I’m guessing late 1800’s - early 1900’s. I was fascinated by the wood stoves and the extensive cookware collection.

Taste.jpg

source

But the amazing thing about this movie was the cooking! And the different foods being prepared. We both loved the movie and I wanted to see it again so when I got home I looked to see if there was a DVD for it. It isn’t to be released until May 7th. This is a movie I would watch over and over again I think.

Taste2.jpg

source

I got home around 4PM and was exhausted.

Raining and flood crop March 2024.jpg

The day had started out raining and flooding but had stopped by the time we left for the greenhouses.

Onions and mesclun seedlings crop March 2024.jpg

I had to thin the onions again and take the board out from underneath them as they had nearly reached the lights.

Larry helping crop March 2024.jpg

Larry likes his new bird watching post.

On Monday I have exercise class, then home, then back to the Senior Center for a lecture on Bird Migration.

Sort:  

These are exotic and I was dumbfounded for awhile. Look at all the beauty Nature has got to offer, being alive to watch all these should make one grateful.
Thanks for sharing.

I didn't know Cacti could be this beautiful, there's this one that looks like a ball of yarn and then that one like knitted socks... Just amazing. Everything about the greenhouse is simply amazing.

That’s why we always visit all the houses when we go, they are just so cool!

Your region is beautiful and that greenhouse with the plants inside is a stunner. But why do they grow trees inside it? Oh stupid! It must be to protect them from the weather.
I like Larry.

Wow
Cacti is extremely beautiful
These are great shots and I also love the plants
They look healthy