Visiting an organic farm in Peru.

in HiveGarden2 years ago

I had been meaning to visit my girlfriend's organic farm for a while now, but something always came up and it just wasn't possible... until today.

The farm is just over an hours drive from Lima, Peru. We headed off this morning around 6:30 am to avoid the morning rush hour. If you are unlucky enough to get caught up in it, the same journey can take over 2 hours and trafic here can be super frustrating.

The team here have been working extremey hard to make this farm an organic one and they even produce their own organic fertilzers.

IMG_20220816_083105.jpg

IMG_20220816_081006.jpg

Being the middle of winter here in the Southern Hemisphere, not everything is bursting with life but give it a couple of months and this whole area will resemble the Amazon Rainforest.

IMG_20220816_081156.jpg

Some plant beds are not being used at the moment, but there are plans to fill them with lots of fresh goodness.

IMG_20220816_081317.jpg

In the background, there are over 5 different types of tomatoes being grown here. I was told to wait for a few more weeks before these are harvested. I can't wait to be making my signature tomato sauce.

IMG_20220816_083054.jpg

IMG_20220816_083056.jpg

I managed to score some chives and various types of Basil. The there was one plant that was randomly growing, one that is considered a weed here and in most places around the world. I picked some fresh Nettle leaves to turn into a super food soup. Yes, Nettles are considered a super food.

I hope to come back to the farm in a couple of weeks. If I do, I will take more photos and post to share with all of you.

Please note: All rewards earned from this post are to be directed to the @lobitos account.

Sort:  

Wow look at all that wonderful food, that will be some harvest xx

Amazing food. It is incredible how organic food tastes so much better than the normal stuff. I just wish the prices were normal too. Thank you for your upvote.

 2 years ago  

i have never had nettle soup, i hear it is delicious, but having been attacked my stinging nettles one too many times i am not sure that i could eat them :-)

Thanks for sharing.

Blingit

I last had nettle soup as a kid in France. Yesterday, when I told people I was going to make a soup with the nettle leaves, they thought I was slightly bonkers hahaha. When I made it and they tasted it, they asked me for the recipe and were so suprised with all the benefits of nettles.

 2 years ago  

You'll have to share your recipe for that signature sauce, if it's not secret. 😁

@tipu curate 2

I will be making more of this soup on Thursday. I have people around me in Peru who want the recipe too :) thank you for your upvote.