Hive Garden Bi Weekly Comment Challenge: Win Hive

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Welcome to the once a fortnight aka biweekly comment challenge! It's my favourite time of the fortnight, where we get to have a fun conversation and learn a lot about each other. This week, given my grandson's birth, the theme is FAMILY.

Adobe_Express_20221010_1428560_1.png

It could be a memory of your family home and the garden there, or it could be how the whole family join in the garden experience. It could be learning from family, visiting a family member's garden, educating your children on gardening and plants, or even feeding your family.
Maybe your son hates gardening or your husband wouldn't know a rake if it hit him in the face You can interpret the theme in anyway you like!

Please make sure:

  • you come back and engage with others through the week
  • you share a photo if you can
  • your comment is at least 50 words long - make it worth it
  • you CAN share a post if you like, but make sure you summarise that post as a comment so it's easy for others to come back to.

You'll also get upvotes from me and Hive Garden, relative to effort and fulfilling requirements.

Last week's winners with 5 Hive is @dora381. Congrats!!! I award up to 10 Hive, sometimes less, depending on my wallet and how many people join in.

@plantstoplanks @sofs-su @nikv @owasco @buckaroobaby @farm-mom @thebigsweed @polesinns @andrastia @holisticmom @queenoftheworld @porters @amygoodrich @fanyokami @phoenixwren @anafae @tanjakolader @yolithy24 @andrastia @minismallholding @goldenoakfarm @nateonsteemit @sanjeevm @kennyroy @simplymike @dodovietnam @babeltrips @trangbaby @kaelci @shanibeer @proto26 @ifarmgirl @foxfireorchards @artemislives @edprivat @meesterboom @momogrow @attn @luckylaica @blingit @traisto @skylinebuds @fotostef @tydynrain @hindavi @vibeof100monkeys @samstonehill @anttn @friendlymoose

With Love,

image.png

My Post.jpg

HG SMALL.png

Join The Hive Garden Community! The HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY supports gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!

Sort:  

Family in the garden? This touches a slightly tender spot for me. Our "family" has always been pretty darn small - just the two of us actually, just me and my girl. And she is NOT a gardener. 😆 Gets anxious about snakes and slugs and all sorts of little garden critters. Worries about her nails. AND YET... when I got out there to do some of the BIG JOBS (like slashing or hacking) there she was... helping me... and making the job feel shared.

In August I took her to Europe, to university, and away from me. She's likely to be away for 4 years at minimum... and probably as long as 10 to complete undergrad, 2 years working and her Masters. If all goes to plan. We've agreed to do our meetups in Europe for the first 18 months, at least, and do some traveling together.

Here she is, bravely doing her last Garden Day with mama, in late July.

atravelgarden9.jpg

Tomorrow is a public holiday here in Thailand and I'm going to tackle the waist-high growth in the yard alone. Just me. While I don't mind being alone, per se (quite like it most of the time), it's the first time without her standing on the porch with a cool drink, and doing her best to help. I'm feeling a tiny bit of that loss right now, just writing this.

I miss her more than I can say. And yet, for her own blossoming, we (our little family) needs to get through this fallow field time. *I wonder how much our trees and plants FEEL when we relentlessly "cut them back hard"... "for their own good".🤔

 2 years ago  

How beautiful. I can imagine her squealing over bugs or being annoyed at her nails. Jarrah hated hard gardening - digging, pruning, lifting - and could not give two shits about plants. He joked if he had a garden, he'd concrete it. He now lives in an apartment in the west. Now, something tells me that he'll end up with a garden, because... Kids. 🤪

And Ploi will have little pot plants of flowers on her study desk or balcony...

I watched Handmaid's Tale last night and Serena was putting flowers in a vase and talking about how pruning encourages growth. She's a bit of a threatening presence at times so the words were tinged with something ominous! Your use of this symbol is less so, and very poignant. I know exactly how you feel, having done it myself. You think of them constantly and keep forgetting they are there, wanting to call out to them in their room or cook for two. It does pass. And next thing it's seven years on and you realise the bird HAS grown feathers and they are very, very lovely. And you've had a little part in that.

Your comment remind me about my childhood when I used to help my Mum in our rice fields. Lots of hard work but I appreciate every moments we had. It nurtures my love for gardening and plants.

Ah and I am sure your trees and plants will miss her too. I do believe plants can feel us and hear us. Thank you for sharing with us your moment with your garden and your girl.

 2 years ago (edited) 

IMG_20221013_121041.JPG

When it comes to gardening and speaking of memories of it with ny family, actually there's a lot of it but it's rare for us to take pictures because we don't have photographer 😅 So I just put the latest photo of me and my grandma harvesting some peanuts.
Also my grandma is very active in gardening since I was little and she was the one who taught me all the knowledges I know about gardening. She's actually shy to show her face that's why that one was stolen, as you can see she hid her face just to be safe haha.

When I want to do some stuffs in our garden in the field, she's always with me and do some things also. We planted a lot of vegetables already and harvested them before. We plant different vegetables here in our place such as eggplants, string beans and many more.
Also we are active also in planting different cactus, my grandma was the one who's expert in that one. She collects and sell some of them.

Sometimes I go with my cousins and teach them all the things I know also for them to be knowledgeable about gardening because as I said to them many times, if you will not know how to plant and grow your own foods then in the future you'll starve to death because you can't depends on other people always.

You gotta do it with your own hands. If your hands might get dirty then it's okay as long as you have some fruits, vegetables and other crops to harvest later..
When we go to do some gardening , there's always something I can share to them and that's what make the whole experience memorable and worthful.

I will be always grateful to my grandma and to my late grandpa also for filling me with all the infos about gardening. With it I can live on my own already.😊

What an amazing legacy your grandparents have left for your family!! Here in Thailand, too, the grandmas are the ones in the local market selling off the excess that they've grown. I love that and often buy from them.

You are so lucky to learn gardening from your grandma. I could tell through the picture she is a true gardener. And so good of you teaching your cousins too. I agree with you, if we want to live our lives sustainably, we need to know how to grow our own food. That's why I am learning it too, experimenting and growing vegies in my small window 'garden'.

 2 years ago  

Oh that's good that you're into gardening also. In no time you'll produce all the stuffs you need in cooking.
Hoping that she can teach me more especially when it comes to gardening.

Family memories in the garden? We really have a lot because gardening is a part of our life. Since I was young, my parents teach us how to do a garden, how to plant some vegetables, how to take care of them until we can have some harvest. My parents taught us how to be patient in waiting the harvest and how to be thankful when the harvest is at hand.

When I got married, I am happy because my husband also love gardening. We both prefer planting vegetables than flowers. That's why our frontyard looks like this.

IMG20221013101956.jpg

We do hang vegetables instead of flowers. 😀

IMG20221013102020.jpg

As a parent, we also want our son to love and enjoy gardening. So, in his very young age, we allow him to enjoy the soil, enjoy planting,and let him harvest and eat the plant he planted and cared for. He always there to help, wanted to plant, remove some weeds, water the plant and above all to have some harvest.

IMG_20221013_101345.jpg

Now that's MY kind of a front yard!! Love that you're teaching your boy to get his hands dirty in the best kind of way - our world needs so much more of that!!

omg I love your garden, look at your plants, they are so happy. Me too I like growing vegetables more than flowers. If I have rooms in my place, it will be to grow vegetables and fruits first. Oh I do wonder if you grow enough to sell as well? The garden looks quite big and I think it will be plenty for your family.

Oh we didn't sell, we just eat it and share some blessings to others, to our neighbor, friends and family. That one that seems big in the picture is an old garden. For now we planted some banana trees there and some cassava.

My uncle has been in the plantation world for more than 40 years. This is also what made me interested in gardening for the past 3 months like my previous post.

Gardening is said to be incomplete if plants are not added more nutrients from the outside, namely fertilizers. To help accelerate plant growth while protecting plants from pests. quite multifunctional. Uncle finally taught me to make organic fertilizer from household waste such as vegetables and fruits that were deposited with water in a container for 3 months. Of course, there are tips for the mix ratio.

This liquid fertilizer, called an eco enzyme, is said to be very beneficial for plants, and of course, it remains environmentally friendly among many farmers who use chemical fertilizers. As a result of this chemical fertilizer, he said, which also contributed to the depletion of ozone, groundwater pollution, the possibility of soil that is no longer friable, and other environmental pollution.

He taught me many things, I hope my uncle stays healthy and can see my harvest later.

 2 years ago  

I'm so amazed by how much everyone listens to the knowledge from their elders. I read your post on this today and loved it. Thanks for sharing!

Of course, parents have more experience and it is very pleasant to talk to them 😊. Always healthy for you and your family

A few days ago I passed by the house that once belonged to my parents and in which I spent part of my childhood.

It had a nice patio with beautiful fruit plants, plums, apricots, orange trees, some vegetables and various garden plants.

The house was sold due to hereditary needs and looking from the outside my heart sank.

The beautiful fruit trees had been uprooted (many people resent having to sweep up the leaves that fall off in the fall it seems).

Nothing remains of the beautiful garden that used to be. All cemented, of a sadness that goes beyond the imaginable.

It seems to be the new wave in my town. Cement, tiles, tiles, the green is gradually disappearing. Walking during the summer and trying to find some shade is utopian.

I managed to rescue some plants with very pretty white flowers and take this photo. It is the only thing that remains of the beautiful garden that populates my childhood memories.

 2 years ago  

Oh no that's awful! I never understand people that don't like gardens! What a shame.

I love this comment challenge. Precisely my friend @Erica told me that it was good for me to participate more in the communities. I love this community so I'm going to talk about nothing more and nothing less than the fundamental basis of any society The Family. I have a very big one hehe we are twelve siblings and we were all raised by my heroine My mother to whom I thank practically what I am. My siblings are a fundamental part of it since we are very close. Currently we are all good men and women, professionals and workers with wonderful children who are my nephews; so it was worth all the effort that our parents made to give us values and principles both spiritual and moral to be able to contribute something to this society that every day is deteriorating. My mother taught us to love nature, she is 84 years old and we still enjoy it. She is jealous of her garden, but when we go she gives us little children of her plants so that we can plant them in our homes, she does not like us to touch her plants and she has a very beautiful garden. She has flowers and medicinal plants ufff quite a lot hehe. I will show you her garden I hope you like it. Oh and congratulations to @corrientesderio for the birth of her grandson. Blessings Garden family.

A part of my mother's garden. Look at her Sunflowers

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-11 at 3.25.13 PM (1).jpeg

Here you can see a little bit more of the garden. It was raining that day and I wanted to take a picture between those two beautiful sunflowers that I love.

WhatsApp Image 2021-05-11 at 3.07.33 PM - copia.jpeg

Her medicinal plants that she takes care of with much zeal hehe

IMG-20210211-WA0042 (1).jpg

IMG_20221015_135103_764.jpg

Anything about agronomy, animal science and ornamentals I just love to share. Not only do I have fun 😊 or hobby with these, but I practice them and live with them. I would continue to share good contents about gardening so as others to get more benefit, making it more attractive to invite others to share in this community too. Organically, most of crops have many use case, as well as namals and ornamentals. They are our prestige, home of beauty, boosting our health status and give longevity. It is my pleasure having joined the comment trends. Lovely post!

 2 years ago  

Love your enthusiasm, you are one of the reasons this is a great community 💚

cropped-cropped-cropped-cropped-dsc0205812.jpg

It's not current but this picture of my son, Marlon is my all time favourite garden memory!

20220702_145618(0).jpg

...and then there's the dog...always right where I want to be but I wouldn't part with a single memory of Athena

I love the way pets become a part of our garden memories - Athena looks to be such a gentle soul! 😍

 2 years ago  

Hello, @riverflows and hive gardeners greetings and happy Sunday.

These photos are from the USA in my in-law's garden my father-in-law was a very active Gardner After his retirement as a doctor he was very busy with his garden. Growing vegetables and different kinds of flowers. We were visiting them each year during the falls and he was very glad to have our company for harvesting. One year when we harvested the lily bulbs these photos had taken. It was a very good memory of working together with him. he had a very long time's good experience and information about gardening which always increase my knowledge. He is not anymore but his teaching and memories always inspire me. It was a very good time and fun working together.

Unfortunately,we have no garden here in hong kong hehe..

You ever go out to a public garden with your family?

Is it fine here? I am working abroad.. We do have a garden at home..

Family garden time memories from back home works for me.... 😊

 2 years ago  

@artemislives is right, you can post a memory of family in any garden!💚

What?!!!! You're a Nana?!!! Woohooooooooooooooooo! Congratulations.

I know, right? Felt older just reading that piece of news! 😆

At this rate, everyone else is becoming grandparents. And I'm happy with them. But even happier to wait

I'm with you @buckaroobaby 🤣 I can wait till I'm 70 at least. That's 11.5 years from now, at which point my girl will be just 29. 🤣 The benefit of being an older mama.

If only we could make the decisions for our children, especially based on older (oops - more mature - experience)

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 400000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 410000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

I wish I could get something in for this one, but I'm wicked busy with planting garlic and washing the remainder of 43 windows for the next week.... It's all i can do to put up daily posts...

So wash only 33 and spend 10 mins over a coffee break... you can do it. 😆

I can't, I have help and when I have help I must make the most of it. I sure will be glad when the October chores are done!

Family is a great theme!

Omg thank you so much @riverflows for choosing me as the winner of the last biweekly comment challenge. I had lots of fun. Really appreciate you create this type of challenge to promote engagement within the Hive Garden community. By the way, can you please add me to the list to receive information about contests and updates too? Thank you :)

 2 years ago  

Of course! And I'll send the Hive soon!

Thank you :)

hola amigos estoy de vuelta saludos! aqui comparto una foto de mi esposo cosechando cambur , a èl le encanta estos momentos , aunque esta muy ocupado, se emociona cuando recibe la cosecha, tenemos lechosa y tambien auyama

hello friends i'm back greetings! here i share a picture of my husband harvesting cambur, he loves these moments, although he is very busy, he gets excited when he receives the harvest, we have lechosa and auyama too
IMG_20220126_143228.jpg

 2 years ago  

Thanks. Please make sure it's English only, easier for me to read ❤️

Sorry, I will take it into account, thanks

Hey, @riverflows, fancy meeting you here, after so long!

I grew up in Monterey Park, California, which is a suburb of Los Angeles, and my mom always loved organic gardening and landscaping, complete with a huge and ever-changing compost pile.

I remember our large black cat, not-so-creatively named Cat-Cat, and my mother's complaints that she couldn't plant anything unless she showed it to our cat first, because if she didn't. he would dig up whatever it was, to see what it was.

If she showed it to him first, and then planted it, he would leave it completely alone.

Of course, Cat-Cat was the king of our hill, nearly forty pounds in his prime, and he not only had all the local cats cowed, but all the local dogs as well. I remember one incident when a large collie that belonged to people on the next cul-de-sac over tangled with him, and Cat-Cat beat the crap out of the collie, to the extent that my mom had to carry the collie back to its owners, and tell them apologetically that our cat beat him up.

An embarrassing situation for any self-respecting dog. ;-)

Thankfully this was before the current trend of suing everyone in sight for the slightest transgression.

But most of what I remember were our organic fruits, from our largish strawberry patch, which my mom made available to all the kids in the neighborhood; to our fruit trees, which included a Meyer lemon, which bore fruit nearly year round, a couple of nectarines and peaches, a natal plum tree, and even a macadamia nut tree, though that tree took ten years to mature, and we wound up moving across town before it ever bore nuts.

I know the next owners put in an in-ground pool, but I always hoped that they had the good sense to keep the fruit trees, especially the macadamia nut tree.

There was also the time when my eldest sister planted a watermelon seed, and from it grew the most gorgeous beefsteak tomato plant you've ever seen, just covered in fruit.

And we all adored the Globe artichokes my mom grew, especially when she made Hollandaise sauce to dip them in, which was a favorite meal for us all.

My mom's mother and grandmother, in New Mexico, were organic gardeners as well, and so my sisters and I learned from them all, and all wound up gardening organically ourselves in the long run.

Life is wonderful, especially when there's fruit to enjoy at harvest!

 2 years ago  

Aw, what great memories! Some cats are BEASTS and dogs can be forgiven for beign terrified of them!

My globe artichokes are about to ripen! Yay! And shared garden produce tastes far better.

Lovely to see you as well - I read a post of yours the other day but I've been too busy to respond! Became a grandma so... you know... :P

Life IS wonderful!

🏃 Hey I hope to arrive on time to this beautiful and refreshing community, full of beautiful colors, aromas and much more, through it reflects how wonderful is the creation of God, who would take a brush and began to place detail by detail, everything made it perfect nothing escaped him. The garden is an essential part of the home, it gives light, oxygen and joy. Where we go to spend good times chatting with our crumbs the plants 😁 it is very fun and special.

IMG_20220930_155022_760~2.jpg

IMG_20220930_154757_588.jpg

IMG_20221005_084621_204~2.jpg

 2 years ago  

Thankyou for joining in - I loved reading your comment!

Bendiciones gracias a ustedes por su gran apoyo.

Bendiciones gracias a ustedes por su gran apoyo.