The First Yearly Legacy Grapevines Report

in HiveGarden3 years ago

Well, I had a grapevines garden patch to tend to, and this is the end result of my efforts. I cut some stuff, I trimmed some other stuff, I cleared a lot of stubborn, tall, thorny, thick, and nasty wild invader plants. I perhaps irrigated the whole lot of vines too little, testing their endurance and spreading water as if it were scarce. Which it might be, especially when I am mostly... not there. As I've already written in another report.


And here be the grapes, shortly before I collected a few buckets full of them...


DSC03238.JPG

DSC03226.JPG

DSC03202.JPG

DSC03237.JPG

DSC03207.JPG

DSC03233.JPG

DSC03208.JPG

DSC03220.JPG

DSC03204.JPG

DSC03213.JPG

DSC03210.JPG

DSC03217.JPG

DSC03205.JPG

DSC03228.JPG

DSC03219.JPG

DSC03229.JPG


Absolutely not the perfect yield stock images that one would look for if they one was about to boast of good fertility or good care taken.

Well, this is what an amateur with no time, sparse effort, lots of experimenting on his mind, and no chemical treatment at all did achieve this year.


Conclusions:

It needs more water, less twigs, and...

...What did work well was the straw spread around a couple of the vine roots. Straw does keep humidity longer and helps with the scarce water plan for irrigation.

A dripping system could be installed but honestly, I think of making one for other cultures first. For the young nut trees, for instance.


I'm not the one who would make wine or rakia, the stronger stuff. My father is. He knows a good deal more about all of this and I gave what I produced to him to go along with his own production and purchased quantities of...everything grapesy.

Yeah, an uncle of mine is a pro and he has way better production, enough to sell around and be proud of.

I'm just having fun and trying to keep most of the plants alive and kicking.


Peace!

Manol

Sort:  

Grapefruit are very nutritious for health and harvesting from a garden always give a better taste from another.

Since a few vines usually provide more than a family can eat (during a normal diet that consists of other things, mostly) we turn most of those into alcohol.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 74 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9

Wow, grapes are like really scarce and expensive where I'm from...we just don't have the climate to grow them

Food distribution is so bad here in general...
A lot is imported and a lot of what is produced in the country goes to waste.

I see that waste of food is universal , I hope we don't "waste" ourselves into an avoidable famine

Abundance enough but distribution is a problem. I had this message in an environmentalists' FB group about bears that need feeding so that they don't go looking for food into villages and start conflicts with the people there. The caretakers want to buy tons of apples. Meanwhile, there are two apple trees with lower than what humans would want in terms of quality in my yard but they would be good enough for the bears. But collecting them and getting them from point A to point B is not worth it.

For example, instead of burning that fuel, I could send the amount of money needed for that fuel, and it would be enough to buy more apples there. Thus, the apples I have shall simply rot unless I get organized and at least send them to my mother's horses. She's burning the fuel to get there, anyway.

So, I'll see what I can do about that...but next week at the earliest.


Hey @manoldonchev, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Oh wow😯 my favorite fruit is grapes. Unfortunately in my area hasn't a good weather to grow this fruit. Really nice post @manoldonchev

Well, I'd love to grow bananas but...too cold here. Otherwise, I'd be going absolutely bananas...

It looks like most of your grapes did pretty well, especially with being a bit neglected. I like plants that can do well when neglected. 😀

Not entirely neglected and...well, I am posting the success pictures here. I mean, I am showing kind of well looking clusters while in truth, most vines tended to yield more. Only one or two of the plants yielded the usual quantities. I plan on improving a few things for next year, like putting some more mulch/biomass at the base of each stem.