You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive Garden Bi Weekly Comment Challenge: Win Hive

in HiveGarden • 2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20221013_121041.JPG

When it comes to gardening and speaking of memories of it with ny family, actually there's a lot of it but it's rare for us to take pictures because we don't have photographer 😅 So I just put the latest photo of me and my grandma harvesting some peanuts.
Also my grandma is very active in gardening since I was little and she was the one who taught me all the knowledges I know about gardening. She's actually shy to show her face that's why that one was stolen, as you can see she hid her face just to be safe haha.

When I want to do some stuffs in our garden in the field, she's always with me and do some things also. We planted a lot of vegetables already and harvested them before. We plant different vegetables here in our place such as eggplants, string beans and many more.
Also we are active also in planting different cactus, my grandma was the one who's expert in that one. She collects and sell some of them.

Sometimes I go with my cousins and teach them all the things I know also for them to be knowledgeable about gardening because as I said to them many times, if you will not know how to plant and grow your own foods then in the future you'll starve to death because you can't depends on other people always.

You gotta do it with your own hands. If your hands might get dirty then it's okay as long as you have some fruits, vegetables and other crops to harvest later..
When we go to do some gardening , there's always something I can share to them and that's what make the whole experience memorable and worthful.

I will be always grateful to my grandma and to my late grandpa also for filling me with all the infos about gardening. With it I can live on my own already.😊

Sort:  

What an amazing legacy your grandparents have left for your family!! Here in Thailand, too, the grandmas are the ones in the local market selling off the excess that they've grown. I love that and often buy from them.

You are so lucky to learn gardening from your grandma. I could tell through the picture she is a true gardener. And so good of you teaching your cousins too. I agree with you, if we want to live our lives sustainably, we need to know how to grow our own food. That's why I am learning it too, experimenting and growing vegies in my small window 'garden'.

 2 years ago  

Oh that's good that you're into gardening also. In no time you'll produce all the stuffs you need in cooking.
Hoping that she can teach me more especially when it comes to gardening.