My Garden Journal Updates in April - sowing, transplanting, recycling and harvesting.

in HiveGarden2 years ago

IMG_20220405_143642.jpg

Greetings Garden lovers,

It's another monthly garden update that I love doing every month. It's April now and it's summertime here in the Philippines but still, a few spots of rain are pouring now and then which is very good for my plants but when it's a sunny day here it is extremely hot also and I think I would gain biceps by next month if it is continuously sunny because we only depend on our deep well and I'm extending the garden very soon so I'll be busy fetching water every day.

IMG_20220401_150658_1.jpg

will be extending my garden here.

This week I've been very busy fixing my plant shelter, sowing, and assembling recycled containers that I used for my first grow snow cabbage and lettuce and replanting them in each container.

Now here are my garden updates since I'm still waiting for the new space for gardening to finish.

EGGPLANTS

If you're following my garden blogs before you will know about my survivor eggplants and as of today they still give me fruits but not much anymore so I just leave them there for the meantime this moment until I succeed with my new seedlings for replacement.

IMG_20220404_104814.jpg

While waiting for the land to get ready for planting I sowed 105 eggplant seeds yesterday and will be sowing the remaining seeds this coming day.

IMG_20220405_172915.jpg

This variety of eggplant is called a Fortuner F1 and it's treated with pesticides so a big guarantee that it will grow just like my snow cabbage and lettuce.

I just sowed them yesterday so I am just waiting for them until ready for replanting in the soil bed.

Recycled containers for repotting my SNOW CABBAGE and LETTUCE

I fixed a few parts of my plant shelter and added the railing from our old house there and attached the recycled mix containers for my cabbage and lettuce. Using a tire wire I place the container there and put mixed garden soil, hummus and rice hulls as earth.

IMG_20220405_143356.jpg

IMG_20220405_143231.jpg

IMG_20220405_170055.jpg

Most of this container is from my old job which was a pizza parlour, every time we have an empty gallon I brought it home for my plants. Some also are recycled old water and soft drinks bottles.

Here are my newly grown veggies that I tried for the first time. It measures 3 inches now and it has new leaves come out.

Snow Cabbage
IMG_20220405_184352.jpg
Lettuce

IMG_20220405_184331.jpg

SPRING ONION

IMG_20220405_143412.jpg

The same spot where I planted my spring onions before I replant new ones in the area because I know they will thrive well in there.

SPINACH

Remember the messy place I clean and sown the spinach for the replacement with the old one? Now it has already grown and is all prepared to climb up but I put on some bamboo branches for protection from chicken running back and forth temporarily, for sure by the next day I'll be busy making a trellis for this.

RADISH from trash

IMG_20220405_221120.jpg

Do you also remember the radish scraps I planted together with the onion? Now it looks like this (the onion melted and didn't survive), it has very beautiful healthy leaves now. One with dark small and short and the other one is big and long leaves but I think it will take a long to achieve success because as I separated them I notice that one is still hollow inside and doesn't show uproots, very opposite with long and a big one that has many roots already. Anyway, I transplanted each one of them and added more soil so let's see its progress soon.

TOMATOES

IMG_20220404_172310_1.jpg

IMG_20220404_104157.jpg

IMG_20220404_172413.jpg

IMG_20220404_172522.jpg

This April, most of my old fruit and vegetable plants are producing well just like my water spinach, lemongrass, sweet potato tops, string beans, lemon basil, chillies, and moringa is a quite very good provider but what inspired me more now is my tomatoes. Before I replanted this I told myself that whatever it can provide I open-heartedly accept it since it is a survivor from the typhoon and now for the first time I harvested this organic big and healthy tomato for salsa and there's more left to pick soon. I didn't pick all of them because I want them ripe from their annual vines before picking.

For my garden selfie, my son Lucas is taking my place he doesn't want me to hold our harvest instead I told him I want to take pictures and he give me this face.

IMG_20220404_172645.jpg

For now, I end my garden updates here. Thank you @riverflows for initiating this and @minismallholding for hosting this monthly garden challenge. Now I would like to invite @chuch and @discoveringarni to show us your garden updates if you are not too busy😉.

Thank you for reading this and God bless everyone!

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Aw Lucas is very sweet. Great you can get free containers. will you save your seeds from the tomatoes?

Thank you @riverflows. This child of ours is naughty but diligent. He was always been my assistant in planting.

I have a good harvest of my tomatoes so for sure I'll be saving its seeds to replant them again.

 2 years ago  

Wow! You have so much happening in your garden, I don't know where to start. It's a little paradise and you've got the cutest little helper too!

Hehe, Thank you so much for the appreciation @minismallholding 🥰.

Such a beautiful environment there , that is soo cool. I will be researching this more about plant recycling so I can implement this.

Thank you 🙂. I hope you can start it asap it's amazing trust me 😉.

Have a great day!

Wow. You're working hard and the garden looks amazing! Hope you and your family are all healthy and happy Laica :-)

Thanks, @nathen007. I wish you the same. God bless you 🙂

 2 years ago  

Hi, kabayan, I love this view, it is so beautiful. Malamang masarap dito magtanim.

Hello, kabayan, Palayan ito noon , mga isang taon nang di matamnan dahil walAng tubig kaya nag decide ako gamitin para tamnan ng ibang gulay para naman may income.

 2 years ago  

Much better kabayan na tamnan na lang ng gulay, ako nagtyatyaga talaga ako na magdilig araw-araw kasi sayng din ang aanihin, libre naman ang tubig, lalo na kapag kamatis basta madiligan lang lagi meron ka laging aanihin.

Oo nga kabayan. Sipag at tiyaga lang di mo namamalayan pag dating nang araw may aanihin kana. Ang sarap sarap talaga sa pakiramdam.

Hi Laica, I so wish we have bountiful tomatoes like the ones you have in your garden! Aww, your son's smile with the harvest is priceless 😊 Thanks for the tag, I'll compose something for this month's garden updates soon.

Hello, Arni. Thank you "Lucas" is always been my number 1 fan in my gardening journey 😁 .

Thank God, my tomato harvest is plentiful today. Do you know that it's from rotten fruit I ask a lady from our market? I just threw them into my seedling pots and they just grow so after the typhoon I replanted them hoping they can give me fruits but they give me more than I imagine 😍. They're all organic Arni but the fruits are very big 🥰.

Do you know that it's from rotten fruit I ask a lady from our market? I just threw them into my seedling pots and they just grow so after the typhoon I replanted them hoping they can give me fruits but they give me more than I imagine

Oh really? Ah did you air out to dry the seeds from the tomatoes a few days before sowing? I scooped out the seeds from the tomatoes I bought from the market. Let's see...

Yes, I did. I did ask some more just the other day from the same lady in the market so I can start seeding them now while it's still rainy. I wish you succeed this time @discoveringarni 🙂.

Great tip, next time I'll ask them at the market if they have any that they'd throw away. Good for composting as well.

Thanks, @discoveringarni just try to ask them for sure they will give you some. Have a great evening 🙂.

Extending your garden like that looks like a lot of work!! I'm curious about what the package of the eggplant seed says "East-west seed" what do that means? The rest of your crops look awesome! Iwish you a lot of success!!!

Indeed it'll be a lot of work but will do it slowly 🙂. I also don't know much about that variety since it's my first time buying seeds for planting. I have old eggplant varieties but it's from a friend's seedlings. They still produce fruits but not much anymore so I did try this kind of variety.

excellent! big tasks like that are done better tht way! step by step.

 2 years ago  

Wow you are doing amazing work! And everything looks so well cared. I don't think I have ever seen plastic bottles look so nice :)
If you don't mind asking, I see that you are buying Hybrid seeds. I am just wondering aren't there any seeds from local varieties that you can plant and preserve every year?
Thank you for sharing your beautiful work and your beautiful son :)
Greetings from Greece!

Hello @fotostef. Thank you for your appreciation. Actually, I'm not a professional farmer and I get seedlings from kitchen trash or I ask them from friends. We can ask for free seeds from our government but as of this moment, the only available is chillies. Sometimes I conserve seeds from my past growing if I like the production of fruits and vegetables.

Thanks for dropping by. I hope you have a great day! Greetings from the Philippines 🙂.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thanks, @Diyhub and thank you @priyanarc for the curation 🥰.

That's a wealth of veggies!

Indeed 🥰.